$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 14, 2014 Check-out: Jul 15, 2014

Francisco Bay Inn

2 stars
1501 Lombard St., San Francisco, CA 94123
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
72 reviews
Great room and location for the price

Our stay was a awsome experience. Great location.the price was a good deal. Clean and nice staff. See full review

  • Jimmy James
  • Apr 23, 2014
Basic hotel for your needs.

The hotel room was not very updated but this didn't bother us. Wifi was included as well as a small... See full review

  • Savy Explorer
  • Mar 13, 2014
Located on San Francisco's famous Lombard Street - home to the Golden Gate Bridge and The Crookedest Street in the World. The Francisco Bay Inn provides spacious, comfortable accommodation for thousands of travelers each year. Our recently renovated rooms coupled with our excellent service will help make the Francisco Bay a special part of your stay in San Francisco. Our amenities include FREE Parking, FREE continental breakfast FREE Hi-Speed Wireless Internet Access, in-room microwave and refrigerator, cable TV with HBO, and free tour pickup. All of our rooms are 100 percent non-smoking. The Francisco Bay is AAA approved and a member of the San Francisco Convention and Visitors Bureau.

Francisco Bay Inn Rooms

Superior King Room
We welcome you to enjoy our newly remodeled rooms. This guest room includes one king bed, free continental breakfast, in-room microwave and refrigerator, free in-room coffee and tea, hairdryer and cable TV with HBO.
Superior Double Room
We welcome you to enjoy our newly remodeled rooms. This guest room includes two double beds, free continental breakfast, in-room microwave and refrigerator, free in-room coffee and tea, hairdryer and cable TV with HBO.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
General
Concierge
Dining
Free breakfast
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Francisco Bay Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.8009 -122.4264
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport and Oakland Airport.
Area description
Located 1/5 mile from Marina Green, 1 mile from hiking and bicycle trails, 3 blocks from boutique shopping, designers and jewelry, 1/4 mile from movie theaters, 1/2 mile from Opera House and Herbst Theater and 1/4 mile walk to Golden Gate Bridge.

Nearby points of interest

  • Lombard Street: 0 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 0.4 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 0.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.9 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 0 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 0.4 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 0.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.9 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1 mi
  • Lands End: 1.1 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.1 mi
  • Palace of Fine Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Exploratorium: 1.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1.3 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.3 mi
  • Union Square: 1.4 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.6 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.6 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.7 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.8 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.8 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (72)

Ratings and reviews for Francisco Bay Inn

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
21 out of 72
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.7

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rowland Hts, CA
May 4, 2009

"The good, the bad, and the really ugly"

VERY Unfriendly Staff!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Roseville
Oct 18, 2008

a total dump...

This place is a total dump! Extremely cramped, peeling wallpaper, broken down furniture, tv remote held together with frayed electrician's tape, hanging rack for clothes squeezed in on top of the baby refridgerator ...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Roseville
Oct 18, 2008

a total dump...

This place is a total dump! Extremely cramped, peeling wallpaper, broken down furniture, tv remote held together with frayed electrician's tape, hanging rack for clothes squeezed in on top of the baby refridgerator ...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Singa Mom
San Frans
Dec 23, 2010

Frisco Stay

Was a bit of disappointment when we check into the hotel. Recept smell of indian curry aroma not something that u expect from a hotel recept. It is rated as an Inn. Breakfast spread was ok muffins fruits coffee juice, but need to eat in your own room. However as we extended 1 more nite without prior booking, eas a shock to be told later that the rate was 35% more. Was not very happy about the way they informed of the room charges for the extemnsion, ended up paying 99 per nite instead of the 64 for my previous nite cost. Lift was small and cram only 1 servicing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

to walk to lombard bendy street, the distance is near but it is an uphill walk,so be prepared.

Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sweet VA Mom
Virginia
Aug 4, 2012

Good Stay!

Convenient location for sightseeing and transportation around town. Needs repairs and upgrading. Staff helpful. Parking was terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Look at trolley and train schedules. They are both close by.

Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Singa Mom
San Frans
Dec 23, 2010

Frisco Stay

Was a bit of disappointment when we check into the hotel. Recept smell of indian curry aroma not something that u expect from a hotel recept. It is rated as an Inn. Breakfast spread was ok muffins fruits coffee juice, but need to eat in your own room. However as we extended 1 more nite without prior booking, eas a shock to be told later that the rate was 35% more. Was not very happy about the way they informed of the room charges for the extemnsion, ended up paying 99 per nite instead of the 64 for my previous nite cost. Lift was small and cram only 1 servicing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

to walk to lombard bendy street, the distance is near but it is an uphill walk,so be prepared.

Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mommomjoy
San Francisco
May 2, 2010

Good, price bad....very noise stree noi

We were impressed with the nice young woman who waited on us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mommomjoy
San Francisco
May 2, 2010

Good, price bad....very noise stree noi

We were impressed with the nice young woman who waited on us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boulder, CO
Jul 5, 2010

Great location reasonable price

After reading the other reviews I decided to go ahead and book this hotel. There were definite good and bad things about it It was a good location, walking distance to Fisherman's Warf, bus and cable car. Free parking was great, but the lot was small with small spaces. Continental breakfast was a joke. Choices included croissant, a couple of kinds of muffins, and apples. Worst of all INSTANT COFFEE. This was especially odd, since there were coffee pots in the room. We made a pot and drank that instead. Also, there was no place to eat it. You had to bring the tray down from your room and take it back there to eat. The bathroom was huge and appearantly newly renovated. However the room was extremely small. No place to put suitcases and no closet, just a rod above the fridge/microwave/coffee pot. Some areas of the hotel need renovation/modernization. Both elevators were very small, barely fit the 4 of us and our bags, and one was quite old. I never used that one again, too scary. The lobby was very small, and it appears the owner/manager lives in a room off the lobby. The lobby smelled of Indian cooking and it was easy to see into their living quarters. Finally, they did ask for a $100 security deposit against damage. Placed a hold on my credit card, but released the hold when I checked out. If you are a small family looking for a place near tourist attractions, where you won't be in the room much this is a good place. However if you are planning a longer stay or will be in your room a fair amount of time, look for something else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Fisherman's Warf and Ghiradelli Square were just a few blocks away.

Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Garcia
Moorpark, Ca
Mar 28, 2013

Great family getaway

The staff were friendly and the room was clean. The only thing I didn't really likes is that our room was near the street and the room above us were a bit noisy. I like the fact that they have coffee at night and slight breakfast. It's a walking distance to the Fisherman's Wharf and the crooked street. I also like that parking is free. Overall, it was nice. I would stay there again if they give me room on the other side of the building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking distance to the nearby restaurants. Fisherman's Wharf is about 1.2 mile and crooked street is about 4 blocks. Prepare to walk on the uphill side of the Lombard street.

Back to menu Return to top