$237 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 15, 2014 Check-out: Aug 17, 2014

Galleria Park Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

3 stars
191 Sutter St., San Francisco, CA 94104
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
198 reviews
Love this hotel!

My friends and I stayed here for a few days at the end of December for New Years and we couldn't... See full review

  • ECM from AZ
  • Feb 28, 2014
great exeprience

great location, very accommodative staff, rooms are clean and comfortable. the front desk responds... See full review

  • Sherlee
  • Oct 5, 2013
Boutique hotel mixes history with modern convenience near Chinatown

This Union Square boutique hotel dates back to 1911. The renovation in 2013 celebrates its rich heritage and enhances its stylish appeal to today's discerning traveler.  Galleria Park Hotel exudes a timeless yet vibrant style, combining its original Art Deco and Art Nouveau design with contemporary elements and services for an unforgettable stay. Modern conveniences include a rooftop garden with a walking path, complimentary wine hour and daily morning coffee and tea service. The property is adjacent to the Crocker Galleria Mall and is within walking distance of Chinatown, Union Square and the Financial District. 

Highlights
  • Taste local wines at complimentary wine hour
  • Complimentary daily morning coffee and tea service
  • Green-certified hotel using all-natural cleaning products
  • Quiet hour: 11:00 pm
Rooms

Accommodations -- 162 rooms and 15 suites of varying size -- come standard with flat-screen televisions, Frette linens, MP3 docking stations and fully stocked honor bars. The biggest suite, The Grand Suite, has a wood-burning fireplace. Guests can select rooms with city or courtyard views. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access is available throughout the property, and pets are welcome.

Features

The hotel has received numerous awards, including the AAA Three Diamond Award. It also has received certification from the San Francisco Green Business program for eco-friendly initiatives surrounding water and energy conservation.

Because the property is part of the Joie de Vivre chain, it also participates in a number of philanthropic efforts. Specifically, the property donates a minimum of $200 per guest to the Asian Women's Resource Center, a non-profit that addresses the needs of local women and children in a state of transition out of homelessness.

All guests have access to a local fitness center with state-of-the-art Cybex and PreCor machines (fees apply). Guests also can enjoy a complimentary evening wine hour and a private urban park on the third floor of the hotel.

Midi, the swanky brasserie on-site, serves three meals a day and features sustainably farmed produce from around the Bay Area.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (30 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (10 minutes walking)
  • BART (5 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Chinatown
  • Financial District
  • Union Square
  • Embarcadero
  • AT&T Park
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 2,000 square feet of meeting space accommodates up to 1,000 guests
  • Rooftop garden available for private events
  • Full-time conference manager on-site
Policies and fees
  • Valet parking is $42 USD for a regular-sized vehicle and $52 USD for oversized vehicles (SUV and larger).
  • Guests must be 21 years old to check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

37.7898 -122.4037
Area served
San Francisco, Oakland, San Jose, CA
Nearby airports
(SFO) San Francisco (OAK) Oakland (SJC) San Jose
Area description
The Galleria Park Hotel is just two blocks from Union Square in the heart of downtown San Francisco. For more than a hundred years, Union Square has stood at the center of civic and cultural life in San Francisco.

The historic Powell Street cable car turnaround is only a few blocks from our Union Square hotel. San Franciscans and traveler alike enjoy the dramatic open-air views from the cable car as it makes its way past Chinatown to the top of Nob Hill. Each block affords a more dramatic view for hotel guests of downtown San Francisco, the bay, and Union Square below.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Galleria Park Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Galleria Park Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Queen
Approx. 225 sq. ft, these queen sized rooms are located both on the courtyard and on the street side of the building, offering a choice of a quieter versus a brighter room. The room is complete with walls in cool teal colors, room accents in eggplant and lime hues, and new maple furniture. Each room has a fully stocked Honor bar and mini refrigerator. Amenities include complimentary T1 and wireless internet access, flat screen television with On-Demand movies and Nintendo Game System, MP3 player clock radio, new air conditioning units, iron/ironing boards, full length mirror and hair dryers. Further amenities the business travelers will enjoy include a working desk, with in-desk electrical outlet, ergonomic chair, leather blotter, a 2-line cordless phone with voice mail and business honor bar with complimentary paperclips, post-its, binder clips, note cards and a few items for purchase, should anything imperative to the next day's business have been left behind
Deluxe King
Approx. 225 sq. ft these king rooms are located both on the courtyard and on the street side of the building, offering a choice of a quieter versus a brighter room. The room is complete with walls in cool teal colors, room accents in eggplant and lime hues, and new maple furniture. Each room has a fully stocked Honor bar and mini refrigerator. Amenities include complimentary T1 and wireless internet access, flat screen television with On-Demand movies and Nintendo Game System, MP3 player clock radio, new air conditioning units, iron/ironing boards, full length mirror and hair dryers. Further amenities the business travelers will enjoy include a working desk, with in-desk electrical outlet, ergonomic chair, leather blotter, a 2-line cordless phone with voice mail and business honor bar with complimentary paperclips, post-its, binder clips, note cards and a few items for purchase, should anything imperative to the next day's business have been left behind
Deluxe Double/Double
Approx. 225 sq. ft room with 2 Full size double beds. All DBDB rooms face the street, (No interior DBDB available) and have recently been renovated. The room is complete with walls in cool teal colors, room accents in eggplant and lime hues, and new maple furniture. Each room has a fully stocked Honor bar and mini refrigerator. Amenities include complimentary T1 and wireless internet access, flat screen television with On-Demand movies and Nintendo Game System, MP3 player clock radio, new air conditioning units, iron/ironing boards, full length mirror and hair dryers. Further amenities the business travelers will enjoy include a working desk, with in-desk electrical outlet, ergonomic chair, leather blotter, a 2-line cordless phone with voice mail and business honor bar with complimentary paperclips, post-its, binder clips, note cards and a few items for purchase, should anything imperative to the next day's business have been left behind.

