$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

Handlery Union Square

3 stars
View map of 351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
295 out of 295
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vince Malum Bono
Couples
Arlington, TX
Jun 16, 2012

Very pleased!

First time staying at this hotel and second time visiting San Fran. Staff was very friendly and accomodating. The only thing that wasnt perfect was the bed. It was stiff and provided moderate discomfort upon awakening, but that was overshadowed by this great city, great location within the city, and the great food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Austin, TX
Jun 29, 2010

Fantastic Hotel

We loved our room, the bath robes, the pool, the quiet side of the hotel, the location could not be beat. But the staff was clueless about everything we would ask about like: how do we get to the CalTrain. What's the schedule for the train? Where can we find a specific item around Union Square (So we wouldn't waste time walking around looking for the item). It seemed like everytime we asked the front desk a question they were clueless about the answer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Half Price Tickets was across the street on Union Square. They were awesome and got us great seats to see Wicked.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
trvlgrl
Single
Los Angeles, CA
May 27, 2009

Great Location

The hotel was in a really great location in the heart of union square. There are lots of places to eat and shop within walking distance. The staff was very friendly and the hotel was clean. I suggest that you ask for a room facing the inside of the hotel if you prefer quiet nights. The first night I had a room facing the street, and it was incredibly noisy so it was difficult to sleep. The staff was very accommodating in moving my belongings to a new room that was much quieter and bigger than the first room for the next night. Overall, very enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Bakersfield, CA
Feb 2, 2011

Great locatio!

Great location! Hotel is nice. Beds are not that great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

I would recommend the tour buses, it saves you time , you see everything and you can hop on and hop off at any time.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Minneapolis, MN
Jun 25, 2007

My review of Handlery Union Square

We were diappointed in the room location(looked out at a vent in the middle of the hotel),rooms were tiny for the price you pay.The staff were very pleasant and rooms were clean. Dispite the nice staff and the clean room the I would have a hard time recommending this place to friends because of the size of the rooms and no view to speak of.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Fishermans Warf is great by cable car or a long walk with a good workout!

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Diane Family Travel Planner
Family
Laramie, WY
Mar 19, 2011

Service outstanding!

The concierge was great, gave us great ideas, appropriate travel times etc. and recommendations of sequences of activities. The restaurant has great breakfasts (careful with the cream cheese, though; ours had mold one day) and our 1 room service meal was good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Zarzuela: Spanish restaurant at Hyde and ..., great tapas.Easy on cable car.The Great Eastern, great restaurant in Chinatown, on Jackson St.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
DC
Nov 9, 2010

The Handlery San Francisco

Very large comfortable room with lots of space and even a small balcony, a rarity in San Francisco. The bed was comfy; the linens were lovely. The location is ideal as well, convenient to Union Square, theaters, and the Bart. The only thing missing was a happy hour offered by many similiar hotels in the area. We would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dotties for breakfast

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OLIIVIA SUPER MOM
Family
Las Vegas, Nevada
Nov 17, 2010

close to fun food and best shopping

Staff was friendly and helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Union square for taxi's and wear comfortable shoes for sight seeing

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Carmel, CA
Oct 23, 2010

Handlery Union Square Hotel

Rooms are small, but newly renovated. Comfortable bed and a good desk for working. Terrific location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
New Yorker that loves San Francisco!
Friends
New York City
Sep 24, 2009

Handlery in Union Square a great hotel!

Really loved this hotel. We stayed here the last time we were in San Francisco. We really loved the pool again! Hardly anyone used it and we had it mostly to ourselves. l liked being on the O'Farrell street side of the hotel this time. (Last time we were on the Geary street side) Our room windows looked down towards Market Street and made for a very entertaining view. If I had any negative thoughts about the Handlery, it would be that I wish they had better television sets in the room. Overall, an excellent hotel that I would stay at again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a new cupcake place on O'Farrell street steps away and across the street (going towards Powell) that is called: CAKO'S. Oh my God, they have the most delicious cupcakes! Make sure you try them! They're REALLY good!

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Conway, AR
Nov 7, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

Hotel was great. Very close to Union Square. Maybe a half block away. Staff was very friendly and pleasant . Concierge gave a great restaurant recommendation. Bellhop was also very helpful telling us where to go ,and especially, areas to avoid . Room was very clean and up to date and very quiet Bed very comfortable. We had a week in California and spent our first night there. Because of a change in plans during our stay we found ourselves with an extra day in San Francisco just before we left. So we booked our last night there, too. It was just as pleasant as the first. Have been to San Fransisco many times over a number of years and stayed in a lot of different hotels and would definitely stay in this one again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top