$203 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 8, 2015 Check-out: Aug 9, 2015

Galleria Park Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

3 stars
View map of 191 Sutter St., San Francisco, CA 94104

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
134 reviews
Terrific

From the surprisingly spacious 2nd floor room to Simone's sparkling customer service, this place... See full review

  • Douglas R.
  • May 15, 2015
Hidden gem

The Galleria was more than we expected! The staff was extremely friendly and the facility is... See full review

  • Rossana R.
  • Apr 29, 2015
  • Chinatown
  • Financial District
  • Union Square
  • Embarcadero
  • AT&T Park
General

The hotel has received numerous awards, including the AAA Three Diamond Award. It also has received certification from the San Francisco Green Business program for eco-friendly initiatives surrounding water and energy conservation.

Because the property is part of the Joie de Vivre chain, it also participates in a number of philanthropic efforts. Specifically, the property donates a minimum of $200 per guest to the Asian Women's Resource Center, a non-profit that addresses the needs of local women and children in a state of transition out of homelessness.

All guests have access to a local fitness center with state-of-the-art Cybex and PreCor machines (fees apply). Guests also can enjoy a complimentary evening wine hour and a private urban park on the third floor of the hotel.

Midi, the swanky brasserie on-site, serves three meals a day and features sustainably farmed produce from around the Bay Area.

Location

This Union Square boutique hotel dates back to 1911. The renovation in 2013 celebrates its rich heritage and enhances its stylish appeal to today's discerning traveler.  Galleria Park Hotel exudes a timeless yet vibrant style, combining its original Art Deco and Art Nouveau design with contemporary elements and services for an unforgettable stay. Modern conveniences include a rooftop garden with a walking path, complimentary wine hour and daily morning coffee and tea service. The property is adjacent to the Crocker Galleria Mall and is within walking distance of Chinatown, Union Square and the Financial District. 

Dining
  • San Francisco International Airport (30 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (10 minutes walking)
  • BART (5 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Rooms

Accommodations -- 162 rooms and 15 suites of varying size -- come standard with flat-screen televisions, Frette linens, MP3 docking stations and fully stocked honor bars. The biggest suite, The Grand Suite, has a wood-burning fireplace. Guests can select rooms with city or courtyard views. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access is available throughout the property, and pets are welcome.

Property features

Renovated historic boutique hotel near Chinatown, Union Square

Highlights
  • Taste local wines at complimentary wine hour
  • Complimentary daily morning coffee and tea service
  • Green-certified hotel using all-natural cleaning products
  • Quiet hour: 11:00 pm
Nearby attractions
  • Valet parking is $42 USD for a regular-sized vehicle and $52 USD for oversized vehicles (SUV and larger).
  • Guests must be 21 years old to check-in.
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 2,000 square feet of meeting space accommodates up to 1,000 guests
  • Rooftop garden available for private events
  • Full-time conference manager on-site
Transportation
  • Taste local wines at complimentary wine hour
  • Complimentary daily morning coffee and tea service
  • Green-certified hotel using all-natural cleaning products
  • Quiet hour: 11:00 pm
Policies
  • Valet parking is $42 USD for a regular-sized vehicle and $52 USD for oversized vehicles (SUV and larger).
  • Guests must be 21 years old to check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Galleria Park Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Galleria Park Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Queen
Approx. 225 sq. ft, these queen sized rooms are located both on the courtyard and on the street side of the building, offering a choice of a quieter versus a brighter room. The room is complete with walls in cool teal colors, room accents in eggplant and lime hues, and new maple furniture. Each room has a fully stocked Honor bar and mini refrigerator. Amenities include complimentary T1 and wireless internet access, flat screen television with On-Demand movies and Nintendo Game System, MP3 player clock radio, new air conditioning units, iron/ironing boards, full length mirror and hair dryers. Further amenities the business travelers will enjoy include a working desk, with in-desk electrical outlet, ergonomic chair, leather blotter, a 2-line cordless phone with voice mail and business honor bar with complimentary paperclips, post-its, binder clips, note cards and a few items for purchase, should anything imperative to the next day's business have been left behind
Deluxe King
Approx. 225 sq. ft these king rooms are located both on the courtyard and on the street side of the building, offering a choice of a quieter versus a brighter room. The room is complete with walls in cool teal colors, room accents in eggplant and lime hues, and new maple furniture. Each room has a fully stocked Honor bar and mini refrigerator. Amenities include complimentary T1 and wireless internet access, flat screen television with On-Demand movies and Nintendo Game System, MP3 player clock radio, new air conditioning units, iron/ironing boards, full length mirror and hair dryers. Further amenities the business travelers will enjoy include a working desk, with in-desk electrical outlet, ergonomic chair, leather blotter, a 2-line cordless phone with voice mail and business honor bar with complimentary paperclips, post-its, binder clips, note cards and a few items for purchase, should anything imperative to the next day's business have been left behind
Deluxe Double/Double
Approx. 225 sq. ft room with 2 Full size double beds. All DBDB rooms face the street, (No interior DBDB available) and have recently been renovated. The room is complete with walls in cool teal colors, room accents in eggplant and lime hues, and new maple furniture. Each room has a fully stocked Honor bar and mini refrigerator. Amenities include complimentary T1 and wireless internet access, flat screen television with On-Demand movies and Nintendo Game System, MP3 player clock radio, new air conditioning units, iron/ironing boards, full length mirror and hair dryers. Further amenities the business travelers will enjoy include a working desk, with in-desk electrical outlet, ergonomic chair, leather blotter, a 2-line cordless phone with voice mail and business honor bar with complimentary paperclips, post-its, binder clips, note cards and a few items for purchase, should anything imperative to the next day's business have been left behind.