Amenities

General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center

Nearby points of interest

  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.3 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.4 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.7 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.3 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.4 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.7 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.9 mi
  • ATT Park: 0.9 mi
  • SoMa: 0.9 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.2 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.3 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.3 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Japantown: 1.4 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.5 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2.1 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Three meeting rooms accommodate up to 100 people for meetings and receptions. A full-time Conference Manager will coordinate all arrangements. Complimentary T1 and wireless Internet connection. Complete catering and audio-visual equipment is available for a variety of functions. All rooms have natural light and opening windows.

Dining

Midi
Open Spring 2009 Midi is a unique brasserie serving everyone from power-suits to power-shoppers. The stylish, French-inspired dcor complements the adjacent Galleria Park Hotel, and sets a hip, engaging, fashionable atmosphere for conducting business and pleasure alike. Midi is a modern California brasserie located "mid district" at the busy crossroads of San Francisco's Union Square shopping and Financial Districts in the stylish and welcoming Galleria Park Hotel. The brasserie offers the traditional formula of three meals a day, not to mention a full bar. The two level space features a bar, open kitchen, and casual dining space on the first floor, and a main formal dining room on the second, featuring banquettes, and tables. The warm and chic dcor fuses the classic architectural elements of the building with a playful, fresh French vibe.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (198)

Ratings and reviews for Galleria Park Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
198 out of 198
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Galleria Park Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
uk
Aug 29, 2010

a nice hotel

a good hotel but sleep interrupted by trash collection at 4 a.m. if staying here request room away from vermehr place as the bins were collected here. room was quite small for family of 4 with teenage girls. hotel was very clean. free coffee in morning. close to union square, china town and montgomery bart - good for airport. bit of a trek to north san fran pier 39 etc. i would stay here again but in a larger room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Galleria Park Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fd_ags
Carlisle, PA
Aug 23, 2010

An enjoyable city by the bay

This trip was very enjoyable for me but if you have not been to San Francisco make sure you pack warm clothing as there is almost always a breeze and the fog is over the city in the morning and night. I would also recomend this hotel or at very least one near here as this location near union square is very convenient and will allow you to do everything in the city. The only other thing is if you want to tour Alcatraz you will need to book well in advance because there is no availability for a few weeks ahead.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk a short distance to mason street and rent a nice bicycle from this neat little shop called blazing saddels. The staff is very helpful and they will even provide you with directions and a list of approved bike routes. This is a really great way to experience the city!

Review of Galleria Park Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fd_ags
Carlisle, PA
Aug 23, 2010

An enjoyable city by the bay

This trip was very enjoyable for me but if you have not been to San Francisco make sure you pack warm clothing as there is almost always a breeze and the fog is over the city in the morning and night. I would also recomend this hotel or at very least one near here as this location near union square is very convenient and will allow you to do everything in the city. The only other thing is if you want to tour Alcatraz you will need to book well in advance because there is no availability for a few weeks ahead.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk a short distance to mason street and rent a nice bicycle from this neat little shop called blazing saddels. The staff is very helpful and they will even provide you with directions and a list of approved bike routes. This is a really great way to experience the city!

