$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
345 Stockton St, SAN FRANCISCO, CA 94108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
187 reviews
Great location and service

I enjoyed my stay here very much, thanks to the great service and facilities. The location in Union... See full review

  • GChris
  • Aug 2, 2014
Fab Fam Trip

Hotel bed very comfy. We wanted to take the beds with us. Everything was clean. We felt very... See full review

  • Vee Stanford
  • Jun 15, 2014
High-rise elegance only a block from Union Square

Located a block from bustling Union Square, the 36-story Grand Hyatt San Francisco towers over many of the other hotels in the area. Elegance is the theme here, with an opulent lobby and floor-to-ceiling windows in guestrooms upstairs. Some guest rooms even are allergy-free. OneUP Restaurant and Lounge, located on the Mezzanine level of the hotel and overlooking the vibrant and inviting lobby, is an American bistro incorporating classical cooking methods to create unprovincial, artistic and inventive food, sure to delight the palate and stimulate the senses.

Highlights
  • Allergy-free guestrooms
  • Unique dining experience at OneUP restaurant
  • Located one block from Union Square
Rooms

Accommodations -- 660 rooms in all -- have stunning views of the city and bay, and each comes standard with flat-screen televisions, plush Grand beds, spacious work desks and safes. A handful of rooms have been deemed allergy-friendly and undergo a regular ionization process to eliminate allergens completely. Other rooms (those that are part of the Grand Club) include complimentary beverage and snack service daily. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply). Pets welcome (fees apply).

Features

The hotel has received numerous awards, including the AAA Four-Diamond Award. The property also announced in 2009 a wide-sweeping green initiative that includes composting, recycling and advanced energy and resource conservation.

All guests receive complimentary access to cardio and free weight machines in the 24-hour StayFit fitness center. On-property concierge Les Clefs d’Or offers runners and joggers GPS watches and detailed maps of running and walking trails around the city (fees apply). 

Discover a unique dining experience at OneUP Restaurant located on the Mezzanine level.  Chefs combine classical cooking methods and local ingredients to produce daring culinary adventures. OneUP Lounge also offers live music entertainment.

Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (13 mi/21 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • Cable cars (1 block)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
  • BART (4 blocks)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Chinatown
  • North Beach
  • Financial District
  • Embarcadero
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 27,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 36th-floor event space with sweeping views of the entire city

Hotel Map

37.7889 -122.4072
Nearby airports
San Francisco Intl Airport, (SFO), 13.00, MI, N; Oakland Intl Airport, (OAK), 20.00, MI, W; San Jose Intl Airport, (SJC), 45.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square also booked these hotels.

Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square Rooms

Concierge
Keyed-off private access floors. Access to Grand Club Lounge: comp breakfast & hors d'oeuvres. One king or two double beds.
Standard
City View rooms on floors 3-17

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Exercise gym
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
Airline desk
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Doctor on call
Copy service
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
White board
Conference suite
Computer rental
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.2 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2 mi

Dining

OneUP Restaurant Lounge
Offering the ideal combination of casual luxury and lively atmosphere, OneUP is the perfect destination for locals and city visitors to enjoy American bistro fare that draws from the best of the Bay Area's locally sourced seasonal ingredients.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (187)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
187 out of 187
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Waltraud
Business
New York, NY
Nov 19, 2012

Luxurious and affordable

An absolutely wonderful hotel--swanky, friendly and attentive staff, the room was beautiful (with a wonderful view--I was on the 22nd floor), and the RESTAURANT (just reopened after major remodeling) is FABULOUS. I had a breakfast date with a friend one morning but went to the hotel in-house first because the food is divine, then just had coffee with my friend later. My traveling companion had the same response--wonderful, wonderful hotel. I would look for an excuse to come to San Francisco just to stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to the trouble of walking through the nearby tunnel to Chinatown. Great place to shop for gifts for friends and family back home.

Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GChris
Bakersfield, California
Aug 2, 2014

Great location and service

I enjoyed my stay here very much, thanks to the great service and facilities. The location in Union Square is unbeatable, and the room was pristine and tastefully decorated. This hotel is great for business and leisure travel alike, and suitable for both single and group/family travel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Finding parking on your own in this part of the city can be a nightmare; if you have funds to spare, valet service would be a great idea. The valet staff is very friendly and timely.

Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Princess817
Dallas, tx
Jul 20, 2014

Good times!

This hotel is conveniently located to union square and tons of shopping. Easy walk to china town and little Italy. All of the staff was very friendly and accommodating. Check in was easy and my room was even available earlier than stated check in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Every store you could possibly imagine just around the hotel!

Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cherry from Texas
Lubbock, Tx
Jul 9, 2014

Perfect Location

Hotel staff was awesome, so friendly. Our room was clean and spacious. Absolutely Loved San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Central location to everything

Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vee Stanford
Orlando, FL
Jun 15, 2014

Fab Fam Trip

Hotel bed very comfy. We wanted to take the beds with us. Everything was clean. We felt very welcome. Since we did not come with our luggages, they provided us with necessary toiletries. We really appreciate their hospitality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Walking Tour of SF vicinity.

Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
David Yankees
McLean, va
May 26, 2014

Great centrally located hotel

Very nice hotel and even when we checked out watched our bags while sightseeing. Great location by muni, Bart, etc stops. No complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Golden coffee shop for breakfast instead of the touristy places in union square

Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nursep2006
Miami,FL
Apr 6, 2014

San Fran experience

This hotel's beauty is only trumped by the grandeur of Union Square. The hotel staff was very friendly. The views of the city are breathtaking

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't eat in China town!

Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kitkat2280
Woodland hills, California
Mar 27, 2014

Great stay!

The location in union square was close to everything. The room was clean and overall great value for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Boulevardier
Business
New York City
Jan 29, 2014

Good value...

The hotel is located right around the corner from Union Square, so it is an easy walk to all the great stores and eating venues in the area. The reception / check-in personnel is very attentive. I had an issue with the bathtub being clogged up. I called the front desk and they had somebody fix the problem within 10 minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jrexy
Davis, CA
Dec 26, 2013

Christmas

Stayed here for a few days right before Christmas. Everything was clean but the rooms were a bit out of date.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Desi Travels the World
Silicon Valley
Nov 25, 2013

Review parking charges

Perfect location, and great stay as always. We stay here every year for a Union Square shopping trip. This year we booked the deal including valet parking. I pointed this out during check-in. Morning of checkout, noticed a $62 parking charge on the room invoice. They quickly cleared this at the front desk, though they did ask to see my confirmation email on my phone. You'd think 0rbitz & the hotel would have better integration.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search