$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

Handlery Union Square

3 stars
View map of 351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
295 out of 295
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
M...
Business
Houston
Feb 5, 2012

Good Business trip

Half a block from Union Square and in a very quiet location. Check in was fast and the people were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Room overlooked O'Farley street and minimal noise was to be heard. A/C and heat in the room. Would stay there again without exception.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chris06
Couples
Sacramento, Kalifornien, Vereinigte Staaten
Dec 19, 2011

Not bad

Near Union Square, not very modern, would need a renovation, nice staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amom
Family
Alameda, CA, USA
Dec 5, 2011

Annual Mother/Daughter Christmas Shopping Trip

This is our third year into the city for Christmas shopping and fun and by far the best. The location and ease of parking is the big draw. And the fact that the staff is very helpful and friendly. You are 1/2 block off Union Square which really helps with the noise level. Anything on Union Square can be really loud. We will definitely be back next year! It's an older hotel but it has been remodeled. Our room was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tinmanic
New York, NY, USA
Oct 16, 2011

Perfectly decent hotel, great location

Our room was clean and perfectly fine -- not particularly big, but enough space to hang out in. Note: our guidebook said this hotel had free wifi, but when we tried to access it online, it wanted to charge us. I went to the front desk and asked about this, and the desk clerk decided to give us a coupon with an access code for free wifi. So be sure to ask about this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Daily Grill is connected to the hotel and is a great place to eat.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
windsor
Couples
Hudson, WI, USA
Oct 10, 2011

Good Location

Good location to transportation and a lot of activities. Biggest problem was the area was very crowded with people. If you do not like people this is no the spot. Attached restaurant had good food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
cincinnati oh
Aug 5, 2011

nice clean friendly

good location friendly staff and quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Phoenix, AZ
Aug 3, 2011

Surprisingly fantastic!

Quite surprised that such a nice space was available in the middle of everything! Not only was the $$ resonable, but the accomadations were excellent. Great staff and spotless room. On the small side, but had everything we needed. Would recommend to a friend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
San Luis Obispo, CA
Jul 22, 2011

Family vacation

I asked for economical rooms which could sleep three people. Our four rooms were small, but clean with the amenities we needed. The location couldn't be better. John at the Concierge Desk was a great help. His suggestion for our City Tour was perfect. Staff at the hotel were attentive and efficient. I stayed at the hotel since it was the "Stewart." Over the years it has maintained the same quality of customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping is only one of the many things to enjoy in San Francisco. Take a City tour to get the most out of a short stay.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jamie Walk Alot
Family
Kirkland, WA
Jul 12, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

If you want to stay downtown the Handlery Union Square Hotel is a great pick. I traveled with my sister and she thought it was the nicest hotel she had ever stayed in. The service at the hotel was amazing. We were up-graded to a larger room with out making a request and the staff were friendly and very helpful. I would definitely stay here again. The location was also good. Close to the cable cars, BART, shopping, good restaurants and the Chinatown Gateway. I have stayed in San Francisco five times previous to this trip and have always stayed at Fisherman's Wharf but I definitely prefer the amenities at this downtown location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the BART from the airport to this hotel. The BART was very user friendly and economical.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
NC
Jul 6, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

Great location, shopping, restraunt

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top