$220 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 1, 2015 Check-out: Jul 4, 2015

Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
View map of 345 Stockton St, SAN FRANCISCO, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
215 out of 215
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 1, 2011

Location was perfect!

The hotel itself is in a perfect location. It's close to the best brand name shopping in town. We checked in pretty quickly with no issues and were given a room on the 3rd floor (terrible view). However it was a completely remodeled room so it made up for it. We had asked for a baby crib and instead found a roll-away bed (odd). The restaurant on the top floor has amazing views of the entire city. We ate there twice. Our dinner cost about $100 for the two of us (pricey). All in all, the hotel was clean, remodeled, and perfectly located to stroll around with the baby. We'd stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JacyW
Business
Seattle, WA
Apr 18, 2011

Would not stay here again!

Our reservation was for a double room on the Concierge floor which of course we paid extra for. Upon check in they tried to put us in a "regular room" not on the Concierge Floor. I refused immediately. They then put us one floor above the private floor but with access to the Concierge. The room absolutely stunk and was dirty. We changed into our walking shoes went back down to the front desk and had a room change which was better. The next morning I realized I had left my very expensive shoes in our first room. The front desk called around with no luck in finding my shoes. And funny how they had not put anyone into that disgusting room and I'm sure my shoes did not just walk off. I will never stay in this hotel again. I do not recommend this hotel. The staff is rude, the hotel is not that nice and the area is now a bit run down as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Best part of the trip was a wonderful Italian restaurant called North Beach. It has been there 40 years. The food was the best I have ever had and the waiters and staff first class.

Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis
Apr 8, 2011

Nice hotel, big price differences

Very nice room and helpful hotel staff. Beds and pillows were extremely comfortable. It was very noisy at night, yet that is to be expected due to its location. HOWEVER - a co-worker who booked his flight and hotel separately saved a considerable amount of what the hotel charged thru [...].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
LA
Apr 5, 2011

awesome location, beautiful hotel!

Did a quick overnight trip with my friend, needed a great location to get a lot in during our stay, this was it! VERY easy to get there on the BART, short walking distance to chinatown, union square shopping, cable car beginning. Staff was extremely helpful, rooms were recently updated and beautiful, even the hotel bar and restaurant (on the top floor with an amazing view) which I usually don't care for was reasonably priced and yummy! Would for sure go there again, and recommend to anyone. Was great that room had a small fridge, for water and leftovers!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great little place especially for breakfast called Sears Fine Foods, right around the corner! 2 block walk max.

Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle WA
Apr 5, 2011

Nice, clean, great staff

Room was very clean, comfortable king bed on the 4th floor. Staff was wonderful, easy check in, great (but pricey) breakfasts on the top floor restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ARK1707
Business
Weisendorf (Germany)
Apr 3, 2011

Very good locatioon

Great service, perfect location to discover SFO both Chinatown and SF around Union Square

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining at the Cheesecake Factory, get a table in the patio (on top of Macy's on Union Square)

Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle
Mar 28, 2011

High quality service and room.

Excellent hotel with great service and facilities. The bed was quite comfortable and the room was spacious for San Francisco hotel near Union Square. No complaints, will be happy to stay here again, hopefully for a longer time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
boston ma
Mar 21, 2011

consistenly good

great views and very hospitable staff great exercise facility with beautiful views perfect location too, one block from union square

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

union square and convention center

Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bit
Business
Las Vegas , NV
Dec 28, 2010

Ups And Downs of San Francisco!

I don't think a better choice of hotel or city could have been made. I had a personal problem with my traveling arrangement (not involving the hotel), but "Hyatt Grand" personnel came to the rescue! The cable car being just one block away, provided my "ups and downs".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a 1 or 3 day pass on the city transit line and take a ride to the wharf. You too can experience the exciting "ups and downs" of San Francisco.

Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kbart
Business
Houston, TX
Oct 24, 2010

Location, location, location

The continental breakfast, horsdevores and dessert bar were great. And [...], the evening host was lovely! The location in Union Square was great for all the attractions we wanted to see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top