$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

Handlery Union Square

3 stars
View map of 351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
378 out of 378
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lyndonville, Vermont
Nov 1, 2010

Good Choice!

This hotel is in an excellent location, 1/2 a block off of Union Square. It is an older building that has been redone. It is very comfortable. The bathroom was nice although it just had a shower and tiled floor could have been a bit cleaner, other than that I found the hotel very nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

GREAT shopping, tons of great stores within a few blocks surrounding the hotel!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Carmel, CA
Oct 23, 2010

Handlery Union Square Hotel

Rooms are small, but newly renovated. Comfortable bed and a good desk for working. Terrific location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
I live in vegas
Oct 10, 2010

awesome

I had a great week touring northern California.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I take surveys all the time and I'm not sure what info you want.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DC
Oct 6, 2010

Basic hotel, good location

Hotel has some updated rooms (mine was not). It was fine, nothing special. There was a flatscreen TV, no dresser, no refrigerator. My biggest complaint was that it was dark. Location is convenient to union square (1 block). It is not a great area to walk around alone at night (especially back entrance by parking lot). The pool looked nice, but it was way too cold to go in when I was there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

It's less than a block to union square which has a lot of great shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, co
Sep 28, 2010

great location, very helpful staff

Very helpful, courteous staff. Fabulous location. An older hotel, so the room was a bit noisy, although very clean and updated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to dining, theatre, cable cars, bus tours, Muni.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nevada City, CA
Sep 26, 2010

Fantastic Location

Nicely maintained hotel, excellent location as far as Union Square, trolleys, shopping, etc. Check-in a bit confusing as we did not know where the parking garage entrance was in relation to the front door of the hotel. Room, decor, beds & linens were great. We asked for a quiet room and received a room on the 6th floor overlooking the pool. There was a very nice small refrigerator tucked away in a cabinet and complimentary bottled water. We had a small balcony with a table and two chairs which we enjoyed immensely (the weather was warm for SF). Surprising and nice touches were the shaving mirror and bathroom scale in the bathroom, plus a separate area with a large counter, chair and lighted makeup mirror. Also the overall lighting and number of outlets available were fantastic. We had a good nights sleep, but things got somewhat noisy in the morning with frequent "banging" heard - might have been the elevator although it was several doors down from our room. Also, it was not clear that the elevators in the lobby do not go to the entire 6th floor or the garage. We spent two occasions riding the wrong elevator before we realized that we had to walk to another section of the hotel to get to our room and the parking garage. All-in-all we would return to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

If you enjoy Blues and good southern cooking, don't miss Biscuits & Blues which is just around the corner on Mason. We have been there several times and have never been disappointed!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NYers on Holiday
Business
New York, NY
Sep 19, 2010

Good enough, great parking

A problem-free place to stay while seeing the area. The garage staff are wonderful about quickly retreiving & receiving your car, so you can come and go as you like. We always tipped because they were so efficient and pleasant. The hotel layout is rather odd, and not all elevators serve all wings of the hotel, so it was a convoluted walk to our room, but no big hardship. The outdoor pool looks attractive, if weather permits. Clean and perfectly adequate, although not charming or a standout, but a good value for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Worth walking a few extra blocks up Geary street to explore diner, restaurant, cafe, & bar options beyond those immediately adjacent to hotel. Recommended: Mango Cafe. Looks cool: Grand Cafe. Both on Geary.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yombe
Business
Dallas, TX
Sep 7, 2010

Charming, Clean, Well-Situated Hotel

I had a room billed as "petite," which worried me a bit until I saw the room. For one person, even a couple, it was more than adequate: a desk, comfortable bed, large clothes closet, modern bathroom. The room was spotless, and my bed was extremely comfortable. The hotel was air conditioned, but I preferred opening the windows. Would highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Xanadau Gallery (on Maiden Lane) is an ethnographic art/jewelry gallery housed in a Frank Lloyd Wright building. Even if you're not interested in the type of museum-quality works they offer (Pre-Columbian, Indian, African, etc.), a visit to see the building is a must.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Folsom
Sep 7, 2010

San Francisco getaway

Great location to union square, staff great, would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mps
Business
San Diego
Aug 18, 2010

ok

Staff was great and attentive. I only had issue with 2 things. 1. The long wait for a cab if I depended on the hotel. 2. Unable to get a late check-out when I had a late flight. I wanted to relax and the airline had just delivered my luggage as I was going home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top