$179 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 9, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Galleria Park Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

3 stars
View map of 191 Sutter St., San Francisco, CA 94104

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Galleria Park Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
135 out of 135
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Galleria Park Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
uk
Aug 29, 2010

a nice hotel

a good hotel but sleep interrupted by trash collection at 4 a.m. if staying here request room away from vermehr place as the bins were collected here. room was quite small for family of 4 with teenage girls. hotel was very clean. free coffee in morning. close to union square, china town and montgomery bart - good for airport. bit of a trek to north san fran pier 39 etc. i would stay here again but in a larger room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Galleria Park Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fd_ags
Business
Carlisle, PA
Aug 23, 2010

An enjoyable city by the bay

This trip was very enjoyable for me but if you have not been to San Francisco make sure you pack warm clothing as there is almost always a breeze and the fog is over the city in the morning and night. I would also recomend this hotel or at very least one near here as this location near union square is very convenient and will allow you to do everything in the city. The only other thing is if you want to tour Alcatraz you will need to book well in advance because there is no availability for a few weeks ahead.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk a short distance to mason street and rent a nice bicycle from this neat little shop called blazing saddels. The staff is very helpful and they will even provide you with directions and a list of approved bike routes. This is a really great way to experience the city!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Galleria Park Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Stafford, VA
Aug 20, 2010

Great Place! Truly A High Quality Stay

This was the second half of our two week vacation. We had just flown in from Vegas where it was over 100 degrees and we arrived to San Francisco "ice box". The weather was in the low 60's. And we were not dressed for the weather had to buy "coats" in August. Our visit was short, 8/15-18 so we wanted to get in as much as possible so I read other reviews before making my finale choice of the Galleria. Wow! were we suprised walking in. I mean the van ride in from the airport left us with a bit of nervousness, hey folks read the fine print about city attractions and communities before you come (and check the crime rate too...I mean really SF was an eye sore on the way to the hotel) But the hotel was first class all the way, the staff was extremely professional and the service was awesome. The rooms were snug, but workable. The place was very clean and who ever decorated and remodeled the place use each space well. Also, the cost was great for 3 nights. It was a pleasure staying there and we plan to look up other Joi de Vivre chains in the west coast on our next vacation. (Their lobby was truly chic!) Thanks for a great stay in a cold place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fishermans Wharf area go to Castiglianos and use your AAA card (get 20% off). Great food, service and the view was good too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Galleria Park Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
K&K traveling
Business
Arlington Texas
Jun 7, 2010

Great location!

This hotel is located just a couple of blocks from China Town and maybe a 10 minute walk to the Ferry Building.... great location. Though, if I were to stay again, I would make sure my room was NOT on the Kearny Street side...there is a bus stop there and it is a bit noisy. We were hardly there, but the few interactions with the staff were good ones... Location is the best thing about this hotel - nice terrace on the 3rd floor too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakfast & Lunch spots are plentiful...though the dinner spots you will need to drive or go a couple of blocks into Union Square--- most of the places close by were meant for the business/day crowd...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Galleria Park Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City
Apr 11, 2010

Beautiful and comfortable hotel

This is a great hotel. It has the charm of an old hotel, but the renovations have transformed it into a truly modern and chic place. I was in San Francisco to attend a conference at the Grand Hyatt Hotel, but couldn't afford the room rates there. The Galleria Park was a terrific solution -- great value for a beautiful room, and only two blocks from the Hyatt. I would certainly return to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chinatown restaurants and shops.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Galleria Park Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Davis, CA
Apr 10, 2010

Good place to stay

great financial district location. quiet clean. updated bathrooms. Affiliated restaurant not so great due to limited choice and chef going for more for pretention than anything else. No place nearby where you can get a plain ol' breakfast. Hamburger only "honest" item on dinner menu. If you know the city you can find other places nearby much better (e.g., Sam's is two blocks away) Staff friendly, If you are driving call ahead and ask hotel staff about parking options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Galleria Park Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SUTexas27
Business
Texas
Apr 8, 2010

Great hotel experience

We were unsure of what to expect because we had never heard of the hotel. It was one of the best experiences we've had. The staff was super helpful and the hotel was a cute little newly renovated boutique hotel. We loved it and would definitely stay at The Galleria Park Hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Galleria Park Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Henderson,NV
Apr 5, 2010

Great Hotel

Great experience except demolition work was being done across the street from our room from 8 pm to 4 am. A call to the front desk the next day got us moved to an inside room and that solved the problem. Very pleasant, helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lori's Diner just 3 blocks up the street. 50's diner, great breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Galleria Park Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
studio city
Mar 30, 2010

NIce little hotel, amazing location,[...]

Nice little hotel, amazing location, horrible beds!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Galleria Park Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Christina P
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 25, 2010

Galleria Park Review

Great hotel for the money. Clean, good location to get to most places in the city. Would stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top