$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 28, 2015 Check-out: May 29, 2015

Francisco Bay Inn

2 stars
View map of 1501 Lombard St., San Francisco, CA 94123

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Francisco Bay Inn

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
68 out of 68
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Modesto, CA
Jun 21, 2010

Decent location

Decent location, but very noisy. Even though the parking is free the spots are not big at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ready4Fun
Business
California
Sep 27, 2011

Not what I expected

Free parking is boasted, but what they don't mention is that the spaces are stark, and they are intended for tiny cars. Also, good luck getting a taxi from this location! The room was okay. Reasonably clean given the circumstances that the place is older, but it is certainly nothing special for the price. I made the decision to choose a hotel based upon this site, but if I could do it all over again and I was able to see the hotel in person before deciding, I would definitely keep looking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tbag
Business
ABQ, NM
Oct 7, 2011

Painful parking situation and rude Owner

A family runs the business there. The husband was rude and kept making inappropriate jokes. The wife was "normal". The Hotel charged too much for a 2 bedroom for my friend and 1 bedroom for me and my wife. The location is odd, because the parking is real a pain with the "Franklin" street as the one-way street. I need to make couple rounds of circling before I figure out how to get back to hotel. I hate SF, so the hotel was not something different. It is all about money. Too shame, SF did had good views, but that's it. People there were mean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fortuna, CA
Jul 29, 2008

Sadly Disappointed

At first appearance the Francisco Bay Inn looks somewhat inviting. I was very disappointed upon checking in though. The lobby was very small and untidy and I did not find the staff very friendly. Outside of the office was a window that looked into an unkept room that was connected to the office with an unmade bed in total view of anyone going to the elevator. I do not make a habit of looking into windows but you could not miss it. Our room was clean but there was no closet, just a shelf with a bar for our clothes. Morning breakfast consisted of your choice of a banana, croissant, two styles of muffins and two different types of doughnuts, INSTANT COFFEE, tea or hot chocolate. I think it was the instant coffee that I found unbelievable. We were asked to leave a security deposit in case anything was stolen (possibly the paper cups for our coffee or the plastic glasses for water perhaps) I had never experienced that before. We slept good and the bed was comfortable but we will never stay there again or recommend it to our friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Location to unique shops and an array of retaurants within walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Singa Mom
Business
San Frans
Dec 23, 2010

Frisco Stay

Was a bit of disappointment when we check into the hotel. Recept smell of indian curry aroma not something that u expect from a hotel recept. It is rated as an Inn. Breakfast spread was ok muffins fruits coffee juice, but need to eat in your own room. However as we extended 1 more nite without prior booking, eas a shock to be told later that the rate was 35% more. Was not very happy about the way they informed of the room charges for the extemnsion, ended up paying 99 per nite instead of the 64 for my previous nite cost. Lift was small and cram only 1 servicing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

to walk to lombard bendy street, the distance is near but it is an uphill walk,so be prepared.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington
Sep 19, 2009

Good price, but...

People banging on doors at 3:00 am. Unexpected security deposit required upon arrival.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mommomjoy
Business
San Francisco
May 2, 2010

Good, price bad....very noise stree noi

We were impressed with the nice young woman who waited on us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TravelingCoupleDS
Business
Fort Wright, KY
Jun 9, 2014

Good Location but...

We booked this hotel because of its free parking, location in San Fran and that it was a lower price hotel in that area. We did get the free parking- there are spaces out front that get filled fast and some in the back. If those are filled, you have to double park and give your spare key to management so they can move your vehicle if needed. The location is great. We walked about 30 minutes to Fisherman's Wharf (You can avoid the big hills if you walk East on Van Ness and then South on North Shore). Also, the crooked part of Lombard Street is just 3 blocks away (up a giant hill, so be prepared if you walk). We had a room on the third floor on the Lombard Street side. It was clean enough with a good TV, microwave, and fridge (and blow dryer and iron) but the satisfaction really ends there. The decor is outdated, the soap made my skin feel weird, the breakfast was only pastries, donuts, and coffee/Lipton tea (and some very questionable fruit), the mattress was springy, and the check-in process was waaaaay too long. We had to wait nearly a half hour with lots of questions, a surprise $25 deposit (to be refunded 3-5 days later), and he copied our license and credit card "for accounting purposes that will be shredded after your stay". And the wifi was questionable. I only could get it half the time. And worst of all is that Lombard Street is super busy and loud. We had to turn on the fan on the AC to drown out the noise. As for the staff, they were friendly and helped point out some highlights for touring. Basically, for a place to shower and put your head, it's not a bad place. But if you are a light sleeper, are weird about hotels, or want to spend some time at the hotel, book a more known hotel chain. We also want to mention that the guy in front of us (without a reservation from here) got a lower price than we did by booking online. His price per night was about $30 cheaper! Finally, you are just a short drive or city transportation ride from Golden Gate Bridge (drive through the Presidio) and Golden Gate Park (which had free parking in early June), both must sees for tourists. Oh, and bring a jacket with a hood because the coast brings in some cold wind especially on the bridge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

On Fisherman's Wharf (a 30 minute walk from this hotel), there is a series of fisherman stalls with fresh seafood and small restaurants behind. We ate at Nick's Lighthouse on Taylor St and it was so delicious! The seafood is deliciously fresh, well-prepared, and decently priced for the quality. We got a dish with fresh fish, mussels, crab, shrimp, scallops and calamari and my mouth watered. :) For wheelchair-bound customers: The restaurant is cramped so I doubt a wheelchair could get in there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TMurphy
Business
Tacoma,wa
Nov 28, 2014

New Years

The room was small for four people. The bed was uncomfortable and the room was not real clean. The staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mazda Mike
Business
Phoenix, Arizona
Jan 18, 2014

Clean / Friendly Staff

Room was very clean, hotel staff very friendly compared to others on the strip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top