Review of Galleria Park Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Stafford, VA
Aug 20, 2010

Great Place! Truly A High Quality Stay

This was the second half of our two week vacation. We had just flown in from Vegas where it was over 100 degrees and we arrived to San Francisco "ice box". The weather was in the low 60's. And we were not dressed for the weather had to buy "coats" in August. Our visit was short, 8/15-18 so we wanted to get in as much as possible so I read other reviews before making my finale choice of the Galleria. Wow! were we suprised walking in. I mean the van ride in from the airport left us with a bit of nervousness, hey folks read the fine print about city attractions and communities before you come (and check the crime rate too...I mean really SF was an eye sore on the way to the hotel) But the hotel was first class all the way, the staff was extremely professional and the service was awesome. The rooms were snug, but workable. The place was very clean and who ever decorated and remodeled the place use each space well. Also, the cost was great for 3 nights. It was a pleasure staying there and we plan to look up other Joi de Vivre chains in the west coast on our next vacation. (Their lobby was truly chic!) Thanks for a great stay in a cold place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fishermans Wharf area go to Castiglianos and use your AAA card (get 20% off). Great food, service and the view was good too.

Review of Galleria Park Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Stafford, VA
Aug 20, 2010

Great Place! Truly A High Quality Stay

This was the second half of our two week vacation. We had just flown in from Vegas where it was over 100 degrees and we arrived to San Francisco "ice box". The weather was in the low 60's. And we were not dressed for the weather had to buy "coats" in August. Our visit was short, 8/15-18 so we wanted to get in as much as possible so I read other reviews before making my finale choice of the Galleria. Wow! were we suprised walking in. I mean the van ride in from the airport left us with a bit of nervousness, hey folks read the fine print about city attractions and communities before you come (and check the crime rate too...I mean really SF was an eye sore on the way to the hotel) But the hotel was first class all the way, the staff was extremely professional and the service was awesome. The rooms were snug, but workable. The place was very clean and who ever decorated and remodeled the place use each space well. Also, the cost was great for 3 nights. It was a pleasure staying there and we plan to look up other Joi de Vivre chains in the west coast on our next vacation. (Their lobby was truly chic!) Thanks for a great stay in a cold place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fishermans Wharf area go to Castiglianos and use your AAA card (get 20% off). Great food, service and the view was good too.

Review of Galleria Park Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
K&K traveling
Arlington Texas
Jun 7, 2010

Great location!

This hotel is located just a couple of blocks from China Town and maybe a 10 minute walk to the Ferry Building.... great location. Though, if I were to stay again, I would make sure my room was NOT on the Kearny Street side...there is a bus stop there and it is a bit noisy. We were hardly there, but the few interactions with the staff were good ones... Location is the best thing about this hotel - nice terrace on the 3rd floor too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakfast & Lunch spots are plentiful...though the dinner spots you will need to drive or go a couple of blocks into Union Square--- most of the places close by were meant for the business/day crowd...

Review of Galleria Park Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
K&K traveling
Arlington Texas
Jun 7, 2010

Great location!

This hotel is located just a couple of blocks from China Town and maybe a 10 minute walk to the Ferry Building.... great location. Though, if I were to stay again, I would make sure my room was NOT on the Kearny Street side...there is a bus stop there and it is a bit noisy. We were hardly there, but the few interactions with the staff were good ones... Location is the best thing about this hotel - nice terrace on the 3rd floor too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakfast & Lunch spots are plentiful...though the dinner spots you will need to drive or go a couple of blocks into Union Square--- most of the places close by were meant for the business/day crowd...

Review of Galleria Park Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City
Apr 11, 2010

Beautiful and comfortable hotel

This is a great hotel. It has the charm of an old hotel, but the renovations have transformed it into a truly modern and chic place. I was in San Francisco to attend a conference at the Grand Hyatt Hotel, but couldn't afford the room rates there. The Galleria Park was a terrific solution -- great value for a beautiful room, and only two blocks from the Hyatt. I would certainly return to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chinatown restaurants and shops.

Review of Galleria Park Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City
Apr 11, 2010

Beautiful and comfortable hotel

This is a great hotel. It has the charm of an old hotel, but the renovations have transformed it into a truly modern and chic place. I was in San Francisco to attend a conference at the Grand Hyatt Hotel, but couldn't afford the room rates there. The Galleria Park was a terrific solution -- great value for a beautiful room, and only two blocks from the Hyatt. I would certainly return to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chinatown restaurants and shops.

Review of Galleria Park Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Davis, CA
Apr 10, 2010

Good place to stay

great financial district location. quiet clean. updated bathrooms. Affiliated restaurant not so great due to limited choice and chef going for more for pretention than anything else. No place nearby where you can get a plain ol' breakfast. Hamburger only "honest" item on dinner menu. If you know the city you can find other places nearby much better (e.g., Sam's is two blocks away) Staff friendly, If you are driving call ahead and ask hotel staff about parking options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top