$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
345 Stockton St, SAN FRANCISCO, CA 94108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
200 reviews
Great location and service

I enjoyed my stay here very much, thanks to the great service and facilities. The location in Union... See full review

  • GChris
  • Aug 2, 2014
Fab Fam Trip

Hotel bed very comfy. We wanted to take the beds with us. Everything was clean. We felt very... See full review

  • Vee Stanford
  • Jun 15, 2014
High-rise elegance only a block from Union Square

Located a block from bustling Union Square, the 36-story Grand Hyatt San Francisco towers over many of the other hotels in the area. Elegance is the theme here, with an opulent lobby and floor-to-ceiling windows in guestrooms upstairs. Some guest rooms even are allergy-free. OneUP Restaurant and Lounge, located on the Mezzanine level of the hotel and overlooking the vibrant and inviting lobby, is an American bistro incorporating classical cooking methods to create unprovincial, artistic and inventive food, sure to delight the palate and stimulate the senses.

Highlights
  • Allergy-free guestrooms
  • Unique dining experience at OneUP restaurant
  • Located one block from Union Square
Rooms

Accommodations -- 660 rooms in all -- have stunning views of the city and bay, and each comes standard with flat-screen televisions, plush Grand beds, spacious work desks and safes. A handful of rooms have been deemed allergy-friendly and undergo a regular ionization process to eliminate allergens completely. Other rooms (those that are part of the Grand Club) include complimentary beverage and snack service daily. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply). Pets welcome (fees apply).

Features

The hotel has received numerous awards, including the AAA Four-Diamond Award. The property also announced in 2009 a wide-sweeping green initiative that includes composting, recycling and advanced energy and resource conservation.

All guests receive complimentary access to cardio and free weight machines in the 24-hour StayFit fitness center. On-property concierge Les Clefs d’Or offers runners and joggers GPS watches and detailed maps of running and walking trails around the city (fees apply). 

Discover a unique dining experience at OneUP Restaurant located on the Mezzanine level.  Chefs combine classical cooking methods and local ingredients to produce daring culinary adventures. OneUP Lounge also offers live music entertainment.

Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (13 mi/21 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • Cable cars (1 block)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
  • BART (4 blocks)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Chinatown
  • North Beach
  • Financial District
  • Embarcadero
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 27,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 36th-floor event space with sweeping views of the entire city

Hotel Map

37.7889 -122.4072
Nearby airports
San Francisco Intl Airport, (SFO), 13.00, MI, N; Oakland Intl Airport, (OAK), 20.00, MI, W; San Jose Intl Airport, (SJC), 45.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square also booked these hotels.

Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square Rooms

Concierge
Keyed-off private access floors. Access to Grand Club Lounge: comp breakfast & hors d'oeuvres. One king or two double beds.
Standard
City View rooms on floors 3-17

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Exercise gym
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
Airline desk
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Doctor on call
Copy service
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
White board
Conference suite
Computer rental
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.2 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2 mi

Dining

OneUP Restaurant Lounge
Offering the ideal combination of casual luxury and lively atmosphere, OneUP is the perfect destination for locals and city visitors to enjoy American bistro fare that draws from the best of the Bay Area's locally sourced seasonal ingredients.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (200)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
200 out of 200
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Denise and Kristin
Pittsburgh, PA
Aug 11, 2011

Great location, close to everything!

The hotel concierge desk was extremely helpful during our trip. They were able to direct us to the best place to catch the cable cars without waiting. The hotel rooms were newly remodeled and extremely comfortable. Unfortunately our room (610) was facing another building and a parking garage and the view was extremely poor. We should have requested another room but didn't. Next time we will. The view from the Grandview Restaurant on the 36th floor is absolutely amazing and the food was good too! Will definitely come back! If you're looking for something different, take a walking tour through the Muir Woods with [...]. He is the only licensed vendor in the city, extremely knowledgeable about the redwoods and will pick you up at your hotel, provide a packed picnic lunch and drop you off (after a 3 mile hike in the Muir woods) at the Sausalito Ferry. It's well worth the $60 and probably one of the most beautiful and memorable tours you'll ever do. Wonderful photos as well!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Naples
Aug 10, 2011

Great place to stay

Good location and hotel staff. Accessible to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Michigan
Aug 9, 2011

Very nice Hotel

This was an excellent Hotel. The room was newly remodeled. The hotel was centrally located by Union Square and the Concierge service was extraordinary. We'll definitely be staying here on our next planned trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

All the sightseeing companies pick up at the hotel and go out of their way to be particularly accommodating.

Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lisa&chris
phoenix, az
Aug 8, 2011

very comfortable, great location!!

people were friendly and accomodating, walking distance to most sites or trolleys

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Aug 4, 2011

Union 4-sides

The staff was clearly "under-trained". A few examples, a mix-up in the arrangement of a rental car; the inability to fix our room's TV, with one technician declaring that nothing was wrong (it was eventually fixed)and the desk clerk on checkout declaring that I didn't get a receipt because the room was booked through [...](Can you believe that?). Ultimately I just said print me a copy. Most staff demonstrated a screw you attitude. The room, while OK, was strangely laid out-- just an observation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The hotel restraunt needs a revision to the menu-- boring. Great view; go at night for a drink of something.

Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
washington state
Jul 24, 2011

great time in san fran

only there one day took the cable car to the wharf and had fun but a little walk for a handicap person.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

the bus would of probably took you closer to the wharf . cable car dropped you off and you had to walk 8 blocks to pier 39

Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sherri Chitown
Chicago
Jul 20, 2011

Trip to San Francisco!

We arrived on Friday morning around 10am. Are room was on the 17th floor, and the accomodations were great. The room included a safe that really made me happy. The bed was so comfortable and the pillows too, I slept like a log. The conceige staff John & Joanna were wonderful! They both were very informative and really helped us plan our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Apple store just within walking distance from the hotel, and around the corner a great resturant called Sears, the food was superb breakfast and dinner!

Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jeffptulare
tulare ca
Jul 11, 2011

sfo trip

the hotel is great pricey but great location staff is top noch great place to stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

scomas at peir 39 is the best place to eat in sfo

Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Auburn, Ca
Jun 27, 2011

Just my style!

The hotel was beautifully decorated and very comfy/cozy. The only thing is that I wished we would of been able to get a room with a view. That was kind of dissapointing. We had a view from the third floor of the ugly air conditioning units. I wanted to go to the Cheesecake Factory Restuarant and all I had to do is say that we were staying at the Hyatt and they got us right in with no reservations which was 2 hours on Saturday night. Had a table on the roof with a beautiful view of Union Square. Very nice. I would highly recommend it. Hotel came through and the staff was very accomodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you get a business card from the conceirge's and you can by-pass reservations and get right in the Cheesecake Factory.

Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Napa Valley, CA
Jun 26, 2011

Doesn't get any better!

The Hyatt was the perfect hotel to stay at, meeting all my expectations. I've never slept in a hotel bed that was exactly like being at home! The staff was the best, friendly, helpful, informative and very gracious. I'd definitely book another stay at the Hyatt on Union Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping on Union Square in San Francisco is definitely world class and very convenient! A quick cab ride gets you to ATT Park to see the World Series SF Giants play baseball. Great downtown location!

Back to menu Return to top

Change search