$259 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 25, 2014 Check-out: Sep 26, 2014

Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
345 Stockton St, SAN FRANCISCO, CA 94108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
188 reviews
Great location and service

I enjoyed my stay here very much, thanks to the great service and facilities. The location in Union... See full review

  • GChris
  • Aug 2, 2014
Fab Fam Trip

Hotel bed very comfy. We wanted to take the beds with us. Everything was clean. We felt very... See full review

  • Vee Stanford
  • Jun 15, 2014
High-rise elegance only a block from Union Square

Located a block from bustling Union Square, the 36-story Grand Hyatt San Francisco towers over many of the other hotels in the area. Elegance is the theme here, with an opulent lobby and floor-to-ceiling windows in guestrooms upstairs. Some guest rooms even are allergy-free. OneUP Restaurant and Lounge, located on the Mezzanine level of the hotel and overlooking the vibrant and inviting lobby, is an American bistro incorporating classical cooking methods to create unprovincial, artistic and inventive food, sure to delight the palate and stimulate the senses.

Highlights
  • Allergy-free guestrooms
  • Unique dining experience at OneUP restaurant
  • Located one block from Union Square
Rooms

Accommodations -- 660 rooms in all -- have stunning views of the city and bay, and each comes standard with flat-screen televisions, plush Grand beds, spacious work desks and safes. A handful of rooms have been deemed allergy-friendly and undergo a regular ionization process to eliminate allergens completely. Other rooms (those that are part of the Grand Club) include complimentary beverage and snack service daily. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply). Pets welcome (fees apply).

Features

The hotel has received numerous awards, including the AAA Four-Diamond Award. The property also announced in 2009 a wide-sweeping green initiative that includes composting, recycling and advanced energy and resource conservation.

All guests receive complimentary access to cardio and free weight machines in the 24-hour StayFit fitness center. On-property concierge Les Clefs d’Or offers runners and joggers GPS watches and detailed maps of running and walking trails around the city (fees apply). 

Discover a unique dining experience at OneUP Restaurant located on the Mezzanine level.  Chefs combine classical cooking methods and local ingredients to produce daring culinary adventures. OneUP Lounge also offers live music entertainment.

Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (13 mi/21 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • Cable cars (1 block)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
  • BART (4 blocks)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Chinatown
  • North Beach
  • Financial District
  • Embarcadero
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 27,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 36th-floor event space with sweeping views of the entire city

Hotel Map

37.7889 -122.4072
Nearby airports
San Francisco Intl Airport, (SFO), 13.00, MI, N; Oakland Intl Airport, (OAK), 20.00, MI, W; San Jose Intl Airport, (SJC), 45.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square also booked these hotels.

Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square Rooms

Concierge
Keyed-off private access floors. Access to Grand Club Lounge: comp breakfast & hors d'oeuvres. One king or two double beds.
Standard
City View rooms on floors 3-17

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Exercise gym
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
Airline desk
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Doctor on call
Copy service
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
White board
Conference suite
Computer rental
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.2 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2 mi

Dining

OneUP Restaurant Lounge
Offering the ideal combination of casual luxury and lively atmosphere, OneUP is the perfect destination for locals and city visitors to enjoy American bistro fare that draws from the best of the Bay Area's locally sourced seasonal ingredients.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (188)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
188 out of 188
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
missoula
May 14, 2011

Great location and service

easy access to restaurants, sites, shopping

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
May 1, 2011

Location was perfect!

The hotel itself is in a perfect location. It's close to the best brand name shopping in town. We checked in pretty quickly with no issues and were given a room on the 3rd floor (terrible view). However it was a completely remodeled room so it made up for it. We had asked for a baby crib and instead found a roll-away bed (odd). The restaurant on the top floor has amazing views of the entire city. We ate there twice. Our dinner cost about $100 for the two of us (pricey). All in all, the hotel was clean, remodeled, and perfectly located to stroll around with the baby. We'd stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JacyW
Seattle, WA
Apr 18, 2011

Would not stay here again!

Our reservation was for a double room on the Concierge floor which of course we paid extra for. Upon check in they tried to put us in a "regular room" not on the Concierge Floor. I refused immediately. They then put us one floor above the private floor but with access to the Concierge. The room absolutely stunk and was dirty. We changed into our walking shoes went back down to the front desk and had a room change which was better. The next morning I realized I had left my very expensive shoes in our first room. The front desk called around with no luck in finding my shoes. And funny how they had not put anyone into that disgusting room and I'm sure my shoes did not just walk off. I will never stay in this hotel again. I do not recommend this hotel. The staff is rude, the hotel is not that nice and the area is now a bit run down as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Best part of the trip was a wonderful Italian restaurant called North Beach. It has been there 40 years. The food was the best I have ever had and the waiters and staff first class.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis
Apr 8, 2011

Nice hotel, big price differences

Very nice room and helpful hotel staff. Beds and pillows were extremely comfortable. It was very noisy at night, yet that is to be expected due to its location. HOWEVER - a co-worker who booked his flight and hotel separately saved a considerable amount of what the hotel charged thru [...].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
LA
Apr 5, 2011

awesome location, beautiful hotel!

Did a quick overnight trip with my friend, needed a great location to get a lot in during our stay, this was it! VERY easy to get there on the BART, short walking distance to chinatown, union square shopping, cable car beginning. Staff was extremely helpful, rooms were recently updated and beautiful, even the hotel bar and restaurant (on the top floor with an amazing view) which I usually don't care for was reasonably priced and yummy! Would for sure go there again, and recommend to anyone. Was great that room had a small fridge, for water and leftovers!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great little place especially for breakfast called Sears Fine Foods, right around the corner! 2 block walk max.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle WA
Apr 5, 2011

Nice, clean, great staff

Room was very clean, comfortable king bed on the 4th floor. Staff was wonderful, easy check in, great (but pricey) breakfasts on the top floor restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ARK1707
Weisendorf (Germany)
Apr 3, 2011

Very good locatioon

Great service, perfect location to discover SFO both Chinatown and SF around Union Square

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining at the Cheesecake Factory, get a table in the patio (on top of Macy's on Union Square)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle
Mar 28, 2011

High quality service and room.

Excellent hotel with great service and facilities. The bed was quite comfortable and the room was spacious for San Francisco hotel near Union Square. No complaints, will be happy to stay here again, hopefully for a longer time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
boston ma
Mar 21, 2011

consistenly good

great views and very hospitable staff great exercise facility with beautiful views perfect location too, one block from union square

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

union square and convention center

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bit
Las Vegas , NV
Dec 28, 2010

Ups And Downs of San Francisco!

I don't think a better choice of hotel or city could have been made. I had a personal problem with my traveling arrangement (not involving the hotel), but "Hyatt Grand" personnel came to the rescue! The cable car being just one block away, provided my "ups and downs".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a 1 or 3 day pass on the city transit line and take a ride to the wharf. You too can experience the exciting "ups and downs" of San Francisco.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search