$197 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
View map of 345 Stockton St, SAN FRANCISCO, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
201 out of 201
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Aug 11, 2009

Best location in this amazing city.

This was my first time traveling alone with just friends without any parents. It was also my first time in the city and I did not really do any research into where I should stay or where I should go. But staying at the Grand Hyatt showed me a lot. It was in Union Square so there was a lot to do and it was walking distance to mostly everything, especially the shopping. Our hotel room was really nice, the beds were really comfortable, and our view from the 28th floor was completely amazing! The fitness center was cute and soo clean. The only downer about the hotel was that there was no swimming pool or hot tub. The employees were very friendly, from the moment we stepped out of the shuttle into the hotel. They were very helpful in telling us where to go, what to do, and where to eat. They also helped us a lot with carrying our luggage and catching us a taxi. We felt very comfortable around the staff at the hotel. I would definitely recommend this hotel and I regret not staying another night at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you don't have a car and don't like walking, then take the bus! The bus fare was only $2 for the whole day. They give you a ticket when you pay and every time you get on the bus you just show your ticket.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RB THE TRAVELER
Business
SAN DIEGO CA
Aug 11, 2009

Great Location! But could use a facelift

THE HOTEL SURVICE WAS GREAT. TO BE HONEST I STAYED AT THE GRAND HYATT IN SAN DIEGO. NOW THATS A 5 STAR HOTEL. BUT OVERALL THE HOTEL WAS GREAT. GREAT STAFF, VERY CLEAN, AND ALL AROUND GOOD. DURING MY STAY I WAS TOLD THERE WAS GOING TO BE A REMODEL HAPPING SOON. MAYBE THEN IT WILL FEEL LIKE A 5 STAR HOTEL. BUT AS FOR NOW ITS A 5 STAR THAT FEELS LIKE A 3 STAR HOTEL.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin,Tx
Aug 10, 2009

Good weekend getaway

I'm not a great fan of the Hyatt chain, but my business meeting was held there and it was an enjoyable weekend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Scottsdale, AZ
Aug 9, 2009

A Good Choice

Great Location! Frendly and attentive service. Great views from the dining room, however the dinner menu was very limited. The dining room ambiance could stand improvement.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Numerous mid-tier dining choices are available within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa FL
Aug 1, 2009

Wonderful location

We received first rate service, upgrade for room, concierge floor privledges and champagne and strawberries for our anniversary. The consierge desk was extremely helpful, gracious and accomodating. We had a wonderful experience and will stay at other Hyatts in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Hyatt is walking distance to China Town, Cablecar, Market, Business district and Embarcadero. It is a perfect location. There are numerous restaurants just a block or two away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
First timer in SF
Business
Tucson, AZ
Jul 23, 2009

Nice place, location

Great location, Most likely would not have taken in the downtown area if we had stayed closer to the Fishermans Wharf. Since the hotel is right downtown, we were able to take in some of the downtown offerings while still able to take a short trolley or cable car down to the wharf. Didn't miss not having a rental car. Small problem with the window on the 30th floor with wind whistling through however a quick call to the front desk sent a facilities worker who fixed it right away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel rstaruant a bit expensive but plenty of places to eat near by especially Cheesecake factory in Macy's and China Town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san juan bautista ca
Jul 22, 2009

romantic weekend

We usually book in advance for better pricing, however, didn't on this trip as we decided at the last minute to get out of town. Luckily, we found the Grand Hyatt, and couldn't be more pleased. The staff was phenominal, even recommending cheaper parking 1/2 block away. Our room was on the 31st floor with a view of coit tower and alcatraz. The king-size bed was perfect and the room was immaculate. The next time we decide to get out of town for the weekend, the Grand Hyatt at Union Square will be our first choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Calgary Ab
Jul 12, 2009

Great Location

Hotel was clean. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Our trip was in celebration of a wedding anniversary and the hotel sent us a chilled bottle of champagne. The best thing about the hotel would be the location. Surounded by shopping, eateries, galleries and public transport outside our door. We enjoyed a wide variety of food and had a great time walking, sight seeing and enjoying the atmosphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

If you are adventurous enough to wander into the Tenderloin District there is a great Indian/Pakistani Restaurant called the Shalimar, just off Van Ness and Polk. Grubby area, not much atmosphere, but great food and great prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling Hawaiians
Business
Aiea, Hawaii
Jul 8, 2009

Always a Nice Hotel to Stay At in SF

The Grand Hyatt staff were helpful and friendly. We are returned visitors to SF and try to stay at the Grand Hyatt whenever we can. The Grand Hyatt usually offers a better travel package (air and hotel) than some of the other hotels around Union Square which is why we also opt to stay there while in SF. If given the choice in the future, we could definitely select the Grand Hyatt Hotel to stay at when in SF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The view from the Grandview Restaurant Lounge is just outstanding on a clear day. Take time to relax at the lounge and take in the view of SF. Try their hamburger sliders up there with french fries as a snack of light meal. It's very delicious.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ABEL KANTUN
Business
san jose, ca
Jul 5, 2009

Great Holiday

the staff gave a room with people inside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top