$239 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 17, 2015 Check-out: Jul 19, 2015

Handlery Union Square

3 stars
View map of 351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
384 out of 384
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Super Conference Goer
Business
San Francisco, CA
Mar 25, 2013

Convenient, clean, quiet

Stayed at this hotel with two other friends for a conference. Clean, quiet. No frills but worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Little Rooster
Business
Sacramento, CA
Feb 19, 2013

Bad and Good Service

The front desk said someone cancelled our reservation and they had to talk to the manager about it. They agreed to give us another room, but it was the Handicap room. He said if we did not like it, we could come back and ask for another but it was better with a queen size bed rather than the regular bed we booked. However, the refrigerator did not work and the room was small with no dresser. We went back again. This time he upgraded us to a 2 room suite facing the street for the same price. I asked him jokingly for an upgrade and he did it. This guy really understands "Customer Service." I will return to this hotel again because of this great service. The only complaint I have is the cost of Valet Parking, $47, but its worth it if you are staying for a few days and don't want your car broken into like what happens in the other public lots that are cheaper.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There are many things to see and do in the city. City Guiudes offer free tours every day to various locations and areas like North Beach, Golden Gate Park, and the Mission Murals, etc. They are very informative and run by volunteers who only accept donations to the organization. Google S.F. City Guides for their daily schedule.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
New years Liz
Business
San Francisco
Jan 2, 2013

New year 2013

It was good! The staff was just ok. They had me write down the names if my guest n told me that room cards would be checked after midnight. They didn't. I wonder why they told me that. But my stay was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JoannaNewyear
Business
Sacramento
Jan 2, 2013

Couples Retreat

The hotel in my opinion was very overpriced. The lobby was really nice and that was about it. Rooms were very old and small and lacked certain ammenities such as toothpaste, soap, and minibar. However, we stated here for New Years so it didnt really bother us since we were out all day/night. Recomend this place for the location and for really short visits. Hope everyone had a great New Years!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Square

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
zzyzx
Business
Southern CA
Nov 5, 2012

Handlery Hotel SFO Great Hotel for the price!

Hotel is always clean, neat, rooms are roomy and up-to-date. Staff is very courteous. They acknowledge your presence, always willing to help. Hotel location is 1/2 block from Union Square. Within walking distance of cable cars, shopping, night life, great restaurants. Worth the money, even if you may not be able to get a great deal on price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jax44
Business
Carmel, Ca
Oct 28, 2012

World Series stay

We arrived two hours before check in time and we were given a room which was perfect because we were anxious to get to the game!. The Concierge gave us a great tip to take Muni to the field, this saved us tons of time and money. As always, a great time, courteous staff who go the extra mile and perfect location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Lefty O'Douls next door, great piano bar.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sisulu
Business
New York, NY
Oct 26, 2012

Disappointment

While the staff was courteous, professional and helpful, I did not like this hotel. This hotel is in desperate need of a renovation. I had to request a new room upon arrival as the room they put me in was as small as a closet and had an awful, foul smell. There was not way I could sleep there. A big, exposed AC unit in the ceiling was noisy and unattractive. They were booked solid but gave me a new room anyway. Still same size and the AC unit in the ceiling but the smell was gone. It is an old hotel...layer upon layer of paint, floors creek in hallway, etc. I prefer a more modern place. Again, staff was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Bellini is around the corner, wonderful european-style cafe for an espresso, cappuccino, breakfast, etc. LOVE IT!

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lady Godzilla
Business
San Diego, CA
Oct 25, 2012

Go Giants!

I could not ask for better people to welcome you to the hotel than the front desk staff, Shirley is the best. Love the location but with it comes city noise. They provide you with ear plugs but didn't need it. Basic room and CLEAN. Shower was a little tight. Liked that windows open, it was raining and loved the sound and smell of rain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

R and G Lounge is the best Chinese restaurant around, worth the walk and wait. Fried salt and pepper crab only available for dinner. House special beef for lunch. MAKE RESERVATIONS first.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
1st time visit
Business
Burbank, California
Oct 4, 2012

Great Location

Very friendly staff at arrival, not happy with upgrade to suite,not for the up-charge but the location and cleanliness. Happy with size and cleanliness of reg queen room but not happy with location. Missed flight because no shuttle service and airport shuttle van late and 2 many stops, the Concierge forgot to mention 8:50 am shuttle 2 late for 10:10 am Departure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

No need for car or taxi, lots of choices very close.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lau yeah
Business
Mexico city
Oct 1, 2012

Great experience

My friend and I just love this getaway. The hotel is excellent located, the staff is very friendly and helpful, room was always very clean and smells nice. the daily grill has awesome quality and delicious food. It's a great option to stay, you have all city places very close. San Francisco was so exciting!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Chinese neighborhood

Back to menu Return to top