$186 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 1, 2015 Check-out: Jul 4, 2015

Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
View map of 345 Stockton St, SAN FRANCISCO, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
217 out of 217
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bit
Business
Las Vegas , NV
Dec 28, 2010

Ups And Downs of San Francisco!

I don't think a better choice of hotel or city could have been made. I had a personal problem with my traveling arrangement (not involving the hotel), but "Hyatt Grand" personnel came to the rescue! The cable car being just one block away, provided my "ups and downs".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a 1 or 3 day pass on the city transit line and take a ride to the wharf. You too can experience the exciting "ups and downs" of San Francisco.

Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kbart
Business
Houston, TX
Oct 24, 2010

Location, location, location

The continental breakfast, horsdevores and dessert bar were great. And [...], the evening host was lovely! The location in Union Square was great for all the attractions we wanted to see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Beaufort, SC
Oct 4, 2010

Great hotel

great concierge experience! The location is perfect. Our room had a ceiling to floor wall of glass overlooking Union Square. The bed was great, best hotel/motel bedding we've ever experienced. Will definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great shopping within two blocks, a fabulous mall a block and a half away and a fabulous Macy's (an upscale Macy's) 50 yards away on the other side of Union Square.

Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jeffploveitthere
Business
tulare ca
Sep 27, 2010

great location right in union square

little pricey there was a party going on in the next room till 2am for the money its alright

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

lot of shopping right in union square lot to eat right there

Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mamacita "Smitty"
Business
Long Island, NY
Aug 30, 2010

Grand Hyatt San Francisco

Our corner room was very large, clean, and I had read that the mattresses had been replaced with very comfortable pillow top mattresses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're into shopping all the major department stores and other chains are located near and around Union Square. The cable cars are right there, and the BART (subway) system is also nearby. We did take advantage of the Cable cars down to Fisherman's Warf, ate breakfast in Union Square park, and wish we had time to have dinner in Chinatown agian all close by. Half price ticket booth also located in the square.

Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Carolina
Aug 25, 2010

Central hotel site with great view from

Nice location near union square. One block to cable cars and buses. Cable cars generally full but worth the wait. Try early AM or later evening. Good bus service. All day pass for cable cars and bus available nearby. Hotel staff great especially the concierge folks. Easy walk to embarcadaro. From there take ferry to Sausalito. Or go to Fishermans Wharf and take a ferry to Sausalito, Angel Island, Tiberon, or Alcatraz. Can rent bikes to cross the GG Bridge to Sausalito and then take the ferry back. Not one good place to eat in San Francisco but a thousand. Book a rental car through the concierge and head for Napa Valley or Carmel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Check out the buses for getting around. Get pass if using often otherwise $2 for adults and $.75 for senior citizens. See the sights and enjoy the local folks who ride every day.

Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY
Aug 24, 2010

Fair value

expected king size bed. settled for 2 singles. outside renovations made it difficult to recognize that the building is actually a hotel. u need to do a better job with super shuttle, was taken to hyatt regency instead of grand hyatt; inability to communicate in english a major factor. room was not cleaned and beds were not made in a timely manner

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY
Aug 24, 2010

Fair value

expected king size bed. settled for 2 singles. outside renovations made it difficult to recognize that the building is actually a hotel. u need to do a better job with super shuttle, was taken to hyatt regency instead of grand hyatt; inability to communicate in english a major factor. room was not cleaned and beds were not made in a timely manner

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Aug 21, 2010

Great Location

The location was perfect. It is very central and easy to get to all locations. The rooms were not nicely decorated very plain but clean with beatiful views of the city. I went with my family and it not geared for children. The restaruant was casual not a large selection of food but good service and beatiful city views. We saw Alcaraz, the Golden Gate Bridge Napa Valley The Exploratorium and the Discovery Science Center intersting the kids loved it. We went to Driven.com a race car place for the kids they loved it there also. We saw the Crooked street Coit Tower and City Hall. There is a lot to do so it's nice to have a central location. I liked San Francisco but seeing it once is enough for me.There was a fee for internet service even in common areas and in the business center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The Exploratorium is a very hands on science center . It could keep kids and adults interested for hours.

Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Aug 21, 2010

Great Location

The location was perfect. It is very central and easy to get to all locations. The rooms were not nicely decorated very plain but clean with beatiful views of the city. I went with my family and it not geared for children. The restaruant was casual not a large selection of food but good service and beatiful city views. We saw Alcaraz, the Golden Gate Bridge Napa Valley The Exploratorium and the Discovery Science Center intersting the kids loved it. We went to Driven.com a race car place for the kids they loved it there also. We saw the Crooked street Coit Tower and City Hall. There is a lot to do so it's nice to have a central location. I liked San Francisco but seeing it once is enough for me.There was a fee for internet service even in common areas and in the business center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The Exploratorium is a very hands on science center . It could keep kids and adults interested for hours.

Back to menu Return to top