$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 2, 2015 Check-out: Jan 3, 2015

Galleria Park Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

3 stars
191 Sutter St., San Francisco, CA 94104
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
123 reviews
perfect Thanksgiving vacation!

Visiting family in San Francisco was made so incredibly easy by staying at The Galleria Park.... See full review

  • Tinabobina11
  • Dec 1, 2014
Great hotel, location, and staff

We've stayed here twice and it was great both times. The rooms are small which is normal for San... See full review

  • superlagirl
  • Oct 9, 2014
Boutique hotel mixes history with modern convenience near Chinatown

This Union Square boutique hotel dates back to 1911. The renovation in 2013 celebrates its rich heritage and enhances its stylish appeal to today's discerning traveler.  Galleria Park Hotel exudes a timeless yet vibrant style, combining its original Art Deco and Art Nouveau design with contemporary elements and services for an unforgettable stay. Modern conveniences include a rooftop garden with a walking path, complimentary wine hour and daily morning coffee and tea service. The property is adjacent to the Crocker Galleria Mall and is within walking distance of Chinatown, Union Square and the Financial District. 

Highlights
  • Taste local wines at complimentary wine hour
  • Complimentary daily morning coffee and tea service
  • Green-certified hotel using all-natural cleaning products
  • Quiet hour: 11:00 pm
Rooms

Accommodations -- 162 rooms and 15 suites of varying size -- come standard with flat-screen televisions, Frette linens, MP3 docking stations and fully stocked honor bars. The biggest suite, The Grand Suite, has a wood-burning fireplace. Guests can select rooms with city or courtyard views. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access is available throughout the property, and pets are welcome.

Features

The hotel has received numerous awards, including the AAA Three Diamond Award. It also has received certification from the San Francisco Green Business program for eco-friendly initiatives surrounding water and energy conservation.

Because the property is part of the Joie de Vivre chain, it also participates in a number of philanthropic efforts. Specifically, the property donates a minimum of $200 per guest to the Asian Women's Resource Center, a non-profit that addresses the needs of local women and children in a state of transition out of homelessness.

All guests have access to a local fitness center with state-of-the-art Cybex and PreCor machines (fees apply). Guests also can enjoy a complimentary evening wine hour and a private urban park on the third floor of the hotel.

Midi, the swanky brasserie on-site, serves three meals a day and features sustainably farmed produce from around the Bay Area.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (30 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (10 minutes walking)
  • BART (5 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Chinatown
  • Financial District
  • Union Square
  • Embarcadero
  • AT&T Park
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 2,000 square feet of meeting space accommodates up to 1,000 guests
  • Rooftop garden available for private events
  • Full-time conference manager on-site
Policies and fees
  • Valet parking is $42 USD for a regular-sized vehicle and $52 USD for oversized vehicles (SUV and larger).
  • Guests must be 21 years old to check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Galleria Park Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Galleria Park Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Queen
Approx. 225 sq. ft, these queen sized rooms are located both on the courtyard and on the street side of the building, offering a choice of a quieter versus a brighter room. The room is complete with walls in cool teal colors, room accents in eggplant and lime hues, and new maple furniture. Each room has a fully stocked Honor bar and mini refrigerator. Amenities include complimentary T1 and wireless internet access, flat screen television with On-Demand movies and Nintendo Game System, MP3 player clock radio, new air conditioning units, iron/ironing boards, full length mirror and hair dryers. Further amenities the business travelers will enjoy include a working desk, with in-desk electrical outlet, ergonomic chair, leather blotter, a 2-line cordless phone with voice mail and business honor bar with complimentary paperclips, post-its, binder clips, note cards and a few items for purchase, should anything imperative to the next day's business have been left behind
Deluxe King
Approx. 225 sq. ft these king rooms are located both on the courtyard and on the street side of the building, offering a choice of a quieter versus a brighter room. The room is complete with walls in cool teal colors, room accents in eggplant and lime hues, and new maple furniture. Each room has a fully stocked Honor bar and mini refrigerator. Amenities include complimentary T1 and wireless internet access, flat screen television with On-Demand movies and Nintendo Game System, MP3 player clock radio, new air conditioning units, iron/ironing boards, full length mirror and hair dryers. Further amenities the business travelers will enjoy include a working desk, with in-desk electrical outlet, ergonomic chair, leather blotter, a 2-line cordless phone with voice mail and business honor bar with complimentary paperclips, post-its, binder clips, note cards and a few items for purchase, should anything imperative to the next day's business have been left behind
Deluxe Double/Double
Approx. 225 sq. ft room with 2 Full size double beds. All DBDB rooms face the street, (No interior DBDB available) and have recently been renovated. The room is complete with walls in cool teal colors, room accents in eggplant and lime hues, and new maple furniture. Each room has a fully stocked Honor bar and mini refrigerator. Amenities include complimentary T1 and wireless internet access, flat screen television with On-Demand movies and Nintendo Game System, MP3 player clock radio, new air conditioning units, iron/ironing boards, full length mirror and hair dryers. Further amenities the business travelers will enjoy include a working desk, with in-desk electrical outlet, ergonomic chair, leather blotter, a 2-line cordless phone with voice mail and business honor bar with complimentary paperclips, post-its, binder clips, note cards and a few items for purchase, should anything imperative to the next day's business have been left behind.