Amenities

General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center

Nearby points of interest

  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.3 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.4 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.7 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.3 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.4 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.9 mi
  • ATT Park: 0.9 mi
  • SoMa: 0.9 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.2 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.3 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.3 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Japantown: 1.4 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.5 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2.1 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2.1 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 2.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Three meeting rooms accommodate up to 100 people for meetings and receptions. A full-time Conference Manager will coordinate all arrangements. Complimentary T1 and wireless Internet connection. Complete catering and audio-visual equipment is available for a variety of functions. All rooms have natural light and opening windows.

Dining

Midi
Open Spring 2009 Midi is a unique brasserie serving everyone from power-suits to power-shoppers. The stylish, French-inspired dcor complements the adjacent Galleria Park Hotel, and sets a hip, engaging, fashionable atmosphere for conducting business and pleasure alike. Midi is a modern California brasserie located "mid district" at the busy crossroads of San Francisco's Union Square shopping and Financial Districts in the stylish and welcoming Galleria Park Hotel. The brasserie offers the traditional formula of three meals a day, not to mention a full bar. The two level space features a bar, open kitchen, and casual dining space on the first floor, and a main formal dining room on the second, featuring banquettes, and tables. The warm and chic dcor fuses the classic architectural elements of the building with a playful, fresh French vibe.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Galleria Park Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 134
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Galleria Park Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yvette
Business
N/A
Mar 4, 2015

Good place to stay.

The room was clean and quiet. The staffs were nice. I like the decorations of the lobby. I had a good time here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Galleria Park Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ehope
Business
N/A
Jan 6, 2015

Great trip

The hotel was very nice. Loved the decor. Only issue was that they were upgrading and fixing things two of the days we were there resulting in our room not being cleaned on those days. Not a big issue, however. The location was fantastic. Loved the intimate setting. Very nice stay and would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Close to just about everything...Union Square, Fidi, Ferry Building, Soma, North Beach, Chinatown...

Review of Galleria Park Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GirlTraveler95
Business
San Jose, CA
Nov 10, 2014

Great weekend getaway

This is a great reasonably priced hotel for anyone who is coming to SF for the first time or for locals needing a weekend getaway. The hotel staff were immensely helpful during my stay and made me feel welcome. My only gripe is the cost of parking. It really makes the cost of the hotel much higher if you do bring a car into downtown SF and use their valet service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Galleria Park Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ECM from AZ
Business
Dayton, OH
Feb 28, 2014

Love this hotel!

My friends and I stayed here for a few days at the end of December for New Years and we couldn't have been happier. The rooms are beautifully decorated. They are small (like every hotel room in SF) but they make the most use of the space. We didn't feel cramped at all. The staff was very friendly, and the best part was the location. The hotel is within walking distance of Chinatown and Union Center, and just a short cab or cable car ride to the piers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Galleria Park Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Birthday Girl1983
Business
San Jose, CA
Dec 12, 2013

Good deal!

