$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 24, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

Handlery Union Square

3 stars
351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
328 reviews
Great all around hotel

Fantastic weekend at the Handlery. Was in town for a wedding, and this location put us right next... See full review

  • OneWall
  • Feb 24, 2014
Great stay for new year's in san francisco

The Handlery hotelmis conveniently located stepsmaway from union square and most city's attractions... See full review

  • Female friends
  • Jan 2, 2014
Intimate boutique hotel with outdoor pool just steps from Union Square

This Union Square mainstay, dating back to 1908, mixes old and new under one roof. Older rooms bring with them a hearty dose of history; newer accommodations, completed in the last 15 years, are more spacious and have upgraded amenities. There's an outdoor pool -- a rarity for downtown San Francisco -- a heated sauna and an on-site barbershop. One of the city's most popular taverns, The Daily Grill, is located on the ground floor.

Highlights
  • Serene outdoor pool with heated sauna
  • Stroll to some of the best shopping in town
  • Stellar on-site restaurant, The Daily Grill, serves up American classics.
  • On-site barbershop
  • Discount coupons to nearby Macy's
Rooms

The Handlery has 377 rooms in all -- 284 in the "historic" section of the hotel, and 93 in a newer and recently renovated part. Newer rooms, dubbed "Premier," measure 450 square feet and look out on the outdoor pool deck. They also include bathrobes and electric shoe polishers. The older rooms, dubbed "Historic," are part of the original 1908 construction and include mini-refrigerators, in-room safes and ironing boards. Some of the latter rooms offer views of the San Francisco skyline; Wi-Fi is available in all (fees apply).

Features

The hotel has been family owned and operated since the 1920s.

Service has been a strongpoint for all of those years; today the property employs multi-lingual concierges who arrange everything from dinner reservations to babysitter services. Other exceptional services include same-day laundry and dry-cleaning, as well as the on-site barber shop.

All guests have access to a Club One fitness center one block from the hotel (fees apply).

Grab a burger and a beer at The Daily Grill, a swanky but reliable bar on the ground floor. The weekend brunch here is rated among the best in the city (try the Bloody Mary and understand why).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (5 minutes walking)
  • BART (15 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Fisherman's Wharf
  • Embarcadero
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • AT&T Park
Business
  • Two sizable meeting rooms can be configured a number of ways.
  • Additional meeting space inside on-site restaurant, The Daily Grill.
  • Business Center
  • Audio/Visual equipment available for rental.
Policies and fees
  • Valet parking available (fees apply).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Handlery Union Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Handlery Union Square Rooms

Standard Queen Room
Queen bed with newly renovated furnishings. Amenities include in-room complimentary coffee, irons and ironing boards, Internet access, flat screen TV, hairdryers and mini refrigerators. Rooms also feature individual climate control with A/C and heat.
Premier Queen Queen
Spacious 450 square foot rooms with two queen beds in the upgraded and modern Premier Section of the hotel. Featuring Serta Super Sleeper mattresses. Some Premier rooms have balconies that overlook the pool or the city and have upgraded amenities including daily newspaper delivery, terrycloth robes, vanity area, custom bath products and MP3 docking station. Standard features include iron and ironing board, coffee maker, refrigerator, flat screen TV, individual climate control with A/C and heat and in room safes.
Premier King
Spacious 450 square foot rooms with one king bed in the upgraded and modern Premier Section of the hotel. Featuring Serta Super Sleeper mattresses. Most Premier rooms have balconies that overlook the pool or the city and have upgraded amenities including daily newspaper delivery, terrycloth robes, vanity area, custom bath products and MP3 docking station. Standard features include iron and ironing board, coffee maker, refrigerator, flat screen TV, individual climate control with A/C and heat and in room safes.
Petite Room-One Bed
225 square feet. One full bed, best for one guest. Amenities include in-room complimentary coffee, irons and ironing boards, Internet access, flat screen TV, hairdryers and mini refrigerators. Rooms also feature individual climate control with A/C and heat.
Standard Double Double
2 double beds with newly renovated furnishings. Amenities include in-room complimentary coffee, irons and ironing boards, Internet access, flat screen TV, hairdryers and mini refrigerators. Rooms also feature individual climate control with A/C and heat.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.5 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.5 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.9 mi
  • Lands End: 2 mi

Dining

Daily Grill
Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Excellent American cuisine, extensive menu and great cocktails make this popular bar a San Francisco "Hot Spot."

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Handlery Union Square Hotel offers a variety of meeting faciities to fit various needs. The Union Square Room is 1,250 square feet and features the latest meeting technology, hand painted murals and a classic San Francisco decor. Catering services are also available from the Daily Grill restaurant. Other meeting rooms include a host of smaller rooms ranging in size from 500 to 600 square feet that can be tailored to fit many different needs.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (328)

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
328 out of 328
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sisulu
Business
New York, NY
Oct 26, 2012

Disappointment

While the staff was courteous, professional and helpful, I did not like this hotel. This hotel is in desperate need of a renovation. I had to request a new room upon arrival as the room they put me in was as small as a closet and had an awful, foul smell. There was not way I could sleep there. A big, exposed AC unit in the ceiling was noisy and unattractive. They were booked solid but gave me a new room anyway. Still same size and the AC unit in the ceiling but the smell was gone. It is an old hotel...layer upon layer of paint, floors creek in hallway, etc. I prefer a more modern place. Again, staff was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Bellini is around the corner, wonderful european-style cafe for an espresso, cappuccino, breakfast, etc. LOVE IT!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lady Godzilla
Business
San Diego, CA
Oct 25, 2012

Go Giants!

