Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
View map of 345 Stockton St, SAN FRANCISCO, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
197 out of 197
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Waltraud
Business
New York, NY
Nov 19, 2012

Luxurious and affordable

An absolutely wonderful hotel--swanky, friendly and attentive staff, the room was beautiful (with a wonderful view--I was on the 22nd floor), and the RESTAURANT (just reopened after major remodeling) is FABULOUS. I had a breakfast date with a friend one morning but went to the hotel in-house first because the food is divine, then just had coffee with my friend later. My traveling companion had the same response--wonderful, wonderful hotel. I would look for an excuse to come to San Francisco just to stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to the trouble of walking through the nearby tunnel to Chinatown. Great place to shop for gifts for friends and family back home.

Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ed frisco bound
Business
laguna niguel, ca
Sep 20, 2012

weekend getaway

Wonderful. We wanted a fun getaway for our anniversary and that's what we got. Rooms were new and clean. Views were awesome. John the concierge treated us very nice. Location was perfect. Didn't need a car at all. Still doing construction but didn't bother us at all. Everyone was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Always good to make a reservation if possible. It can get very busy on the weekends. Many choices for food, especially around union square. Johns grill was wonderful.

Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bludavis
Business
Montgomery, AL
Sep 10, 2012

Location-Location-Location

Can't beat the location to Union Square, great food and shopping all around and only a few short blocks from BART station. Rooms well appointed and fantastic views of the city and bay from the lounge upstairs. Will definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fourgirls
Business
Springfield
Sep 10, 2012

visiting daughter at med school

Staff were very helpful and professional. Bed was comfortable. Room was clean. they were currently working on lobby renovations- had just finished renovating rooms; however, bathroom fan didn't work. Our room came with free breakfast, which was the breakfast buffet. Food was excellent- several meat options, eggs, fruit, cheese, bread/ pastries, yogurt, oatmeal. Wait staff were excellent- always there to refill your coffee or juice. Location convenient to all shopping stores. we were on the 14th floor- could hear street noise saturday night/ early sun morning- (however, beyond hotels control). i would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use the Muni - don't try to get around with a car- takes longer to drive somewhere than using public transportation.

Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VVShell
Business
San Carlos, CA
Sep 3, 2012

good experience at Grand Hyatt SF

We enjoyed the comfort during our stay at the hotel. The location adjacent to Union Square and Chinatown is perfect for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Good shopping at Chinatown which only takes 10 minutes walk from the Hotel.

Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
runnerat60
Business
Tyler, TX
Aug 17, 2012

Wonderful Stay at Grand Hyatt Union Square

Every single staff member we encountered was very friendly!!! We loved our stay......great location!!! We will definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mimibc
Business
Manteca, ca
Jul 5, 2012

Excellent stay

Great location, proximity to union square is absolutely unbeatable. Fantastic staff, friendly, helpful and generous! The woman at the front desk gave us a room on the 27th floor that overlooked the ocean and city!!! Would stay again most definetly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sgood1
Business
Merced, ca
Jul 4, 2012

Great room AND customer service!!!

we stayed at this hotel for only one night and we got a great package deal which included breakfast for two and free valet parking so our room cost for a King bed with a city view was a great value!!!! Especially since everything in the room was like new, very modern and the bed was VERY comfortable. Everyone who worked there that we had contact with went out of their way to say hello and be helpful!! We will stay here again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ms Teresa
Business
Benton, Arkansas
Jun 7, 2012

Great value, Great location

The Grand Hyatt in San Francisco is in the best location of all San Francisco hotels, and, better yet, is affordable. The cable car is down the street. The bus stops are nearby. Chinatown and great restaurants are easily accessible by walking. The Grandviews Restaurant on the top floor provides a sweeping view of the city. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are very comfortable and quiet. I do not know why anyone would choose a different hotel when visiting San Francisco. The Grand Hyatt rocks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy a Muni Pass. We were in San Francisco for three days and bought a three-day Muni Pass. Even though we broke even with our transportation costs with the pass, it is so convenient just to hop on any public transportation and just flash the card.

Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Biz Traveler33333
Business
Boston, MA
May 13, 2012

Nicely Redone Rooms

I had heard that the rooms were redone very recently. They seemed to be modern, and the beds were comfortable and had many switches for shades and lights right by the bedside. The highlight is the bar/restaurant on the 36th floor. Any guest has access and the views are fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

36th floor bar/restaurant for breakfast or afternoon cocktails. Grab breakfast there in the morning instead of room service.

Back to menu Return to top