$197 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 9, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
View map of 345 Stockton St, SAN FRANCISCO, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
201 out of 201
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Jul 2, 2009

Wonderful Stay

From the iPod charging clock radio to the immaculate 24 hour fitness center and high-tech INTERNET enabled meeting rooms, this was a wonderful lodging experience. The beds were comfortable and had plenty of pillows, the shower was high enough for me to stand under (I'm 6'2") and I could see the Transamerica building from my window. Located in the center of the financial and shopping district and steps from China town the location can't be beat. Hotel staff was efficient and friendly and the food was delicious. Great burgers and fries. The best part is it is only a short $5.35 BART ride from SFO.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the BART from SFO's international terminal to the Powell street stop. The cost is $5.35 and the hotel is a short 5 block walk or cable car trip from there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EDawg
Business
Concord, CA
Jun 28, 2009

Jimukkah 2009 @Grand Hyatt

I booked reservations to this hotel because I was attending a birthday pre-party for a friend mine. The pre-party gathering was actually at one of the suites at the Grand Hyatt. The pre-party has been at one of the suites at the Grand for the past 4 years. The service and staff has always been friendly and helpful. The room and suite are always clean and presentable. I highly recommend staying at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pati M.
Business
Hamburg, New York
Jun 16, 2009

First class accomodations!!!!

Great location on Union Square - short walk to tour buses, shopping, Chinatown......everything. Excellent hotel. Very accomodating staff. Loved our stay. Will definately recommend to everyone traveling to San Francisco......great city!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Petersburg, FL
Jun 5, 2009

great location

Great location for wandering around the city. The hotel is older and the rooms look it. The bed and the shower were great but the rest of the furniture was really old. They need to update the rooms with new furnture and flat screen tv. Carpet was worn out as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Ferry building was a great spot for lunch or breakfast and shopping. A smaller Pike's Market.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento
May 31, 2009

Very nice romantic get-a-way in a great

We went shopping, sightseeing, and dining. You don't need a car and parking is expensive (something missing is low-cost parking). Our hotel was within a block of buses, cable cars, and tour line trips. We took a hop-on hop-off tour and hopped off at Fisherman's wharf for a very nice lunch over looking the fishing boats.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of high quality stores a short walk; our hotel was at Union Square. There are also very good restaurants within walking distance. My first thoughts would be about pricing in stores, restaurants, and for parking as a helpful hint, but the survey says not to mention pricing so go to a search engine. You do not have to be well dressed. I would say more than half the people, men and women, were wearing jeans and almost all the women were wearing pants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minnesota
May 29, 2009

Great view and location. High quality.

Concierge was very helpful in answering our questions about getting places and finding specific locations. The room was beautiful and very comfortable. The view was amazing and the bed very comfortable. No need for a taxi unless you really want one. The hotel is located within a couple blocks of the BART, muni bus system and trolley cars. We were able to get everywhere from the airport to the hotel to 30 miles south of San Francisco all with public transportation for a few dollars. It's easy to get to many attractions including the warf and Golden Gate Park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get a public transport map from the Concierge and travel for just a few dollars a day anywhere in the city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
PA
May 27, 2009

Attractive room, great location

Enjoyed the decor, the city view on the 26th floor and the central location. My extremely minor negatives: no vending machine to get a drink late at night. $10/night for internet seems a little high. Very comfortable room with a pillow I would have been happy to take home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

I's all there. Suggest looking up addresses before you go so you don't miss any stores. Plan to do alot of walking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento
May 25, 2009

Great hotel, great price.

Perfect location, right in Union Square where they have great shopping and restaurants. It is an easy walk to China town and North beach if you take your time. A short cab ride to other city attractions such as the Warf. The staff was friendly, and the room was fairly clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

If you take a stroll through China Town for shopping you end up in North Beach which is known for great restaurants. Our favorite is a place right at the edge of NB called "The Stinkin Rose." It is a garlic restaurant. Be brave and try the garlic ice cream, you will not be sorry.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san francisco
May 25, 2009

wonderful location

wonderful location. Easy to check in and check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, *
Nov 3, 2008

Very dissatisfied

The room was very small. Housekeeping did not provide enough towels and amenities (ie shampoos,toilet paper etc.) Never cleaned the room while we were there. They didn't replace towels etc. Never vacumed the room. VERY Disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top