$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 30, 2015 Check-out: Jul 1, 2015

Handlery Union Square

3 stars
View map of 351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
380 out of 380
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Linel
Business
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Sep 25, 2011

Perfect location

The service was excellent. I loved the fact that the hotel was close to everything...restaurants, theater, car rental, shopping! I had room service for all three breakfasts and they were delicious and the servers were very courteous. My room was clean and comfortable. It was located in the back, so it was quiet. I love the doorman and the bell staff...so welcoming and nice. This is a hotel I will return to....and soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

ACT Box office is a very short walk and you can get tickets at the last minute!

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Linel
Business
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Sep 25, 2011

Perfect location

The service was excellent. I loved the fact that the hotel was close to everything...restaurants, theater, car rental, shopping! I had room service for all three breakfasts and they were delicious and the servers were very courteous. My room was clean and comfortable. It was located in the back, so it was quiet. I love the doorman and the bell staff...so welcoming and nice. This is a hotel I will return to....and soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

ACT Box office is a very short walk and you can get tickets at the last minute!

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
xmaskt
Business
Colorado, USA
Aug 16, 2011

Great staff

5 minutes after checking in, we complained about the size of the "queen" bed. John, the night manager, hooked us up with a beautiful suite with a king sized bed. It was such a lovely evening thanks to John :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the BART from the airport to the hotel. It's a short walk and only about $8, instead of a ridiculous cab fare.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
xmaskt
Business
Colorado, USA
Aug 16, 2011

Great staff

5 minutes after checking in, we complained about the size of the "queen" bed. John, the night manager, hooked us up with a beautiful suite with a king sized bed. It was such a lovely evening thanks to John :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the BART from the airport to the hotel. It's a short walk and only about $8, instead of a ridiculous cab fare.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
cincinnati oh
Aug 5, 2011

nice clean friendly

good location friendly staff and quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Aug 3, 2011

Surprisingly fantastic!

Quite surprised that such a nice space was available in the middle of everything! Not only was the $$ resonable, but the accomadations were excellent. Great staff and spotless room. On the small side, but had everything we needed. Would recommend to a friend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Luis Obispo, CA
Jul 22, 2011

Family vacation

I asked for economical rooms which could sleep three people. Our four rooms were small, but clean with the amenities we needed. The location couldn't be better. John at the Concierge Desk was a great help. His suggestion for our City Tour was perfect. Staff at the hotel were attentive and efficient. I stayed at the hotel since it was the "Stewart." Over the years it has maintained the same quality of customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping is only one of the many things to enjoy in San Francisco. Take a City tour to get the most out of a short stay.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jamie Walk Alot
Business
Kirkland, WA
Jul 12, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

If you want to stay downtown the Handlery Union Square Hotel is a great pick. I traveled with my sister and she thought it was the nicest hotel she had ever stayed in. The service at the hotel was amazing. We were up-graded to a larger room with out making a request and the staff were friendly and very helpful. I would definitely stay here again. The location was also good. Close to the cable cars, BART, shopping, good restaurants and the Chinatown Gateway. I have stayed in San Francisco five times previous to this trip and have always stayed at Fisherman's Wharf but I definitely prefer the amenities at this downtown location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the BART from the airport to this hotel. The BART was very user friendly and economical.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NC
Jul 6, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

Great location, shopping, restraunt

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
pasadena, CA
Jun 10, 2011

friendly staff and convenient location

very convenient location as it's at the heart of Union Square, walking distance to all shops and restaurants. The hotel staffs were extremely attentive and I was pleasantly surprised by an offer to upgrade my room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top