I could not ask for better people to welcome you to the hotel than the front desk staff, Shirley is the best. Love the location but with it comes city noise. They provide you with ear plugs but didn't need it. Basic room and CLEAN. Shower was a little tight. Liked that windows open, it was raining and loved the sound and smell of rain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

R and G Lounge is the best Chinese restaurant around, worth the walk and wait. Fried salt and pepper crab only available for dinner. House special beef for lunch. MAKE RESERVATIONS first.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
1st time visit
Business
Burbank, California
Oct 4, 2012

Great Location

Very friendly staff at arrival, not happy with upgrade to suite,not for the up-charge but the location and cleanliness. Happy with size and cleanliness of reg queen room but not happy with location. Missed flight because no shuttle service and airport shuttle van late and 2 many stops, the Concierge forgot to mention 8:50 am shuttle 2 late for 10:10 am Departure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

No need for car or taxi, lots of choices very close.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lau yeah
Business
Mexico city
Oct 1, 2012

Great experience

My friend and I just love this getaway. The hotel is excellent located, the staff is very friendly and helpful, room was always very clean and smells nice. the daily grill has awesome quality and delicious food. It's a great option to stay, you have all city places very close. San Francisco was so exciting!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Chinese neighborhood

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TAFF
Business
SOUTH WALES
Sep 27, 2012

Disappointed

As a disabled person I booked a premium room.I expected this room to be in the main part of the hotel instead I had to walk through five corridors to reach my room in the annexe.It was a nice room but it would have been nice to have been able to open the curtains and leave them open.With people constantly passing I was unable to do this The Daily Grill was good and the evening manager of the Grill was fantastic

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

around the corner of the hotel is LOREIS DINER good food at a good price

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jess Bes
Business
Mesa, Arizona
Sep 21, 2012

Great Location, Clean Rooms, Friendly Staff, Overpriced for DreamForce

Everything was great. The only comment I have is for those people that will be attending the DreamForce conference, or any other major major conferences that occur in the Moscone Center area. I enjoyed the location; you get to walk by lots of little restaurants and all different kinds of shopping places (anything from small local-owned shops, to Bebe and Louis Vuitton). The trolley line is apx 25 yards away from the hotel entrance, but to board the trolley, it's about 1/4mi away. While SF Downtown does have homeless people, with all of the DreamForce foot traffic, I always felt safe walking in the daytime through early evening. There are minimal hills to "climb" walking back and forth to the conference as the Moscone Center area. The only "negative" I have is just in regards to pricing for DreamForce. I get that it's a major event, and they keep their rates competitive, but I had a single-queen bed room with a "view" of a brickwall, and it was very small to pay $500 for it. Other hotels with the same rate, in the same area, provided larger room spaces. However, I didn't spend much time in my room except to sleep, so I wasn't uncomfortable; I felt like this particular room was about $150 overpriced. NOTE, my image is of what you see after you take a few steps towards Market Street from the Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For a quick dine-in breakfast with great food, that seems to be a "local spot" that is not crowded, walk to Market street, turn left to head downhill, CAFE BELLINI is on the right!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Family Holiday
Business
Worcestershire, UK
Sep 3, 2012

Spacious family room. Excellent Location

We really enjoyed our stay. Friendly and helpful staff. The location was perfect. The room was very clean and comfortable. As a family of four, we were pleased with the spacious premier room we chose. Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Bellini's served great breakfast just around the corner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jazzman
Business
Hilton Head Island, SC, USA
Aug 26, 2012

Great location

Our room was in the newer "premium" section which was far more modern than the older part. The bath had great counter space, a delightful easy-to-adjust shower and was spotless. The room was relatively quiet considering that we were in one of the noisiest parts of San Francisco. The restaurant was great for breakfast, lunch or dinner. The one downside was that because the newer section was originally another hotel on the adjacent street, getting from the hotel lobby to the elevators required walking outdoors and up a flight of stairs, past the hotel pool. Other than that, the staff was excellent and our stay was delightful. Many foreign tour groups were at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For fine dining (at a price) the Fleur de Lys at 777 Sutter Street is a gourmet's delight. Soft atmosphere, excellent cuisine.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mwandww
Business
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Aug 2, 2012

Excellent hotel in midst of lively Union Square!

What a perfect central location to explore San Francisco! Within walking distance of cable cars, many restaurant choices, and Chinatown, this hotel was an excellent choice for us. We loved the balcony that allowed us to feel a part of the busy streets below while we sipped coffee or wine! This hotel is great for couples or for families with teenages who would like to spend time exploring the area. The stop for the hop on-hop off bus tours is nearby also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sears Restaurant, a local tradition for great breakfasts. John's Grill, another local tradition for nice dinners and live music!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CaliTravel
Business
San Luis Obispo, CA
Aug 2, 2012

Valet Parking? Not really!

The hotel itself was fine. Room was OK, a little warm. Bathroom small but shower was fine. The Daily Grill was fine for breakfast. We ate dinner elsewhere. The big problem was on arrival. There is no place to pull off the street for valet parking. Finally since there was no space at the curb, my husband double-parked and stayed with the car while I went in. There I found out that the parking was actually on the back side of the hotel and we had to drive there. A bellman came out and took our 1 bag up to the room while we drove around the block to the garage. Conidering we were paying for valet parking, we drove the car around in lots of traffic. Since people like us might use GPS to get there, it should say as part of the description on the website that "Valet Parking" is NOT on the same side of the hotel as the address and is not really "valet." Basically parking was the main problem. Later a doorman was very helpful and did work hard to get us a taxi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top