$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
345 Stockton St, SAN FRANCISCO, CA 94108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
200 reviews
Great location and service

I enjoyed my stay here very much, thanks to the great service and facilities. The location in Union... See full review

  • GChris
  • Aug 2, 2014
Fab Fam Trip

Hotel bed very comfy. We wanted to take the beds with us. Everything was clean. We felt very... See full review

  • Vee Stanford
  • Jun 15, 2014
High-rise elegance only a block from Union Square

Located a block from bustling Union Square, the 36-story Grand Hyatt San Francisco towers over many of the other hotels in the area. Elegance is the theme here, with an opulent lobby and floor-to-ceiling windows in guestrooms upstairs. Some guest rooms even are allergy-free. OneUP Restaurant and Lounge, located on the Mezzanine level of the hotel and overlooking the vibrant and inviting lobby, is an American bistro incorporating classical cooking methods to create unprovincial, artistic and inventive food, sure to delight the palate and stimulate the senses.

Highlights
  • Allergy-free guestrooms
  • Unique dining experience at OneUP restaurant
  • Located one block from Union Square
Rooms

Accommodations -- 660 rooms in all -- have stunning views of the city and bay, and each comes standard with flat-screen televisions, plush Grand beds, spacious work desks and safes. A handful of rooms have been deemed allergy-friendly and undergo a regular ionization process to eliminate allergens completely. Other rooms (those that are part of the Grand Club) include complimentary beverage and snack service daily. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply). Pets welcome (fees apply).

Features

The hotel has received numerous awards, including the AAA Four-Diamond Award. The property also announced in 2009 a wide-sweeping green initiative that includes composting, recycling and advanced energy and resource conservation.

All guests receive complimentary access to cardio and free weight machines in the 24-hour StayFit fitness center. On-property concierge Les Clefs d’Or offers runners and joggers GPS watches and detailed maps of running and walking trails around the city (fees apply). 

Discover a unique dining experience at OneUP Restaurant located on the Mezzanine level.  Chefs combine classical cooking methods and local ingredients to produce daring culinary adventures. OneUP Lounge also offers live music entertainment.

Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (13 mi/21 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • Cable cars (1 block)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
  • BART (4 blocks)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Chinatown
  • North Beach
  • Financial District
  • Embarcadero
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 27,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 36th-floor event space with sweeping views of the entire city

Hotel Map

37.7889 -122.4072
Nearby airports
San Francisco Intl Airport, (SFO), 13.00, MI, N; Oakland Intl Airport, (OAK), 20.00, MI, W; San Jose Intl Airport, (SJC), 45.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square also booked these hotels.

Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square Rooms

Concierge
Keyed-off private access floors. Access to Grand Club Lounge: comp breakfast & hors d'oeuvres. One king or two double beds.
Standard
City View rooms on floors 3-17

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Exercise gym
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
Airline desk
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Doctor on call
Copy service
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
White board
Conference suite
Computer rental
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.2 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2 mi

Dining

OneUP Restaurant Lounge
Offering the ideal combination of casual luxury and lively atmosphere, OneUP is the perfect destination for locals and city visitors to enjoy American bistro fare that draws from the best of the Bay Area's locally sourced seasonal ingredients.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (200)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 200
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.2

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GChris
Bakersfield, California
Aug 2, 2014

Great location and service

I enjoyed my stay here very much, thanks to the great service and facilities. The location in Union Square is unbeatable, and the room was pristine and tastefully decorated. This hotel is great for business and leisure travel alike, and suitable for both single and group/family travel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Finding parking on your own in this part of the city can be a nightmare; if you have funds to spare, valet service would be a great idea. The valet staff is very friendly and timely.

Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eltepadelatorre
Santa Mónica, CA
Jul 6, 2012

Had a great time

Eventhough is Was being under construcción, i has a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Is located in Union square the fascino distric Of San Francisco.

Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mexico
Sep 9, 2011

STAY HERE ANAD SHOP UNTILL YOU DROP

RIGHT ON UNION SQUARE - THE SHOPPING AREA. RCENTLY RENOVATED ROOMS.. YOU CAN WALK TO MANY ATTRACTIONS. STAIN ON CARPET WAS UGLY. NO WRITING PAPER IN ROOM.. NO MINI-BAR, BUT IT DID HAVE A COFFEE MAKER, WHICH I USED FOR BREAKFAST. DINNING ROOM ON 27 FLOOR WAS DEPRESSING BUT WILL BE RENOVATED. HOWEVER, GREAT VIEWS. CONCIERGE SERVICES WERE EXCELLENT..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

MACY'S ONE BLOCK DOWN. MEN'S SHOP IS FOUR STORIES.

Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Napa Valley, CA
Jun 26, 2011

Doesn't get any better!

The Hyatt was the perfect hotel to stay at, meeting all my expectations. I've never slept in a hotel bed that was exactly like being at home! The staff was the best, friendly, helpful, informative and very gracious. I'd definitely book another stay at the Hyatt on Union Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping on Union Square in San Francisco is definitely world class and very convenient! A quick cab ride gets you to ATT Park to see the World Series SF Giants play baseball. Great downtown location!

Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
stenio123
chicago,il
Aug 2, 2010

Great hotel!

The gym was a bit crowded because it is going through renovations, should be done by Aug 12 2010. However it was good crowded - they have free weights up to 50 Lbs, several machines for all muscle groups and a pulley system that you can do several types of exercises. For cardio there are 6 treadmills and 3 bikes. There are moist towels, water and free San Francisco Chronicle newspaper!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If shopping at Macy's, you can go to the Welcome center on the 6th floor of Women's Building and ask for a visitor discount - 10% off if you are from outside of San Francisco

Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
maciekphilly
philadelphia
Jul 8, 2010

great experience

the are profesional

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Matrix

Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
"Dr. Bill"
GEORGIA
Oct 10, 2009

GRAND HYATT SAN FRANCISCO NIGHTMARE

It qualifies as a 4-star hotel.Great room. Great room location=20th floor overlooking Union Square. Did not rent car in San Fran and glad- because I found out that GRAND HYATT charges $49.00 (!) per day to park your car ,Absolutely ridiculous. One scary event: 1 A.M....heard two female voises outside my door. Two young and drunk women leaning against my door. I asked them to please be quite,sleeping,etc.., One said I was "awful last night...threatened me...I told them I wasn't even there 'last night'....I called security and they came up and took care of it,but it was frightening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

A senior like myself can pay 75 cents for a troLley ticket and with a transfer ride pretty much anywhere all day. I never got a cab. Warned about scams..."overcharging..taking the long way to destination with meter running,etc...". OTHER: Easy to get top the SF Intl Airport downtown using BART transit system....only $8.10 and took me to Powell Street Station a short 3 block walk to Gramd Hyatt.Clean and very efficient/

Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
México, D. F.
Aug 28, 2009

It's fantastic, only...

Well,all that's okay, only few of your staff no very friendly, especially people attends me on the deskand person of baggage, They doesn't explain how I can access of some af your services, for example: internet, breakfast. Instead of this, everthing that's okay, like people concierge and people that receve me. Thank you for everthing you did for me. Only more thing How much should I pay of tip. 10 %?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

That's okay

Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Captain Covack
San Francisco, CA
Aug 19, 2009

the grand hyatt is grand

I can't find one thing wrong with the grand hyatt hotel in san francisco. The service was great and the room was nice and clean. I didn't stay there much on my vacation but when I did I had no problems at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orange County, CA
Sep 24, 2007

Excellent location

The Grand Hyatt @ Union Square is the perfect location. It's close to the shopping district and convenient to the cable cars to nob hill and fisherman's wharf. The staff at the hotel are also very sincere and hospitable. I would definetely recommend this property to my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy's and Barney's New York are only a 5 minute walk from the hotel!

Back to menu Return to top

Change search