$242 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 6, 2015 Check-out: Aug 7, 2015

Handlery Union Square

3 stars
View map of 351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
294 out of 294
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Female friends
Mexico city
Jan 2, 2014

Great stay for new year's in san francisco

The Handlery hotelmis conveniently located stepsmaway from union square and most city's attractions (including shopping, if that's your thing). Spacious room, great staff and the best stay in san francisco! Definitely would stay again,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The daily grill restaurant is fab!

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DC
Apr 8, 2011

Great Family friendly hotel

We had a great base whilst travelling around SF and the surrounding areas - Napa, Redwoods etc. It was a perfect location for eating out with the kids in the evening. Room was spacious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Diane Family Travel Planner
Business
Laramie, WY
Mar 19, 2011

Service outstanding!

The concierge was great, gave us great ideas, appropriate travel times etc. and recommendations of sequences of activities. The restaurant has great breakfasts (careful with the cream cheese, though; ours had mold one day) and our 1 room service meal was good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Zarzuela: Spanish restaurant at Hyde and ..., great tapas.Easy on cable car.The Great Eastern, great restaurant in Chinatown, on Jackson St.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Feb 26, 2011

Bellhops are the only reason to stay

The hotel is old, but not terrible. They interestingly didnt use fitted sheets. The bellhops were amazing and helpful. The front desk staff... I think incompetent is a little strong but I can't think of a more accurate description. Location is great. Close to the BART and union square entertainment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Explore dining options in other neighborhoods! SF had amazing food, but you have to leave union square to get it

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Feb 9, 2011

Great Hotel

I didnt know what to expect when we arrived. The hotel is located in a nice part of union square right across from the Westin. Friendly staff and great room. The room was remodeled and everything was new. Even though it is smaller than a normal room, it was very comfortable! The bathroom was very clean and roomy. We were close to all stores, the Macy's, Tiffanys, etc. Would def stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Port St Lucie ,Fl
Feb 9, 2011

What a great location

This hotel is located steps from the cable cars and one block from public transit. We really enjoyed the updated feel of the Hotel and the service was great. We would recommend this hotel to our friends and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bakersfield, CA
Feb 2, 2011

Great locatio!

Great location! Hotel is nice. Beds are not that great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

I would recommend the tour buses, it saves you time , you see everything and you can hop on and hop off at any time.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Ramon
Jan 5, 2011

New Years

Stayed there for New Year's. Great location. Nice rooms. Bathroom was pretty small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Petaluma, CA
Jan 1, 2011

excellent location

Our trip to the handlery union square hotel was great. The accommodations with valet parking were really convenient and reasonably priced. (40 dollars for a compact vehicle). The rooms were very adorable and reasonably sized, and pristine. I will definitely be staying here again if I need a room in the city!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
regular customer
Business
San Diego CA
Dec 28, 2010

unbeatable location

We always stay there when I am in SF visiting my daughter. Everyone is very nice and the hotel is right in the heart of Union Square - 1/2 block from the cable car and in the center of upscale shopping. It is very easy to walk everywhere and there is good public transportation. The only sour note is the reception desk at the Daily Grill, which is their associated restaurant - they tend to get hopelessly confused and rude. However, the food is great and the servers are uniformly nice - it is primarily a steakhouse, but there are many great choices for vegetarians and the vegetable are always prepared superbly. We stay there 3 or 4 times a year for the past 4 years, so obviously I like the place and it is much more economical than the other upscale hotels in that area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Give yourself plenty of time and patience when dealing with the restauran reception desk - I would advise against eating there if you are in a hurry.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brea, CA
Dec 20, 2010

Handlery Union Square opinion

Staff was friendly, room was very clean and newly redone. We had 2 double beds, they were really comfy with down comforters and pillows that actually stayed fairly plump when you put your head on them. The room had a small fridge, large screen tv, thermostat to adjust the heat, really all we needed. The bathroom was nothing special, but clean, great hot water in the shower. We were not on the Geary street side, but faced the inner back so did not have SF street noise all night. Last year we stayed at the Hilton - I don't believe that room was much bigger and the Handlery has much more character.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk from the Bart, Market Street and the Westfield mall and right by Macys. Eat at John's Grill on Ellis St for great steak and lamb. Not cheap, but tasty.

Back to menu Return to top