$173 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2014 Check-out: Aug 29, 2014

Galleria Park Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

3 stars
191 Sutter St., San Francisco, CA 94104
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
131 reviews
Love this hotel!

My friends and I stayed here for a few days at the end of December for New Years and we couldn't... See full review

  • ECM from AZ
  • Feb 28, 2014
great exeprience

great location, very accommodative staff, rooms are clean and comfortable. the front desk responds... See full review

  • Sherlee
  • Oct 5, 2013
Boutique hotel mixes history with modern convenience near Chinatown

This Union Square boutique hotel dates back to 1911. The renovation in 2013 celebrates its rich heritage and enhances its stylish appeal to today's discerning traveler.  Galleria Park Hotel exudes a timeless yet vibrant style, combining its original Art Deco and Art Nouveau design with contemporary elements and services for an unforgettable stay. Modern conveniences include a rooftop garden with a walking path, complimentary wine hour and daily morning coffee and tea service. The property is adjacent to the Crocker Galleria Mall and is within walking distance of Chinatown, Union Square and the Financial District. 

Highlights
  • Taste local wines at complimentary wine hour
  • Complimentary daily morning coffee and tea service
  • Green-certified hotel using all-natural cleaning products
  • Quiet hour: 11:00 pm
Rooms

Accommodations -- 162 rooms and 15 suites of varying size -- come standard with flat-screen televisions, Frette linens, MP3 docking stations and fully stocked honor bars. The biggest suite, The Grand Suite, has a wood-burning fireplace. Guests can select rooms with city or courtyard views. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access is available throughout the property, and pets are welcome.

Features

The hotel has received numerous awards, including the AAA Three Diamond Award. It also has received certification from the San Francisco Green Business program for eco-friendly initiatives surrounding water and energy conservation.

Because the property is part of the Joie de Vivre chain, it also participates in a number of philanthropic efforts. Specifically, the property donates a minimum of $200 per guest to the Asian Women's Resource Center, a non-profit that addresses the needs of local women and children in a state of transition out of homelessness.

All guests have access to a local fitness center with state-of-the-art Cybex and PreCor machines (fees apply). Guests also can enjoy a complimentary evening wine hour and a private urban park on the third floor of the hotel.

Midi, the swanky brasserie on-site, serves three meals a day and features sustainably farmed produce from around the Bay Area.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (30 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (10 minutes walking)
  • BART (5 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Chinatown
  • Financial District
  • Union Square
  • Embarcadero
  • AT&T Park
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 2,000 square feet of meeting space accommodates up to 1,000 guests
  • Rooftop garden available for private events
  • Full-time conference manager on-site
Policies and fees
  • Valet parking is $42 USD for a regular-sized vehicle and $52 USD for oversized vehicles (SUV and larger).
  • Guests must be 21 years old to check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

37.7898 -122.4037
Area served
San Francisco, Oakland, San Jose, CA
Nearby airports
(SFO) San Francisco (OAK) Oakland (SJC) San Jose
Area description
The Galleria Park Hotel is just two blocks from Union Square in the heart of downtown San Francisco. For more than a hundred years, Union Square has stood at the center of civic and cultural life in San Francisco.

The historic Powell Street cable car turnaround is only a few blocks from our Union Square hotel. San Franciscans and traveler alike enjoy the dramatic open-air views from the cable car as it makes its way past Chinatown to the top of Nob Hill. Each block affords a more dramatic view for hotel guests of downtown San Francisco, the bay, and Union Square below.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Galleria Park Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Galleria Park Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Queen
Approx. 225 sq. ft, these queen sized rooms are located both on the courtyard and on the street side of the building, offering a choice of a quieter versus a brighter room. The room is complete with walls in cool teal colors, room accents in eggplant and lime hues, and new maple furniture. Each room has a fully stocked Honor bar and mini refrigerator. Amenities include complimentary T1 and wireless internet access, flat screen television with On-Demand movies and Nintendo Game System, MP3 player clock radio, new air conditioning units, iron/ironing boards, full length mirror and hair dryers. Further amenities the business travelers will enjoy include a working desk, with in-desk electrical outlet, ergonomic chair, leather blotter, a 2-line cordless phone with voice mail and business honor bar with complimentary paperclips, post-its, binder clips, note cards and a few items for purchase, should anything imperative to the next day's business have been left behind
Deluxe King
Approx. 225 sq. ft these king rooms are located both on the courtyard and on the street side of the building, offering a choice of a quieter versus a brighter room. The room is complete with walls in cool teal colors, room accents in eggplant and lime hues, and new maple furniture. Each room has a fully stocked Honor bar and mini refrigerator. Amenities include complimentary T1 and wireless internet access, flat screen television with On-Demand movies and Nintendo Game System, MP3 player clock radio, new air conditioning units, iron/ironing boards, full length mirror and hair dryers. Further amenities the business travelers will enjoy include a working desk, with in-desk electrical outlet, ergonomic chair, leather blotter, a 2-line cordless phone with voice mail and business honor bar with complimentary paperclips, post-its, binder clips, note cards and a few items for purchase, should anything imperative to the next day's business have been left behind
Deluxe Double/Double
Approx. 225 sq. ft room with 2 Full size double beds. All DBDB rooms face the street, (No interior DBDB available) and have recently been renovated. The room is complete with walls in cool teal colors, room accents in eggplant and lime hues, and new maple furniture. Each room has a fully stocked Honor bar and mini refrigerator. Amenities include complimentary T1 and wireless internet access, flat screen television with On-Demand movies and Nintendo Game System, MP3 player clock radio, new air conditioning units, iron/ironing boards, full length mirror and hair dryers. Further amenities the business travelers will enjoy include a working desk, with in-desk electrical outlet, ergonomic chair, leather blotter, a 2-line cordless phone with voice mail and business honor bar with complimentary paperclips, post-its, binder clips, note cards and a few items for purchase, should anything imperative to the next day's business have been left behind.

