$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

Handlery Union Square

3 stars
351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
325 reviews
Great all around hotel

Fantastic weekend at the Handlery. Was in town for a wedding, and this location put us right next... See full review

  • OneWall
  • Feb 24, 2014
Great stay for new year's in san francisco

The Handlery hotelmis conveniently located stepsmaway from union square and most city's attractions... See full review

  • Female friends
  • Jan 2, 2014
Intimate boutique hotel with outdoor pool just steps from Union Square

This Union Square mainstay, dating back to 1908, mixes old and new under one roof. Older rooms bring with them a hearty dose of history; newer accommodations, completed in the last 15 years, are more spacious and have upgraded amenities. There's an outdoor pool -- a rarity for downtown San Francisco -- a heated sauna and an on-site barbershop. One of the city's most popular taverns, The Daily Grill, is located on the ground floor.

Highlights
  • Serene outdoor pool with heated sauna
  • Stroll to some of the best shopping in town
  • Stellar on-site restaurant, The Daily Grill, serves up American classics.
  • On-site barbershop
  • Discount coupons to nearby Macy's
Rooms

The Handlery has 377 rooms in all -- 284 in the "historic" section of the hotel, and 93 in a newer and recently renovated part. Newer rooms, dubbed "Premier," measure 450 square feet and look out on the outdoor pool deck. They also include bathrobes and electric shoe polishers. The older rooms, dubbed "Historic," are part of the original 1908 construction and include mini-refrigerators, in-room safes and ironing boards. Some of the latter rooms offer views of the San Francisco skyline; Wi-Fi is available in all (fees apply).

Features

The hotel has been family owned and operated since the 1920s.

Service has been a strongpoint for all of those years; today the property employs multi-lingual concierges who arrange everything from dinner reservations to babysitter services. Other exceptional services include same-day laundry and dry-cleaning, as well as the on-site barber shop.

All guests have access to a Club One fitness center one block from the hotel (fees apply).

Grab a burger and a beer at The Daily Grill, a swanky but reliable bar on the ground floor. The weekend brunch here is rated among the best in the city (try the Bloody Mary and understand why).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (5 minutes walking)
  • BART (15 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Fisherman's Wharf
  • Embarcadero
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • AT&T Park
Business
  • Two sizable meeting rooms can be configured a number of ways.
  • Additional meeting space inside on-site restaurant, The Daily Grill.
  • Business Center
  • Audio/Visual equipment available for rental.
Policies and fees
  • Valet parking available (fees apply).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

37.787 -122.409
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
SFO & OAK
Area description
Cable cars, Union Square, Macy's, San Francisco Shopping Center, Metreon and an array of boutiques, restaurants and theatres nearby.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Handlery Union Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Handlery Union Square Rooms

Standard Queen Room
Queen bed with newly renovated furnishings. Amenities include in-room complimentary coffee, irons and ironing boards, Internet access, flat screen TV, hairdryers and mini refrigerators. Rooms also feature individual climate control with A/C and heat.
Premier Queen Queen
Spacious 450 square foot rooms with two queen beds in the upgraded and modern Premier Section of the hotel. Featuring Serta Super Sleeper mattresses. Some Premier rooms have balconies that overlook the pool or the city and have upgraded amenities including daily newspaper delivery, terrycloth robes, vanity area, custom bath products and MP3 docking station. Standard features include iron and ironing board, coffee maker, refrigerator, flat screen TV, individual climate control with A/C and heat and in room safes.
Premier King
Spacious 450 square foot rooms with one king bed in the upgraded and modern Premier Section of the hotel. Featuring Serta Super Sleeper mattresses. Most Premier rooms have balconies that overlook the pool or the city and have upgraded amenities including daily newspaper delivery, terrycloth robes, vanity area, custom bath products and MP3 docking station. Standard features include iron and ironing board, coffee maker, refrigerator, flat screen TV, individual climate control with A/C and heat and in room safes.
Petite Room-One Bed
225 square feet. One full bed, best for one guest. Amenities include in-room complimentary coffee, irons and ironing boards, Internet access, flat screen TV, hairdryers and mini refrigerators. Rooms also feature individual climate control with A/C and heat.
Standard Double Double
2 double beds with newly renovated furnishings. Amenities include in-room complimentary coffee, irons and ironing boards, Internet access, flat screen TV, hairdryers and mini refrigerators. Rooms also feature individual climate control with A/C and heat.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.5 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.5 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Handlery Union Square Hotel offers a variety of meeting faciities to fit various needs. The Union Square Room is 1,250 square feet and features the latest meeting technology, hand painted murals and a classic San Francisco decor. Catering services are also available from the Daily Grill restaurant. Other meeting rooms include a host of smaller rooms ranging in size from 500 to 600 square feet that can be tailored to fit many different needs.

Dining

Daily Grill
Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Excellent American cuisine, extensive menu and great cocktails make this popular bar a San Francisco "Hot Spot."

