$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 4, 2015 Check-out: Apr 5, 2015

Handlery Union Square

3 stars
View map of 351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
333 out of 333
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DC
Nov 9, 2010

The Handlery San Francisco

Very large comfortable room with lots of space and even a small balcony, a rarity in San Francisco. The bed was comfy; the linens were lovely. The location is ideal as well, convenient to Union Square, theaters, and the Bart. The only thing missing was a happy hour offered by many similiar hotels in the area. We would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dotties for breakfast

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sexy lean guy
Business
TEXAS
Nov 8, 2010

Great LOCATION! NO WIRELESS!!!

I much rather stay at a chain hotel. While the accomadations Were acceptable the shoWers Were TINY, like for little people and I'm only 5'9" and very lean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Starbucks and diners on every block, plus cheesecake factory and macy's, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver
Nov 8, 2010

Handlery - Great location, old.

Location is terrific -- across the street from the St. Regis on Union Square. The hotel has two sections -- the old (100 years) and the newer (1960s). I was in the older section. It was nicely appointed with a seating area, desk, good queen bed, fridge, big screen TV. The room was large with several windows that actually opened. This was good because there was a pervasive smell in the hallway -- probably from the AC. I would stay here again -- the smell seemed to diffuse after a day or so. Frankly, I didn't mention it so I have no idea if this is usual or what.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy's is one block away. Ask the desk for the 15% discount coupons.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ohio
Nov 7, 2010

great location good value

Good value for price. Was what i expected from the listing. 1/2 block from union square and trolley cars. Friendly service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many choices for dining

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Conway, AR
Nov 7, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

Hotel was great. Very close to Union Square. Maybe a half block away. Staff was very friendly and pleasant . Concierge gave a great restaurant recommendation. Bellhop was also very helpful telling us where to go ,and especially, areas to avoid . Room was very clean and up to date and very quiet Bed very comfortable. We had a week in California and spent our first night there. Because of a change in plans during our stay we found ourselves with an extra day in San Francisco just before we left. So we booked our last night there, too. It was just as pleasant as the first. Have been to San Fransisco many times over a number of years and stayed in a lot of different hotels and would definitely stay in this one again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lyndonville, Vermont
Nov 1, 2010

Good Choice!

This hotel is in an excellent location, 1/2 a block off of Union Square. It is an older building that has been redone. It is very comfortable. The bathroom was nice although it just had a shower and tiled floor could have been a bit cleaner, other than that I found the hotel very nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

GREAT shopping, tons of great stores within a few blocks surrounding the hotel!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Carmel, CA
Oct 23, 2010

Handlery Union Square Hotel

Rooms are small, but newly renovated. Comfortable bed and a good desk for working. Terrific location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
I live in vegas
Oct 10, 2010

awesome

I had a great week touring northern California.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I take surveys all the time and I'm not sure what info you want.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DC
Oct 6, 2010

Basic hotel, good location

Hotel has some updated rooms (mine was not). It was fine, nothing special. There was a flatscreen TV, no dresser, no refrigerator. My biggest complaint was that it was dark. Location is convenient to union square (1 block). It is not a great area to walk around alone at night (especially back entrance by parking lot). The pool looked nice, but it was way too cold to go in when I was there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

It's less than a block to union square which has a lot of great shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, co
Sep 28, 2010

great location, very helpful staff

Very helpful, courteous staff. Fabulous location. An older hotel, so the room was a bit noisy, although very clean and updated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to dining, theatre, cable cars, bus tours, Muni.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top