Amenities

General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center

Nearby points of interest

  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.3 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.4 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.7 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.3 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.4 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.7 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.9 mi
  • ATT Park: 0.9 mi
  • SoMa: 0.9 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.2 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.3 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.3 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Japantown: 1.4 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.5 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2.1 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Three meeting rooms accommodate up to 100 people for meetings and receptions. A full-time Conference Manager will coordinate all arrangements. Complimentary T1 and wireless Internet connection. Complete catering and audio-visual equipment is available for a variety of functions. All rooms have natural light and opening windows.

Dining

Midi
Open Spring 2009 Midi is a unique brasserie serving everyone from power-suits to power-shoppers. The stylish, French-inspired dcor complements the adjacent Galleria Park Hotel, and sets a hip, engaging, fashionable atmosphere for conducting business and pleasure alike. Midi is a modern California brasserie located "mid district" at the busy crossroads of San Francisco's Union Square shopping and Financial Districts in the stylish and welcoming Galleria Park Hotel. The brasserie offers the traditional formula of three meals a day, not to mention a full bar. The two level space features a bar, open kitchen, and casual dining space on the first floor, and a main formal dining room on the second, featuring banquettes, and tables. The warm and chic dcor fuses the classic architectural elements of the building with a playful, fresh French vibe.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (131)

Ratings and reviews for Galleria Park Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
131 out of 131
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Galleria Park Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Justin
Not Provided
Mar 2, 2010

Staff more than helpful, welcomed

Staff more than helpful, welcomed with opened arms. Room size a little small for a twin queen beds. Location very good, close to BART line for transport from the Airport. Plenty of eateries nearby. Would happily stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Galleria Park Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Brooklyn, NY
Feb 21, 2010

Amazing location and beautiful decor.

This was my second visit to San Francisco and I had a much better time largely due to the Galleria Park and it's location. We were able to walk around Union Square and down to the pier and catch transportation to other parts of town. It was a snap to find a cab right outside the hotel. The area is a little pricey to eat, but we were able to find good deals by using Urbanspoon.com.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The coffee shop around the corner from the hotel has great breakfast sandwiches at very reasonable prices. We went almost every morning.

Review of Galleria Park Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
David
Not Provided
Feb 4, 2010

Chris, who checked me in, was

Chris, who checked me in, was fantastic and did a terrific job of telling me all about the hotel and its amenities. He is a true professional and deserves a raise! The hotel itself is a cute, very San Francisco hotel that has a cute modern style. I would highly recommend staying here to my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Galleria Park Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Buffalo, NY
Jan 23, 2010

Amazing Hotel!