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (325)

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
325 out of 325
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DC
Oct 6, 2010

Basic hotel, good location

Hotel has some updated rooms (mine was not). It was fine, nothing special. There was a flatscreen TV, no dresser, no refrigerator. My biggest complaint was that it was dark. Location is convenient to union square (1 block). It is not a great area to walk around alone at night (especially back entrance by parking lot). The pool looked nice, but it was way too cold to go in when I was there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

It's less than a block to union square which has a lot of great shopping.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denver, co
Sep 28, 2010

great location, very helpful staff

Very helpful, courteous staff. Fabulous location. An older hotel, so the room was a bit noisy, although very clean and updated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to dining, theatre, cable cars, bus tours, Muni.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Nevada City, CA
Sep 26, 2010

Fantastic Location

Nicely maintained hotel, excellent location as far as Union Square, trolleys, shopping, etc. Check-in a bit confusing as we did not know where the parking garage entrance was in relation to the front door of the hotel. Room, decor, beds & linens were great. We asked for a quiet room and received a room on the 6th floor overlooking the pool. There was a very nice small refrigerator tucked away in a cabinet and complimentary bottled water. We had a small balcony with a table and two chairs which we enjoyed immensely (the weather was warm for SF). Surprising and nice touches were the shaving mirror and bathroom scale in the bathroom, plus a separate area with a large counter, chair and lighted makeup mirror. Also the overall lighting and number of outlets available were fantastic. We had a good nights sleep, but things got somewhat noisy in the morning with frequent "banging" heard - might have been the elevator although it was several doors down from our room. Also, it was not clear that the elevators in the lobby do not go to the entire 6th floor or the garage. We spent two occasions riding the wrong elevator before we realized that we had to walk to another section of the hotel to get to our room and the parking garage. All-in-all we would return to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

If you enjoy Blues and good southern cooking, don't miss Biscuits & Blues which is just around the corner on Mason. We have been there several times and have never been disappointed!

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NYers on Holiday
New York, NY
Sep 19, 2010

Good enough, great parking

A problem-free place to stay while seeing the area. The garage staff are wonderful about quickly retreiving & receiving your car, so you can come and go as you like. We always tipped because they were so efficient and pleasant. The hotel layout is rather odd, and not all elevators serve all wings of the hotel, so it was a convoluted walk to our room, but no big hardship. The outdoor pool looks attractive, if weather permits. Clean and perfectly adequate, although not charming or a standout, but a good value for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Worth walking a few extra blocks up Geary street to explore diner, restaurant, cafe, & bar options beyond those immediately adjacent to hotel. Recommended: Mango Cafe. Looks cool: Grand Cafe. Both on Geary.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yombe
Dallas, TX
Sep 7, 2010

Charming, Clean, Well-Situated Hotel

I had a room billed as "petite," which worried me a bit until I saw the room. For one person, even a couple, it was more than adequate: a desk, comfortable bed, large clothes closet, modern bathroom. The room was spotless, and my bed was extremely comfortable. The hotel was air conditioned, but I preferred opening the windows. Would highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Xanadau Gallery (on Maiden Lane) is an ethnographic art/jewelry gallery housed in a Frank Lloyd Wright building. Even if you're not interested in the type of museum-quality works they offer (Pre-Columbian, Indian, African, etc.), a visit to see the building is a must.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Folsom
Sep 7, 2010

San Francisco getaway

Great location to union square, staff great, would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mps
San Diego
Aug 18, 2010

ok

Staff was great and attentive. I only had issue with 2 things. 1. The long wait for a cab if I depended on the hotel. 2. Unable to get a late check-out when I had a late flight. I wanted to relax and the airline had just delivered my luggage as I was going home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
xSF Local
Business
Cleveland, OH
Aug 13, 2010

Not for Business travelers

Good hotel, great location, but seems to be filled with families on vacation. That in itself is not an issue because the hotel is quiet. However, some important amenities for a business traveler are lacking - internet access. My room had a non-functional internet access. Even at their business center, which supposedly had the strongest connection, it was too slow and unreliable to hold a web conference.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Jul 8, 2010

Great hotel in the heart of San Fran.

We had a great time in San Francisco, thanks in part to having a great home base at the Handlery Hotel, located just off Union Square. The staff was super helpful and responded promptly to all of our needs, despite being very busy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For great Indian food, try the New Delhi Restaurant, not far from the hotel.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Austin, TX
Jun 29, 2010

Fantastic Hotel

We loved our room, the bath robes, the pool, the quiet side of the hotel, the location could not be beat. But the staff was clueless about everything we would ask about like: how do we get to the CalTrain. What's the schedule for the train? Where can we find a specific item around Union Square (So we wouldn't waste time walking around looking for the item). It seemed like everytime we asked the front desk a question they were clueless about the answer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Half Price Tickets was across the street on Union Square. They were awesome and got us great seats to see Wicked.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search