$79 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 24, 2014

Francisco Bay Inn

2 stars
1501 Lombard St., San Francisco, CA 94123
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
55 reviews
small but comfortable

Our room was a bit small but it had everything we needed...the staff were very nice and helpful... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jul 14, 2014
Great room and location for the price

Our stay was a awsome experience. Great location.the price was a good deal. Clean and nice staff. See full review

  • Jimmy James
  • Apr 23, 2014
Located on San Francisco's famous Lombard Street - home to the Golden Gate Bridge and The Crookedest Street in the World. The Francisco Bay Inn provides spacious, comfortable accommodation for thousands of travelers each year. Our recently renovated rooms coupled with our excellent service will help make the Francisco Bay a special part of your stay in San Francisco. Our amenities include FREE Parking, FREE continental breakfast FREE Hi-Speed Wireless Internet Access, in-room microwave and refrigerator, cable TV with HBO, and free tour pickup. All of our rooms are 100 percent non-smoking. The Francisco Bay is AAA approved and a member of the San Francisco Convention and Visitors Bureau.

Hotel Map

37.8009 -122.4264
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport and Oakland Airport.
Area description
Located 1/5 mile from Marina Green, 1 mile from hiking and bicycle trails, 3 blocks from boutique shopping, designers and jewelry, 1/4 mile from movie theaters, 1/2 mile from Opera House and Herbst Theater and 1/4 mile walk to Golden Gate Bridge.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Francisco Bay Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Francisco Bay Inn Rooms

Superior King Room
We welcome you to enjoy our newly remodeled rooms. This guest room includes one king bed, free continental breakfast, in-room microwave and refrigerator, free in-room coffee and tea, hairdryer and cable TV with HBO.
Superior Double Room
We welcome you to enjoy our newly remodeled rooms. This guest room includes two double beds, free continental breakfast, in-room microwave and refrigerator, free in-room coffee and tea, hairdryer and cable TV with HBO.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
General
Concierge
Dining
Free breakfast
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Lombard Street: 0 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 0.4 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 0.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.9 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1 mi
  • Lands End: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 0 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 0.4 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 0.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.9 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1 mi
  • Lands End: 1.1 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.1 mi
  • Palace of Fine Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Exploratorium: 1.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1.3 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.3 mi
  • Union Square: 1.4 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.6 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.6 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.7 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.8 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.8 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.8 mi
  • SoMa: 1.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (55)

Ratings and reviews for Francisco Bay Inn

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 55
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fortuna, CA
Jul 29, 2008

Sadly Disappointed

At first appearance the Francisco Bay Inn looks somewhat inviting. I was very disappointed upon checking in though. The lobby was very small and untidy and I did not find the staff very friendly. Outside of the office was a window that looked into an unkept room that was connected to the office with an unmade bed in total view of anyone going to the elevator. I do not make a habit of looking into windows but you could not miss it. Our room was clean but there was no closet, just a shelf with a bar for our clothes. Morning breakfast consisted of your choice of a banana, croissant, two styles of muffins and two different types of doughnuts, INSTANT COFFEE, tea or hot chocolate. I think it was the instant coffee that I found unbelievable. We were asked to leave a security deposit in case anything was stolen (possibly the paper cups for our coffee or the plastic glasses for water perhaps) I had never experienced that before. We slept good and the bed was comfortable but we will never stay there again or recommend it to our friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Location to unique shops and an array of retaurants within walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington
Sep 19, 2009

Good price, but...

People banging on doors at 3:00 am. Unexpected security deposit required upon arrival.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mazda Mike
Business
Phoenix, Arizona
Jan 18, 2014

Clean / Friendly Staff

Room was very clean, hotel staff very friendly compared to others on the strip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Reno, NV
Sep 11, 2007

Location is the value

The location on Lombard is within walking distance of the Bay,Ghiardelli Square, and Union Street. We walked to all three. Being on Lombard can be a bit loud at times because of the traffic. Unfortuately our room was right on Lombard, so leaving the window open resulted in a lot of noise from the traffic. Get a room away from Lombard. Most of the rooms are located off the road. Also, had free parking, an issue in SF. The staff was helpful, and the room was clean. It was just what it was supposed to be for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The marina district, the Presidio, Ghiardelli Square, Cable car station, Union St., all within walking distance. Ten blocks should get you to the furthest destination.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Utah
Oct 16, 2009

Good Value

First night had a VERY small room; bed only, no desk/table. Was moved to a larger room for remainder of stay. Great value with free parking (if you have a SMALL car)and free wireless internet (forget about the free breakfast (instant coffee and pre-packaged muffins). On a busy street so a bit of traffic noise. Safe neighborhood. Don't let them put you in room 201.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

3 blocks to Union Street (not Union square) restaurants / bars

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yale
Business
Lakeport, CA 95453, USA
Apr 13, 2013

The Best place to stay.

This is a great value and an excelent place to stay when in San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago, il
Jul 27, 2009

excellent value

The paperwork between Orbitz & Francisco Bay Inn got lost in the shuffle so when I showed up at 4:00 a.m. they had not heard of me. However, a 5 minute interaction at the front desk solved that. For the balance of the week the staff was quite helpful. This is a great hotel for the value oriented guest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Golden Band
Business
Inland Empire, CA
Sep 21, 2014

Good value for a hotel near waterfront

I selected this hotel mainly for the convenience of the location: walking distance from the piers. That being said, relative to other hotels in the area this was a great value. The staff was helpful in getting everything going smoothly in checking in and out. Free breakfast was nothing to write home about - just some factory items in the lobby! But who cares about that, really? The room was spacious (the bathroom especially) and clean. What else do you need?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
FENTON, MI
May 19, 2008

Good Value Hotel

The Francisco Bay Inn was in a great location, very walkable to nearby restaurants and sights within the city. Also, parking was free. I will stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of nearby restaurants for dining options.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top