$170 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 8, 2015 Check-out: Mar 9, 2015

Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
View map of 345 Stockton St, SAN FRANCISCO, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
195 reviews
Road Trip

Check in was smooth, all staff was friendly. Located close to sightseeing and nightlife. Loved my... See full review

  • Marc
  • Jan 27, 2015
business trip

Absolutely beautiful room. I actually forgot hair products and my brush!!! It was great that I... See full review

  • Anita A.
  • Jan 22, 2015
High-rise elegance only a block from Union Square

Located a block from bustling Union Square, the 36-story Grand Hyatt San Francisco towers over many of the other hotels in the area. Elegance is the theme here, with an opulent lobby and floor-to-ceiling windows in guestrooms upstairs. Some guest rooms even are allergy-free. OneUP Restaurant and Lounge, located on the Mezzanine level of the hotel and overlooking the vibrant and inviting lobby, is an American bistro incorporating classical cooking methods to create unprovincial, artistic and inventive food, sure to delight the palate and stimulate the senses.

Highlights
  • Allergy-free guestrooms
  • Unique dining experience at OneUP restaurant
  • Located one block from Union Square
Rooms

Accommodations -- 660 rooms in all -- have stunning views of the city and bay, and each comes standard with flat-screen televisions, plush Grand beds, spacious work desks and safes. A handful of rooms have been deemed allergy-friendly and undergo a regular ionization process to eliminate allergens completely. Other rooms (those that are part of the Grand Club) include complimentary beverage and snack service daily. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply). Pets welcome (fees apply).

Features

The hotel has received numerous awards, including the AAA Four-Diamond Award. The property also announced in 2009 a wide-sweeping green initiative that includes composting, recycling and advanced energy and resource conservation.

All guests receive complimentary access to cardio and free weight machines in the 24-hour StayFit fitness center. On-property concierge Les Clefs d’Or offers runners and joggers GPS watches and detailed maps of running and walking trails around the city (fees apply). 

Discover a unique dining experience at OneUP Restaurant located on the Mezzanine level.  Chefs combine classical cooking methods and local ingredients to produce daring culinary adventures. OneUP Lounge also offers live music entertainment.

Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (13 mi/21 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • Cable cars (1 block)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
  • BART (4 blocks)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Chinatown
  • North Beach
  • Financial District
  • Embarcadero
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 27,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 36th-floor event space with sweeping views of the entire city

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square Rooms

Concierge
Keyed-off private access floors. Access to Grand Club Lounge: comp breakfast & hors d'oeuvres. One king or two double beds.
Standard
City View rooms on floors 3-17

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Exercise gym
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
Airline desk
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Doctor on call
Copy service
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
White board
Conference suite
Computer rental
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.2 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 2 mi

Dining

OneUP Restaurant Lounge
Offering the ideal combination of casual luxury and lively atmosphere, OneUP is the perfect destination for locals and city visitors to enjoy American bistro fare that draws from the best of the Bay Area's locally sourced seasonal ingredients.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (195)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
195 out of 195
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jeffptulare
Business
tulare ca
Jul 11, 2011

sfo trip

the hotel is great pricey but great location staff is top noch great place to stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

scomas at peir 39 is the best place to eat in sfo

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Auburn, Ca
Jun 27, 2011

Just my style!

The hotel was beautifully decorated and very comfy/cozy. The only thing is that I wished we would of been able to get a room with a view. That was kind of dissapointing. We had a view from the third floor of the ugly air conditioning units. I wanted to go to the Cheesecake Factory Restuarant and all I had to do is say that we were staying at the Hyatt and they got us right in with no reservations which was 2 hours on Saturday night. Had a table on the roof with a beautiful view of Union Square. Very nice. I would highly recommend it. Hotel came through and the staff was very accomodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you get a business card from the conceirge's and you can by-pass reservations and get right in the Cheesecake Factory.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Napa Valley, CA
Jun 26, 2011

Doesn't get any better!

The Hyatt was the perfect hotel to stay at, meeting all my expectations. I've never slept in a hotel bed that was exactly like being at home! The staff was the best, friendly, helpful, informative and very gracious. I'd definitely book another stay at the Hyatt on Union Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping on Union Square in San Francisco is definitely world class and very convenient! A quick cab ride gets you to ATT Park to see the World Series SF Giants play baseball. Great downtown location!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nelson, New Zealand
Jun 24, 2011

Grand Hyatt San Fran

This was a great Hotel in a great location. Was close to shopping and a short tram ride to Pier 39.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jun 18, 2011

very nice

Best location in downtown San Francisco. The bathroom is modern and with excellent lighting! The hotel may be a big hotel but each floor feels cozy and have no long hallways. The rooms are modern and boutique hotel like which is excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
like sf
Business
southeast
Jun 14, 2011

great location, great price

Convenient to tourist attractions and restaurants, good concierge services, updated clean rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle
May 29, 2011

Excellent location, lovely room & view

Excellent location, friendly helpful staff - easy to access all sightseeing tours and shopping!! Great room, comfortable beds and lovely city views. Great gym facilities with views of SF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
missoula
May 14, 2011

Great location and service

easy access to restaurants, sites, shopping

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 1, 2011

Location was perfect!

The hotel itself is in a perfect location. It's close to the best brand name shopping in town. We checked in pretty quickly with no issues and were given a room on the 3rd floor (terrible view). However it was a completely remodeled room so it made up for it. We had asked for a baby crib and instead found a roll-away bed (odd). The restaurant on the top floor has amazing views of the entire city. We ate there twice. Our dinner cost about $100 for the two of us (pricey). All in all, the hotel was clean, remodeled, and perfectly located to stroll around with the baby. We'd stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JacyW
Business
Seattle, WA
Apr 18, 2011

Would not stay here again!

Our reservation was for a double room on the Concierge floor which of course we paid extra for. Upon check in they tried to put us in a "regular room" not on the Concierge Floor. I refused immediately. They then put us one floor above the private floor but with access to the Concierge. The room absolutely stunk and was dirty. We changed into our walking shoes went back down to the front desk and had a room change which was better. The next morning I realized I had left my very expensive shoes in our first room. The front desk called around with no luck in finding my shoes. And funny how they had not put anyone into that disgusting room and I'm sure my shoes did not just walk off. I will never stay in this hotel again. I do not recommend this hotel. The staff is rude, the hotel is not that nice and the area is now a bit run down as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Best part of the trip was a wonderful Italian restaurant called North Beach. It has been there 40 years. The food was the best I have ever had and the waiters and staff first class.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top