$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 21, 2014 Check-out: Nov 24, 2014

Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
345 Stockton St, SAN FRANCISCO, CA 94108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
189 reviews
Great location and service

I enjoyed my stay here very much, thanks to the great service and facilities. The location in Union... See full review

  • GChris
  • Aug 2, 2014
Fab Fam Trip

Hotel bed very comfy. We wanted to take the beds with us. Everything was clean. We felt very... See full review

  • Vee Stanford
  • Jun 15, 2014
High-rise elegance only a block from Union Square

Located a block from bustling Union Square, the 36-story Grand Hyatt San Francisco towers over many of the other hotels in the area. Elegance is the theme here, with an opulent lobby and floor-to-ceiling windows in guestrooms upstairs. Some guest rooms even are allergy-free. OneUP Restaurant and Lounge, located on the Mezzanine level of the hotel and overlooking the vibrant and inviting lobby, is an American bistro incorporating classical cooking methods to create unprovincial, artistic and inventive food, sure to delight the palate and stimulate the senses.

Highlights
  • Allergy-free guestrooms
  • Unique dining experience at OneUP restaurant
  • Located one block from Union Square
Rooms

Accommodations -- 660 rooms in all -- have stunning views of the city and bay, and each comes standard with flat-screen televisions, plush Grand beds, spacious work desks and safes. A handful of rooms have been deemed allergy-friendly and undergo a regular ionization process to eliminate allergens completely. Other rooms (those that are part of the Grand Club) include complimentary beverage and snack service daily. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply). Pets welcome (fees apply).

Features

The hotel has received numerous awards, including the AAA Four-Diamond Award. The property also announced in 2009 a wide-sweeping green initiative that includes composting, recycling and advanced energy and resource conservation.

All guests receive complimentary access to cardio and free weight machines in the 24-hour StayFit fitness center. On-property concierge Les Clefs d’Or offers runners and joggers GPS watches and detailed maps of running and walking trails around the city (fees apply). 

Discover a unique dining experience at OneUP Restaurant located on the Mezzanine level.  Chefs combine classical cooking methods and local ingredients to produce daring culinary adventures. OneUP Lounge also offers live music entertainment.

Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (13 mi/21 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • Cable cars (1 block)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
  • BART (4 blocks)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Chinatown
  • North Beach
  • Financial District
  • Embarcadero
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 27,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 36th-floor event space with sweeping views of the entire city

Hotel Map

37.7889 -122.4072
Nearby airports
San Francisco Intl Airport, (SFO), 13.00, MI, N; Oakland Intl Airport, (OAK), 20.00, MI, W; San Jose Intl Airport, (SJC), 45.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square also booked these hotels.

Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square Rooms

Concierge
Keyed-off private access floors. Access to Grand Club Lounge: comp breakfast & hors d'oeuvres. One king or two double beds.
Standard
City View rooms on floors 3-17

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Exercise gym
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
Airline desk
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Doctor on call
Copy service
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
White board
Conference suite
Computer rental
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.2 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 2 mi

Dining

OneUP Restaurant Lounge
Offering the ideal combination of casual luxury and lively atmosphere, OneUP is the perfect destination for locals and city visitors to enjoy American bistro fare that draws from the best of the Bay Area's locally sourced seasonal ingredients.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (189)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
189 out of 189
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jeannedear
Business
Sunnyvale, CA
Sep 7, 2009

Fantiastic View

I made our reservation for the 22nd floor and was surprised when we checked in to find that our room was on the 31st floor with a spectacular view of downtown San Francisco and the bay. The hotel location was perfect for us with plenty of shopping and restaurants near by. We enjoyed our time at the Grand Hyatt very much and would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
amk16
Business
Toronto, Ontario
Sep 7, 2009

Great location, efficient services

Great location. Friendly staff. Helpful services - boarding pass printing, quick check-in and check-out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
México, D. F.
Aug 28, 2009

It's fantastic, only...