Good location and very clean hotel! Pet friendly and free wine in the evening for an hour. Be ready to pay $42 for parking though. Otherwise great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Near Ruby Skye and plenty of bars around

Review of Galleria Park Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nike Women's finisher
Business
Mountain View CA
Oct 22, 2013

Good Union Square location

The staff was extremely polite, friendly and accommodating. Design of the building is reminiscent of hotels in Europe. The room itself was a bit small but clean and the bed was very comfortable. The stay was very enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Union square shopping is just around the corner. Le Boulange, a bakery down the street has delicious food and the best macaroons. Don't miss it!

Review of Galleria Park Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
honolulu, HI
Sep 1, 2010

Galleria Park? yes please

I pretty much just used the hotel as a place to sleep since I was out everyday doing things. it's a really nice, clean place with a friendly, helpful staff. i have no complaints at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Galleria Park Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buffalo, NY
Jan 23, 2010

Amazing Hotel!

I absolutely loved this hotel. When we booked we saw that every review we read stated it was clean and in a great location. Those were both correct! It is located in the business district and is only a few blocks from Union Square! And there are plenty of places to eat around the hotel. There is also a great restaurant and bar located right in the hotel. Another fact about the hotel that got somewhat bad reviews was the size of the room. I was in a room with two queen beds and there were three 23 year old girls. We came with a lot of luggage and there was still plenty of room! I didn't think the rooms were small at all. Also, the ceilings were very high which gave the room a lot more space. You didn't feel cramped at all. And the cleanliness was excellent. The staff even helped us set up a tour of the Muir Woods/Saulsilito/Alcatraz! The tour picked us up right outside the hotel. I have absolutely nothing bad to say about the Galleria Park Hotel. The staff were so funny and a nice group of people. For what you are paying you could not ask for anything more. I would definitely stay at this hotel again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Galleria Park Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
49er Faithfull
Business
Nashville, TN
Nov 21, 2009

Excellent location!

I arrived Thur Nov 5 for 5 nights for the Titans/49ers game. First time ever in San FranciscoTook Go Lorrie's Shuttle from the Airport. You can take the BART, but I didn't know how or how far the stop is from the hotel w/luggage. I was alone for couple days and felt safe walking around at night - within reason. Yes, there are homeless ppl, but all major metro cites have homeless ppl - you are lucky if you are shocked by homeless ppl.The hotel met my expectations - clean and comfortable. Room 608 was facing the street - but not too loud and I didn't have any problem w/cellphone signal (Verizon). The room looks exactly like the pic on the website! Yes, the rooms are a little small, but that is to be expected in an old hotel. 1 of 2 elevators was out for couple days, but not a big deal - The housekeeping was adequate, but a little stingy w/the towels, I had to call and ask for extras. I did not have a flat screen TV and the A/C was hard to adjust - these are little things that didn't ruin my trip. The evening wine reception was AWESOME and nice to chat w/staff and other guests.I didn't eat in the Midi restaurant - a little froufrou for my taste, but there is plenty within walking distance! I had a nice steak dinner at Bob's Steak & Chop House in the Omni (ask for [...], great server who drew me a map to his favorite spots) There is a Walgreen's across the street for snacks, Pomodoro Pizza around the corner, Murphy's Bar across the street, Union Square and Chinatown are both within walking distance (and I'm lazy!)I took F Streetcar to Fisherman's Wharf, Alcatraz, and Ferry Building - I thought it was fun to find my way around the big city!DO NOT MISS the Farmer's Market if you are there Tue, Thur or Sat - it was the most amazing thing - the fresh fruits/vegetables/local vibe and food vendors on the waterfront - I didn't feel like a tourist. Recommend the RoliRoti - Gourmet Rotisserie Chicken - the line is really long, but you can go to the front if you're just getting a lunch plate!Feel free to email me if you have any questions - I had a great trip and thought Galleria Park was a pretty good value for the money and recommend it to others!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Galleria Park Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Bend, IN
Nov 10, 2009

Excellent Service

Excellent stay. Very central to everywhere I was heading so I could walk and didn't have to take expensive cabs. Staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top