I absolutely loved this hotel. When we booked we saw that every review we read stated it was clean and in a great location. Those were both correct! It is located in the business district and is only a few blocks from Union Square! And there are plenty of places to eat around the hotel. There is also a great restaurant and bar located right in the hotel. Another fact about the hotel that got somewhat bad reviews was the size of the room. I was in a room with two queen beds and there were three 23 year old girls. We came with a lot of luggage and there was still plenty of room! I didn't think the rooms were small at all. Also, the ceilings were very high which gave the room a lot more space. You didn't feel cramped at all. And the cleanliness was excellent. The staff even helped us set up a tour of the Muir Woods/Saulsilito/Alcatraz! The tour picked us up right outside the hotel. I have absolutely nothing bad to say about the Galleria Park Hotel. The staff were so funny and a nice group of people. For what you are paying you could not ask for anything more. I would definitely stay at this hotel again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Galleria Park Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sling King
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Jan 19, 2010

Great Location

Hotel is basically across the street from the Paseo Colorado mall, which has a movie theater and lots of restaurants. An ice rink is on the same block as the hotel. My husband left a few days before I did so I had lots of entertainment. Felt very safe on my own. Took the ARTS bus from the same block to visit family daily. Could not have been more convenient or comfortable. Friendly and helpful staff. Would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Galleria Park Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego, CA
Jan 12, 2010

Great Bargain

Location is 2 blocks from the BART, easy access to all of SF. Rooms are small but have everything you need, including a mini-bar and free internet (wired and wireless). The hotel hosts free wine happy hour everyday. We made the mistake of waiting until checkout to eat at Midi- breakfast was fantastic!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the BART from SFO- only $8.10 a person.

Review of Galleria Park Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Jan 10, 2010

Great Location and Comfortable Room

This renovated hotel is very conveniently located to the financial district, Chinatown, and the Union Square shopping district and is accessible by Muni buses, Muni Metro and BART. The rooms are small but nicely furnished. The bathtub in my room needed to be refinished and I was surprised the room still had a television rather than the flat panel screen common in similar boutique hotels in The City. Midi, the hotel's restaurant, is chic and the food is quite good. The business center is a small room equipped with two desktop Macs and a printer. The fitness center has a couple of treadmills, a universal-type apparatus and free weights. If you're a runner, it's more fun to run down to Market Street and then head over to the Embarcadero where you can run along the bay. I highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

It's only a two block walk from the Montgomery Street BART station to the hotel, so take BART from the airport rather than a cab or airporter bus.

Review of Galleria Park Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tucson, AZ
Dec 18, 2009

Happy customer

The staff blew me away with their positive attitudes and super-quick service. Polite, friendly, and accommodating. Hotel was close to food, transit (BART, trolley and bus), and the Embarbadero. We could comfortably walk to nearby attractions, or find a transit stop within a block or two. Rooms were a little tight in size, but well appointed and comfortable. The plush desk chair was particularly nice. The wall a/c unit leaked water and soaked some of my clothing, but everything else was in working order. The shampoo/lotion offerings in the bathroom were wonderful and spa quality - not just some generic store brand. I arrived well before the recommended check in time, but the room was ready, so the front desk clerk let me in early - very nice after a long plane trip! Similarly, I left town well after the noon check-out time, and they were happy to hold my bags for me while I went out sightseeing. It was too cold to enjoy the rooftop terrace on the third floor, but I did go up and walk around. It' s a nice little verdant oasis - would be wonderful on a sunny day or a warm evening. Bring up a good book or a beverage and enjoy. Free wireless internet worked just fine in my room (2nd floor), but there is a cabled version available, too. I will absolutely consider this hotel in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is located near the business/financial district, so most of the cafes and restaurants are closed on Sunday. Don't count of finding anything open within a few blocks - even Starbucks - and plan to venture out into the city for food on Sundays.

Review of Galleria Park Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Phoenix, AZ
Dec 8, 2009

Excellent location, accommodating staff

Stayed here based on location, price and aesthetics. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Proximity to BART, Union Square meant that we were able to do everything that we wanted without having to taxi constantly. Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Galleria Park Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bermuda Dunes, CA
Dec 1, 2009

Friendly hotel-super location-good value

We've stayed at several of the smaller hotels in the Union Square area and this was our favorite. Our room was small but very comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Only a couple minutes walk to the BART and shopping. Complimentary wine in the evenings and coffe in am. Good quick breakfast place next door and excellent bagel store 1/2 block away. We took a short walk down Market Street to the Ferry Building and caught the F line trolley/streetcar to Fisherman's Wharf for $2 (all day ticket). Lots of great food places to eat at the Ferry Building as well as artisan food shops, i.e. bread, cheese, chocolates, mushrooms, etc. We were surprised to find a definite decline in the number of stores at the Cannery and Ghiradelli Square, but we still enjoyed the walk from Pier 39 to the square and easily caught the F line trolley back to Market Street. Enjoyed the shrimp and chips at Tarantino's at an outside table. We love San Francisco and will definitely stay at Galleria Park Hotel on our next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to the Ferry Building was enjoyable and an easy place to pick up the F line trolley which then goes to the Fisherman Wharf area. Only $2 for adults and $.75 for seniors for an all day ticket.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search