Well,all that's okay, only few of your staff no very friendly, especially people attends me on the deskand person of baggage, They doesn't explain how I can access of some af your services, for example: internet, breakfast. Instead of this, everthing that's okay, like people concierge and people that receve me. Thank you for everthing you did for me. Only more thing How much should I pay of tip. 10 %?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

That's okay

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, FL
Aug 25, 2009

Nice Hotel

The hotel has a GREAT LOCATION, close to main attractions (walking distance 2 - 3 Miles) and close to public transportation. The staff was really friendly. The only thing is that it looks old(just appearance - Elevators) but it is clean, nice rooms and comfortable. If you rent a car you have a garage in front of the hotel so you can save the US$49 they charge for valet parking. I will definitely recommend it...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
20 YEARS!!!
Business
Sacramento, Ca
Aug 24, 2009

Mostly Wonderful

We love S.F.! We usually try a different place every time we go and this was no exception. Hotel Staff were polite upon arrival but not overly attentive. No one explained that we needed to insert our card into the elevator to get to our floor and we struggled for at least 10 minutes until another guest informed us! We were supposed to get robes with our reservation and there were none in the room. Room was very small for a semi-suite. Close to lots of dining options and muni. Loved the all of the shopping just outside the door! Concierge were very nice and the appetizers and desserts were YUMMY and plentiful. Breakfast was a nice spread with many options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park in Union Square Lot!!!!! $32 dollars for the night and very close... across the street! Valet appeared to be VERY SLOW! My husband walked to the car and pulled it around long before the people waiting in line even got to the valet desk... PLUS The bellmen (2) even helped put the luggage in the car.... nice touch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Castaic, CA
Aug 23, 2009

Good Location!

Great location. Literally, walked around Union Square and Chinatown. So driving in San Francisco was not much of a problem. Just parked once and explored the surrounding areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Just park once in a nearby parking garage. Then walk around and explore Union Square, Chinatown, and Little Italy. Don't drive to each neighborhood, since it is easier to park once and walk. You don't have to hassle finding a parking spot or driving in difficult streets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Captain Covack
Business
San Francisco, CA
Aug 19, 2009

the grand hyatt is grand

I can't find one thing wrong with the grand hyatt hotel in san francisco. The service was great and the room was nice and clean. I didn't stay there much on my vacation but when I did I had no problems at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston,TX
Aug 13, 2009

3 wonderfull days

I wish windows where clean, so the view would be even better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Aug 11, 2009

Best location in this amazing city.

This was my first time traveling alone with just friends without any parents. It was also my first time in the city and I did not really do any research into where I should stay or where I should go. But staying at the Grand Hyatt showed me a lot. It was in Union Square so there was a lot to do and it was walking distance to mostly everything, especially the shopping. Our hotel room was really nice, the beds were really comfortable, and our view from the 28th floor was completely amazing! The fitness center was cute and soo clean. The only downer about the hotel was that there was no swimming pool or hot tub. The employees were very friendly, from the moment we stepped out of the shuttle into the hotel. They were very helpful in telling us where to go, what to do, and where to eat. They also helped us a lot with carrying our luggage and catching us a taxi. We felt very comfortable around the staff at the hotel. I would definitely recommend this hotel and I regret not staying another night at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you don't have a car and don't like walking, then take the bus! The bus fare was only $2 for the whole day. They give you a ticket when you pay and every time you get on the bus you just show your ticket.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RB THE TRAVELER
Business
SAN DIEGO CA
Aug 11, 2009

Great Location! But could use a facelift

THE HOTEL SURVICE WAS GREAT. TO BE HONEST I STAYED AT THE GRAND HYATT IN SAN DIEGO. NOW THATS A 5 STAR HOTEL. BUT OVERALL THE HOTEL WAS GREAT. GREAT STAFF, VERY CLEAN, AND ALL AROUND GOOD. DURING MY STAY I WAS TOLD THERE WAS GOING TO BE A REMODEL HAPPING SOON. MAYBE THEN IT WILL FEEL LIKE A 5 STAR HOTEL. BUT AS FOR NOW ITS A 5 STAR THAT FEELS LIKE A 3 STAR HOTEL.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top