$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

Handlery Union Square

3 stars
View map of 351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
336 out of 336
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eski
Business
Oxnard, CA
May 13, 2011

Great Location Great price

The location of the hotel can not get any better and considering how expensive San Fran can be the price is reasonable. Couple of minor issues the walk from the parking garage to the front desk is somewhat of a maze and the price of the parking garage is $38 a night. The hotel is located in all the action of Union Square, close to all public transportation and you never have any problems getting a cab. Bars and restaurants are also top notch around the area. I recommend the hotel for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

John Foley bar is great and is right across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BoltDaddy
Business
San DIego, CA
May 12, 2011

Outstanding value, great location

One of the best locations in all of SF. Comfortablle contemporarily designed and spacious room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vetty
Business
Seattle, WA
Apr 14, 2011

Great Location !

Hop on hop off deluxe double decker bus to go around city .Went to Golden gate , china town , coit tower , union square ,north beach,Pier 39 ,took ferry to Tiburon . None missing we really enjoyed our stay the convenience and location close to BART station on Powell , cable car , double deck buses , cabs readily available , but also walking distance to chinatown . I have visited before but did not stay over and trip was limited . Checking in hotel really helps a lot to really stroll around San francisco and really enjoy it . San Francisco it so cool to vist you dont even need to rent a car , easy access to public transportation of all kinds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

House of Nan king great chinese food. I loved Coit Tower great view of city of San Francisco . Our hotel is just across Westin hotel which has great glass elevator fantastic view of San Francisco .

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bakersfield, CA
Apr 11, 2011

Great location and fabulous service

This hotel is wonderful. It is centrally located and close to all different kinds of transportation. The staff was very helpful and courteous and made our stay beyond comfortable. The room was very nice, the king size bed was comfortable and I was impressed at how nice the decor and view was for the price. I liked that there were a lot of outlet plugs available since I was travelling on business and had to work on my laptop while charging two phones. There was also an ipod docking station which was nice. All in all it was a great experience and I will definitely stay there in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DC
Apr 8, 2011

Great Family friendly hotel

We had a great base whilst travelling around SF and the surrounding areas - Napa, Redwoods etc. It was a perfect location for eating out with the kids in the evening. Room was spacious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Diane Family Travel Planner
Business
Laramie, WY
Mar 19, 2011

Service outstanding!

The concierge was great, gave us great ideas, appropriate travel times etc. and recommendations of sequences of activities. The restaurant has great breakfasts (careful with the cream cheese, though; ours had mold one day) and our 1 room service meal was good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Zarzuela: Spanish restaurant at Hyde and ..., great tapas.Easy on cable car.The Great Eastern, great restaurant in Chinatown, on Jackson St.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Feb 26, 2011

Bellhops are the only reason to stay

The hotel is old, but not terrible. They interestingly didnt use fitted sheets. The bellhops were amazing and helpful. The front desk staff... I think incompetent is a little strong but I can't think of a more accurate description. Location is great. Close to the BART and union square entertainment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Explore dining options in other neighborhoods! SF had amazing food, but you have to leave union square to get it

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Feb 9, 2011

Great Hotel

I didnt know what to expect when we arrived. The hotel is located in a nice part of union square right across from the Westin. Friendly staff and great room. The room was remodeled and everything was new. Even though it is smaller than a normal room, it was very comfortable! The bathroom was very clean and roomy. We were close to all stores, the Macy's, Tiffanys, etc. Would def stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Port St Lucie ,Fl
Feb 9, 2011

What a great location

This hotel is located steps from the cable cars and one block from public transit. We really enjoyed the updated feel of the Hotel and the service was great. We would recommend this hotel to our friends and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bakersfield, CA
Feb 2, 2011

Great locatio!

Great location! Hotel is nice. Beds are not that great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

I would recommend the tour buses, it saves you time , you see everything and you can hop on and hop off at any time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top