$242 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 6, 2015 Check-out: Aug 7, 2015

Handlery Union Square

3 stars
View map of 351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
294 out of 294
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
towerman
Business
iowa city,ia
Dec 20, 2010

good price

the room is small but clean. The bath room is too small. The location is so convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Yorktown VA
Dec 19, 2010

Great location in Union Sq.

Great location in Union Sq part of the city. Friendly staff, told us the best way to use public transportion. Very nice room with king bed. Clean and comfortable. Found it easy to get anywhere in the city from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Make reservations for Alcatraz in advance, It gets crowded. If using public transportation make sure to get a multi-day pass.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
happy house wife.
Business
Visalia,ca
Dec 9, 2010

nice room

The rooms were very clean, with nice comfortable beds. We will make sure to visit again.It should be known that parking for the hotel is not included and its a little pricy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Central Valley, CA.
Dec 6, 2010

Christmas in SF

Girlfriends trip for a play, Shrek the musical, GREAT!!!, and some shopping. This is a perfect location, and a wonderful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Just have fun

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greenville SC
Dec 5, 2010

A nice hotel in a good location.

This was a family Thanksgiving vacation. We had a good time. The hotel was nice and the location was great. The hotel staff was nice and helpful. The room we were given was small. We were able to get an upgrade at a discount. I will recommend the hotel to aa friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of execellent high end department stores within very short walking distant.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JnA
Business
Northern Ca.
Nov 17, 2010

Well...

We were in town for a wedding. If you want to be in the heart of Union Square this hotel serves that purpose. The room was small and pretty average. The hotel personnel were very nice. The garage situation was very inconvenient as you had to drive around the corner, which was tolerable, however, we had to take two separate elevators and a long walk with our luggage to get to our room. Considering it is S.F., the price is fair for the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OLIIVIA SUPER MOM
Business
Las Vegas, Nevada
Nov 17, 2010

close to fun food and best shopping

Staff was friendly and helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Union square for taxi's and wear comfortable shoes for sight seeing

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Riverside, CA
Nov 12, 2010

As advertised

Quick check-in. I got the room I paid for. The bathroom appeared to have been recently renovated and was like new. The business center charges to use their computers. Great location if you're a tourist.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
disgruntled Half-marathon runner
Business
San Francisco, CA
Nov 10, 2010

serious disapointment

When we first checked in, I received the parking slip for $39 and just figured it was a part of the price I paid online. That it would have included at least on parking for the night. When I spoke to the Front Desk Attendants, they were very rude, had a pompous attitude, and said that it was not covered and it will be charged to the credit card on file. I asked him to check that it was or was not covered on my payment for the room and they confirmed it was not. I told him I was very disappointed, he responded to me saying he could get my car from the lot and I could park across the street for $50…... REALLY? I responded with "that's ok, it's already parked, we can leave it there." Once we went up to the room we opened the door and saw two queen beds, a desk, a dresser, and a night stand stuffed into a room that was about 13' wide by 20' long the most. The bathroom was almost too small for one person let alone two people trying to get ready (we had five people that night) and there was only a shower stall and no tub. They did allow a roll away bed and it barely fit but caused up to block the only walkway in the room. Thankfully, there was not a fire or we might have had issues getting out. Our view from our window as we opened it up was of a brick wall surrounding all four sides. The only nice thing about the room was the updated décor. They had new furniture and a new 30"ish flat screen TV. I would not recommend this room to anyone. They have a heated pool but it closes at 8:30 and no spa. Parking for the hotel is at the rear of the building, which is not that big of a deal but the door attendant when we first pulled up told us the parking was up the street two blocks after the first left….Which is was not. It was just around the corner. For the $200 or so out the door, not including parking I would have stayed at a dozen other well-known establishments.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DC
Nov 9, 2010

The Handlery San Francisco

Very large comfortable room with lots of space and even a small balcony, a rarity in San Francisco. The bed was comfy; the linens were lovely. The location is ideal as well, convenient to Union Square, theaters, and the Bart. The only thing missing was a happy hour offered by many similiar hotels in the area. We would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dotties for breakfast

Back to menu Return to top