$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

Handlery Union Square

3 stars
View map of 351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
378 out of 378
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
cincinnati oh
Aug 5, 2011

nice clean friendly

good location friendly staff and quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Aug 3, 2011

Surprisingly fantastic!

Quite surprised that such a nice space was available in the middle of everything! Not only was the $$ resonable, but the accomadations were excellent. Great staff and spotless room. On the small side, but had everything we needed. Would recommend to a friend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Luis Obispo, CA
Jul 22, 2011

Family vacation

I asked for economical rooms which could sleep three people. Our four rooms were small, but clean with the amenities we needed. The location couldn't be better. John at the Concierge Desk was a great help. His suggestion for our City Tour was perfect. Staff at the hotel were attentive and efficient. I stayed at the hotel since it was the "Stewart." Over the years it has maintained the same quality of customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping is only one of the many things to enjoy in San Francisco. Take a City tour to get the most out of a short stay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jamie Walk Alot
Business
Kirkland, WA
Jul 12, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

If you want to stay downtown the Handlery Union Square Hotel is a great pick. I traveled with my sister and she thought it was the nicest hotel she had ever stayed in. The service at the hotel was amazing. We were up-graded to a larger room with out making a request and the staff were friendly and very helpful. I would definitely stay here again. The location was also good. Close to the cable cars, BART, shopping, good restaurants and the Chinatown Gateway. I have stayed in San Francisco five times previous to this trip and have always stayed at Fisherman's Wharf but I definitely prefer the amenities at this downtown location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the BART from the airport to this hotel. The BART was very user friendly and economical.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NC
Jul 6, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

Great location, shopping, restraunt

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
pasadena, CA
Jun 10, 2011

friendly staff and convenient location

very convenient location as it's at the heart of Union Square, walking distance to all shops and restaurants. The hotel staffs were extremely attentive and I was pleasantly surprised by an offer to upgrade my room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mpaladin
Business
italy
May 22, 2011

Very well located, nice and clean room

The hotel is very well located, in the core of Union Square. The backside of this location is the large amount of homeless people asking for money on the road. For the rest the hotel is in a very good position for visiting san francisco and for conferences at Moscone center. The room was big and clean, we didn't have any problem with the hotel and the staff. Recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MJZ
Business
Evanston, IL
May 19, 2011

Good location for attending conferences

The room was quite nice; the service quite good. They were doing some work nearby so nap time was interrupted with drilling and pounding. Getting to the room was a bit serpentine but manageable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Scala's is close by on Powell. It is a fine restaurant with excellent food and service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Auburn, CA
May 18, 2011

Great hotel

Great hotel. Staff was extremely helpful and courteous. Very clean room. No complaints except the percussion player out on the street playing way to late.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Loved the Daily Grill.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colfax, CA
May 18, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

The hotel is in the perfect location! Staff were excellent! Our room was very clean and nice but small with not a great view - others we were with had better views. We went with a group for the Bay to Breakers race and the hotel held our luggage until we could pick it up later - very accomodating and excellent bar/restuarant downstairs! Short taxi ride to the Wharf! We look forward to staying again and taking in the sites and food all around the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lefty O'Douls - great buffet and great price!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top