$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Handlery Union Square

3 stars
View map of 351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
379 out of 379
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver
Nov 8, 2010

Handlery - Great location, old.

Location is terrific -- across the street from the St. Regis on Union Square. The hotel has two sections -- the old (100 years) and the newer (1960s). I was in the older section. It was nicely appointed with a seating area, desk, good queen bed, fridge, big screen TV. The room was large with several windows that actually opened. This was good because there was a pervasive smell in the hallway -- probably from the AC. I would stay here again -- the smell seemed to diffuse after a day or so. Frankly, I didn't mention it so I have no idea if this is usual or what.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy's is one block away. Ask the desk for the 15% discount coupons.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ohio
Nov 7, 2010

great location good value

Good value for price. Was what i expected from the listing. 1/2 block from union square and trolley cars. Friendly service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many choices for dining

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Conway, AR
Nov 7, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

Hotel was great. Very close to Union Square. Maybe a half block away. Staff was very friendly and pleasant . Concierge gave a great restaurant recommendation. Bellhop was also very helpful telling us where to go ,and especially, areas to avoid . Room was very clean and up to date and very quiet Bed very comfortable. We had a week in California and spent our first night there. Because of a change in plans during our stay we found ourselves with an extra day in San Francisco just before we left. So we booked our last night there, too. It was just as pleasant as the first. Have been to San Fransisco many times over a number of years and stayed in a lot of different hotels and would definitely stay in this one again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lyndonville, Vermont
Nov 1, 2010

Good Choice!

This hotel is in an excellent location, 1/2 a block off of Union Square. It is an older building that has been redone. It is very comfortable. The bathroom was nice although it just had a shower and tiled floor could have been a bit cleaner, other than that I found the hotel very nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

GREAT shopping, tons of great stores within a few blocks surrounding the hotel!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lyndonville, Vermont
Nov 1, 2010

Good Choice!

This hotel is in an excellent location, 1/2 a block off of Union Square. It is an older building that has been redone. It is very comfortable. The bathroom was nice although it just had a shower and tiled floor could have been a bit cleaner, other than that I found the hotel very nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

GREAT shopping, tons of great stores within a few blocks surrounding the hotel!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Carmel, CA
Oct 23, 2010

Handlery Union Square Hotel

Rooms are small, but newly renovated. Comfortable bed and a good desk for working. Terrific location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
I live in vegas
Oct 10, 2010

awesome

I had a great week touring northern California.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I take surveys all the time and I'm not sure what info you want.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DC
Oct 6, 2010

Basic hotel, good location

Hotel has some updated rooms (mine was not). It was fine, nothing special. There was a flatscreen TV, no dresser, no refrigerator. My biggest complaint was that it was dark. Location is convenient to union square (1 block). It is not a great area to walk around alone at night (especially back entrance by parking lot). The pool looked nice, but it was way too cold to go in when I was there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

It's less than a block to union square which has a lot of great shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, co
Sep 28, 2010

great location, very helpful staff

Very helpful, courteous staff. Fabulous location. An older hotel, so the room was a bit noisy, although very clean and updated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to dining, theatre, cable cars, bus tours, Muni.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nevada City, CA
Sep 26, 2010

Fantastic Location

Nicely maintained hotel, excellent location as far as Union Square, trolleys, shopping, etc. Check-in a bit confusing as we did not know where the parking garage entrance was in relation to the front door of the hotel. Room, decor, beds & linens were great. We asked for a quiet room and received a room on the 6th floor overlooking the pool. There was a very nice small refrigerator tucked away in a cabinet and complimentary bottled water. We had a small balcony with a table and two chairs which we enjoyed immensely (the weather was warm for SF). Surprising and nice touches were the shaving mirror and bathroom scale in the bathroom, plus a separate area with a large counter, chair and lighted makeup mirror. Also the overall lighting and number of outlets available were fantastic. We had a good nights sleep, but things got somewhat noisy in the morning with frequent "banging" heard - might have been the elevator although it was several doors down from our room. Also, it was not clear that the elevators in the lobby do not go to the entire 6th floor or the garage. We spent two occasions riding the wrong elevator before we realized that we had to walk to another section of the hotel to get to our room and the parking garage. All-in-all we would return to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

If you enjoy Blues and good southern cooking, don't miss Biscuits & Blues which is just around the corner on Mason. We have been there several times and have never been disappointed!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top