Amenities

General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center

Nearby points of interest

  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.3 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.4 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.7 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.3 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.4 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.9 mi
  • ATT Park: 0.9 mi
  • SoMa: 0.9 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.2 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.3 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.3 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Japantown: 1.4 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.5 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2.1 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2.1 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 2.1 mi

Dining

Midi
Open Spring 2009 Midi is a unique brasserie serving everyone from power-suits to power-shoppers. The stylish, French-inspired dcor complements the adjacent Galleria Park Hotel, and sets a hip, engaging, fashionable atmosphere for conducting business and pleasure alike. Midi is a modern California brasserie located "mid district" at the busy crossroads of San Francisco's Union Square shopping and Financial Districts in the stylish and welcoming Galleria Park Hotel. The brasserie offers the traditional formula of three meals a day, not to mention a full bar. The two level space features a bar, open kitchen, and casual dining space on the first floor, and a main formal dining room on the second, featuring banquettes, and tables. The warm and chic dcor fuses the classic architectural elements of the building with a playful, fresh French vibe.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Three meeting rooms accommodate up to 100 people for meetings and receptions. A full-time Conference Manager will coordinate all arrangements. Complimentary T1 and wireless Internet connection. Complete catering and audio-visual equipment is available for a variety of functions. All rooms have natural light and opening windows.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (123)

Ratings and reviews for Galleria Park Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 123
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Galleria Park Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tinabobina11
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 1, 2014

perfect Thanksgiving vacation!

Visiting family in San Francisco was made so incredibly easy by staying at The Galleria Park. Centrally located...perfect for walking to restaurants and great shopping. But also off the main streets so that when we wanted to relax and get some peace and quiet, we could escape the crowds and come back to the hotel. Our 2nd visit and we will most certainly be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Perbacco is a fabulous Italian restaurant a few blocks from the hotel. Amazing food with great service too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Galleria Park Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pattystendo
Business
Bakersfield,CA
Feb 5, 2014

Mother/daughter weekend

This is our 3rd stay here. We feel very welcome and comfortable here. Very helpful ,friendly staff. Always enjoy the wine reception in the evening after a busy afternoon of activities!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Galleria Park Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TTT1
Business
New York
Dec 13, 2013

Great value, clean, nice good location

Botique style hotel good sized room for SF, close to BART, MUNI, Union Square. Clean, friendly staff and Wine Hour every day from 5:00 to 6:00 free wine in lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Galleria Park Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Love me some SF
Business
Austin, Texas
Oct 6, 2013

Great girls trip!!!

I stayed at the Galleria Park Hotel 6 years ago when my husband proposed. I decided to stay there again when my mom, sister, and I decided to plan a girls trip to SF. It was perfect. The location was great. The staff were polite, friendly, and helpful. The wine happy hour/social was the perfect touch. We all agreed we would definitely stay there again. Great stay!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

So many shops in walking distance. Great weather so the walk is a nice one. Shopping for everyone.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Galleria Park Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mom of three daughters
Business
vancouver, washington
Jul 7, 2013

Professional despite the BART strike and SFO closure

Every employee at the Galleria Park Hotel earned a higher than expected rank of professional and caring towards my family this past week in San Fran. Despite the BART strike my family and I got to everything we wanted to see and more..the public transit is easily maneuvered...we got a city pass and had a blast. .we hated to leave. On our departure day the SFO tragedy occurred and the hotel staff and their Town Car Service with driver Benny, got us to SAN JOSE to catch our now diverted flight ..a beautiful historic hotel, the terrace a zen and wine hour every night...ahhhhh

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to The Stinking Rose in the North Beach area if you like garlic, great food and relaxing but effective service. YUM

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Galleria Park Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JetJeff
Business
Iowa
Apr 8, 2013

Pleased With My Selection

An enjoyable stay in a quaint and ever attentive environment. The staff was wonderful and geographically the hotel is perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Rickhaus

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Galleria Park Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traceymichelle10
Business
UK
Jan 1, 2013

Very enjoyable stay!

The hotel is in an excellent location for the centre of San Francisco I particular Union Square and the shops! My only complaint about this hotel was the room size, there was four of us in the room and we had very little space for our luggage, but this would not stop me from staying again, lovely hotel and lovely staff and very comfy beds!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Galleria Park Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Renrph
Business
Madison, WI
Sep 21, 2012

Best Location in FiDi

We have looked at this hotel a few times in the past but didn't choose it because we found better deals. We decided to go with it this time and we were so happy we did! The rooms are very, very small and not at all fancy but pretty and clean as is the whole facility. The location is superb for access to the FiDi's great restaurants, Chinatown, Maiden Lane's shops and Union Square as well as Market Street and public transportation. We hopped on a bus that stopped on the corner next to the hotel each morning and went to North Beach for coffee at either Caffe Roma or Caffe Trieste; we were within a couple of blocks of Market to catch the streetcar for a trip to Castro. The perfect location as far as we are concerned. Wine and coffee provided in the mezzanine, although we did not partake of it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Claude Lane is just a short walk away and has three good restaurants: Claudine, Gitane (with the sexiest bar in SF) and Cafe Claude, a totally Frenchy cafe with marvelous food and live jazz.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Galleria Park Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sun Light
Business
Germantown, Maryland
Aug 30, 2012

Meeting

Everything is great, except the coffee table should set up in the main lobby instead of 2nd floor. You won't notice if you don't ask.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Galleria Park Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lori May
Business
palm springs California
Jul 22, 2012

great location for a San Fran Stay

We had a great stay. We were within walking distance to Shopping, Chinatown and Fishermans Wharf. The staff was very helpful when we need to find something. The room was small for a family of 4 but were not in there much. The beds are actually small and a little soft. All in all a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

If you are going to have Dim Sum the wait at Great Eastern is well worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top