$192 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2014 Check-out: Jul 21, 2014

Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
345 Stockton St, SAN FRANCISCO, CA 94108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
310 reviews
Fab Fam Trip

Hotel bed very comfy. We wanted to take the beds with us. Everything was clean. We felt very... See full review

  • Vee Stanford
  • Jun 15, 2014
Great stay!

The location in union square was close to everything. The room was clean and overall great value... See full review

  • Kitkat2280
  • Mar 27, 2014
High-rise elegance only a block from Union Square

Located a block from bustling Union Square, the 36-story Grand Hyatt San Francisco towers over many of the other hotels in the area. Elegance is the theme here, with an opulent lobby and floor-to-ceiling windows in guestrooms upstairs. Some guest rooms even are allergy-free. OneUP Restaurant and Lounge, located on the Mezzanine level of the hotel and overlooking the vibrant and inviting lobby, is an American bistro incorporating classical cooking methods to create unprovincial, artistic and inventive food, sure to delight the palate and stimulate the senses.

Highlights
  • Allergy-free guestrooms
  • Unique dining experience at OneUP restaurant
  • Located one block from Union Square
Rooms

Accommodations -- 660 rooms in all -- have stunning views of the city and bay, and each comes standard with flat-screen televisions, plush Grand beds, spacious work desks and safes. A handful of rooms have been deemed allergy-friendly and undergo a regular ionization process to eliminate allergens completely. Other rooms (those that are part of the Grand Club) include complimentary beverage and snack service daily. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply). Pets welcome (fees apply).

Features

The hotel has received numerous awards, including the AAA Four-Diamond Award. The property also announced in 2009 a wide-sweeping green initiative that includes composting, recycling and advanced energy and resource conservation.

All guests receive complimentary access to cardio and free weight machines in the 24-hour StayFit fitness center. On-property concierge Les Clefs d’Or offers runners and joggers GPS watches and detailed maps of running and walking trails around the city (fees apply). 

Discover a unique dining experience at OneUP Restaurant located on the Mezzanine level.  Chefs combine classical cooking methods and local ingredients to produce daring culinary adventures. OneUP Lounge also offers live music entertainment.

Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (13 mi/21 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • Cable cars (1 block)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
  • BART (4 blocks)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Chinatown
  • North Beach
  • Financial District
  • Embarcadero
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 27,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 36th-floor event space with sweeping views of the entire city

Hotel Map

37.7889 -122.4072
Nearby airports
San Francisco Intl Airport, (SFO), 13.00, MI, N; Oakland Intl Airport, (OAK), 20.00, MI, W; San Jose Intl Airport, (SJC), 45.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square Rooms

Concierge
Keyed-off private access floors. Access to Grand Club Lounge: comp breakfast & hors d'oeuvres. One king or two double beds.
Standard
City View rooms on floors 3-17

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Exercise gym
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
Airline desk
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Doctor on call
Copy service
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
White board
Conference suite
Computer rental
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.2 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2 mi

Dining

OneUP Restaurant Lounge
Offering the ideal combination of casual luxury and lively atmosphere, OneUP is the perfect destination for locals and city visitors to enjoy American bistro fare that draws from the best of the Bay Area's locally sourced seasonal ingredients.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (310)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
310 out of 310
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sherri Chitown
Chicago
Jul 20, 2011

Trip to San Francisco!

We arrived on Friday morning around 10am. Are room was on the 17th floor, and the accomodations were great. The room included a safe that really made me happy. The bed was so comfortable and the pillows too, I slept like a log. The conceige staff John & Joanna were wonderful! They both were very informative and really helped us plan our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Apple store just within walking distance from the hotel, and around the corner a great resturant called Sears, the food was superb breakfast and dinner!

Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
West Palm Beach, fl
Oct 5, 2009

wonderful place

the staff and hotel was wonderful, would highly recommend. A special thank you to [...] for their extra special touch, making our stay so enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

china town is right around the corner

Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
maliachs
Mtn House, Ca
Nov 7, 2013

Great location

Our city view room was amazing clean comfortable and our whole experience was perfect! Must get a city/union sq view! Perfect location, close to shopping, food, night life can walk everywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Newark, NJ
Apr 17, 2008

Easy Access

The hotel made it very easy to get to anywhere in SF. A walk to Chinatown, a cable car to the warfh, a walk or quick cab to noerth beach and little Italy and easy access to the highway for Napa and Sonoma Counties.A little disappointed in the rate for computer access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Little Italy.

Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orange County, CA
Jul 22, 2007

Customer Service oriented

The Grand Hyatt Hotel was very comfortable. My children especially liked the I-pod radio hookup! The location was excellent , close to all we wanted to do in San Francisco especially ChinaTown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 9, 2007

Great Location

The room was very comfortable with a very nice shower, but the one big advantage of the Grand Hyatt is it's location. I would absolutely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

All of the name stores were within walking distance. Also, a number of cafes were close.

Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wichita, KS
Aug 6, 2007

Good Location

The Grand Hyatt has a great central location for the San Francisco tourist or business traveler. Staff was outstanding across the board. Our room had no ventilation but in San Francisco none is typically needed. All else first rate, especially the staff. Lots of shopping in the immediate Union Square neighborhood, Chinatown is just a few blocks away, Fisherman's Wharf a walkable distance. Close to public transportation including famous Cable Cars and the retro F Train. Cabs everywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minnesota
May 29, 2009

Great view and location. High quality.

Concierge was very helpful in answering our questions about getting places and finding specific locations. The room was beautiful and very comfortable. The view was amazing and the bed very comfortable. No need for a taxi unless you really want one. The hotel is located within a couple blocks of the BART, muni bus system and trolley cars. We were able to get everywhere from the airport to the hotel to 30 miles south of San Francisco all with public transportation for a few dollars. It's easy to get to many attractions including the warf and Golden Gate Park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get a public transport map from the Concierge and travel for just a few dollars a day anywhere in the city.

Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ri and J the fun traveler
Long beach ca
May 31, 2013

mini vacation

We loved it and had a great experience! It was our first time at this hotel, but have been to others in Union Square and find it to be very special and I highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Happy Valley, OR
Nov 2, 2008

Great San Francisco Weekend

We arrived earlier in the day than we expected. I called the hotel to ask if we could store our luggage until the 3pm check-in time. Instead, they said we could just check in early! That really made for a great day in San Francisco knowing that we already had established our base. The Hotel staff was helpful and professional. We resisted the $4.00 Snickers Bar in the mini-bar - but I wonder if we missed an opportunity to taste something special? Best location and great price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top