$133 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 17, 2014 Check-out: Jul 18, 2014

Francisco Bay Inn

2 stars
1501 Lombard St., San Francisco, CA 94123
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
72 reviews
Great room and location for the price

Our stay was a awsome experience. Great location.the price was a good deal. Clean and nice staff. See full review

  • Jimmy James
  • Apr 23, 2014
Basic hotel for your needs.

The hotel room was not very updated but this didn't bother us. Wifi was included as well as a small... See full review

  • Savy Explorer
  • Mar 13, 2014
Located on San Francisco's famous Lombard Street - home to the Golden Gate Bridge and The Crookedest Street in the World. The Francisco Bay Inn provides spacious, comfortable accommodation for thousands of travelers each year. Our recently renovated rooms coupled with our excellent service will help make the Francisco Bay a special part of your stay in San Francisco. Our amenities include FREE Parking, FREE continental breakfast FREE Hi-Speed Wireless Internet Access, in-room microwave and refrigerator, cable TV with HBO, and free tour pickup. All of our rooms are 100 percent non-smoking. The Francisco Bay is AAA approved and a member of the San Francisco Convention and Visitors Bureau.

Francisco Bay Inn Rooms

Superior King Room
We welcome you to enjoy our newly remodeled rooms. This guest room includes one king bed, free continental breakfast, in-room microwave and refrigerator, free in-room coffee and tea, hairdryer and cable TV with HBO.
Superior Double Room
We welcome you to enjoy our newly remodeled rooms. This guest room includes two double beds, free continental breakfast, in-room microwave and refrigerator, free in-room coffee and tea, hairdryer and cable TV with HBO.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
General
Concierge
Dining
Free breakfast
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Francisco Bay Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.8009 -122.4264
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport and Oakland Airport.
Area description
Located 1/5 mile from Marina Green, 1 mile from hiking and bicycle trails, 3 blocks from boutique shopping, designers and jewelry, 1/4 mile from movie theaters, 1/2 mile from Opera House and Herbst Theater and 1/4 mile walk to Golden Gate Bridge.

Nearby points of interest

  • Lombard Street: 0 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 0.4 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 0.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.9 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 0 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 0.4 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 0.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.9 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1 mi
  • Lands End: 1.1 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.1 mi
  • Palace of Fine Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Exploratorium: 1.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1.3 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.3 mi
  • Union Square: 1.4 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.6 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.6 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.7 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.8 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.8 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (72)

Ratings and reviews for Francisco Bay Inn

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mommomjoy
San Francisco
May 2, 2010

Good, price bad....very noise stree noi

We were impressed with the nice young woman who waited on us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mommomjoy
San Francisco
May 2, 2010

Good, price bad....very noise stree noi

We were impressed with the nice young woman who waited on us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TravelingCoupleDS
Fort Wright, KY
Jun 9, 2014

Good Location but...

We booked this hotel because of its free parking, location in San Fran and that it was a lower price hotel in that area. We did get the free parking- there are spaces out front that get filled fast and some in the back. If those are filled, you have to double park and give your spare key to management so they can move your vehicle if needed. The location is great. We walked about 30 minutes to Fisherman's Wharf (You can avoid the big hills if you walk East on Van Ness and then South on North Shore). Also, the crooked part of Lombard Street is just 3 blocks away (up a giant hill, so be prepared if you walk). We had a room on the third floor on the Lombard Street side. It was clean enough with a good TV, microwave, and fridge (and blow dryer and iron) but the satisfaction really ends there. The decor is outdated, the soap made my skin feel weird, the breakfast was only pastries, donuts, and coffee/Lipton tea (and some very questionable fruit), the mattress was springy, and the check-in process was waaaaay too long. We had to wait nearly a half hour with lots of questions, a surprise $25 deposit (to be refunded 3-5 days later), and he copied our license and credit card "for accounting purposes that will be shredded after your stay". And the wifi was questionable. I only could get it half the time. And worst of all is that Lombard Street is super busy and loud. We had to turn on the fan on the AC to drown out the noise. As for the staff, they were friendly and helped point out some highlights for touring. Basically, for a place to shower and put your head, it's not a bad place. But if you are a light sleeper, are weird about hotels, or want to spend some time at the hotel, book a more known hotel chain. We also want to mention that the guy in front of us (without a reservation from here) got a lower price than we did by booking online. His price per night was about $30 cheaper! Finally, you are just a short drive or city transportation ride from Golden Gate Bridge (drive through the Presidio) and Golden Gate Park (which had free parking in early June), both must sees for tourists. Oh, and bring a jacket with a hood because the coast brings in some cold wind especially on the bridge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

On Fisherman's Wharf (a 30 minute walk from this hotel), there is a series of fisherman stalls with fresh seafood and small restaurants behind. We ate at Nick's Lighthouse on Taylor St and it was so delicious! The seafood is deliciously fresh, well-prepared, and decently priced for the quality. We got a dish with fresh fish, mussels, crab, shrimp, scallops and calamari and my mouth watered. :) For wheelchair-bound customers: The restaurant is cramped so I doubt a wheelchair could get in there.

Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington
Sep 19, 2009

Good price, but...

People banging on doors at 3:00 am. Unexpected security deposit required upon arrival.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rebeljh
San Diego, CA
Aug 23, 2010

Location Location

The hotel staff was not friendly, at times rude. The Location wasn't to bad. The hotel is about 4-5 blocks from Fishermen's Warf.It is a nice walk over, lovely sights of the Chocolate Factory and Bay. The hotel did have free parking which was very nice saves you that hassle and fees. This hotel was the cheapest I could find for its location. If your the type of person who just sleeps in the hotel and is out and about the whole day I would recommend this place. If you like to hangout in the hotel do not stay at this hotel. This hotel is on/down the street from the Famous Lombard St - one-block section that consists of tight hairpin turns.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MeliFrigy
Arlington, TX
Jun 7, 2013

Decent for the price

This place was nothing really special, but it was decent. No real complaints. You can walk to fishermans wharf within about 15 minutes or so, so it's a pretty good location. Clean. Their "continental breakfast" is mostly just donuts and instant coffee which was a little disappointing but not a big deal. Overall it was good for what we needed, just a place to sleep and shower

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

There is a great Italian place in fishermans wharf. A little pricey but not too bad! My husband and I split a bowl of clam chowder and a pasta with shrimp and came out under $30. We were hesitant to try it since my husband is from Italy and doesn't usually like American Italian food much, but it was one of the cheaper restaurants besides fast food. He loved what we had!

Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boulder, CO
Jul 5, 2010

Great location reasonable price

After reading the other reviews I decided to go ahead and book this hotel. There were definite good and bad things about it It was a good location, walking distance to Fisherman's Warf, bus and cable car. Free parking was great, but the lot was small with small spaces. Continental breakfast was a joke. Choices included croissant, a couple of kinds of muffins, and apples. Worst of all INSTANT COFFEE. This was especially odd, since there were coffee pots in the room. We made a pot and drank that instead. Also, there was no place to eat it. You had to bring the tray down from your room and take it back there to eat. The bathroom was huge and appearantly newly renovated. However the room was extremely small. No place to put suitcases and no closet, just a rod above the fridge/microwave/coffee pot. Some areas of the hotel need renovation/modernization. Both elevators were very small, barely fit the 4 of us and our bags, and one was quite old. I never used that one again, too scary. The lobby was very small, and it appears the owner/manager lives in a room off the lobby. The lobby smelled of Indian cooking and it was easy to see into their living quarters. Finally, they did ask for a $100 security deposit against damage. Placed a hold on my credit card, but released the hold when I checked out. If you are a small family looking for a place near tourist attractions, where you won't be in the room much this is a good place. However if you are planning a longer stay or will be in your room a fair amount of time, look for something else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Fisherman's Warf and Ghiradelli Square were just a few blocks away.

Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
HellaErin
Mendocino County
Jul 21, 2013

quick stay

not bad for a quick overnighter to the city. And parking included, awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Garcia
Moorpark, Ca
Mar 28, 2013

Great family getaway

The staff were friendly and the room was clean. The only thing I didn't really likes is that our room was near the street and the room above us were a bit noisy. I like the fact that they have coffee at night and slight breakfast. It's a walking distance to the Fisherman's Wharf and the crooked street. I also like that parking is free. Overall, it was nice. I would stay there again if they give me room on the other side of the building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking distance to the nearby restaurants. Fisherman's Wharf is about 1.2 mile and crooked street is about 4 blocks. Prepare to walk on the uphill side of the Lombard street.

Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Utah
Oct 16, 2009

Good Value

First night had a VERY small room; bed only, no desk/table. Was moved to a larger room for remainder of stay. Great value with free parking (if you have a SMALL car)and free wireless internet (forget about the free breakfast (instant coffee and pre-packaged muffins). On a busy street so a bit of traffic noise. Safe neighborhood. Don't let them put you in room 201.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

3 blocks to Union Street (not Union square) restaurants / bars

Back to menu Return to top