$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 6, 2015 Check-out: Jan 9, 2015

Francisco Bay Inn

2 stars
1501 Lombard St., San Francisco, CA 94123
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
56 reviews
small but comfortable

Our room was a bit small but it had everything we needed...the staff were very nice and helpful... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jul 14, 2014
Great room and location for the price

Our stay was a awsome experience. Great location.the price was a good deal. Clean and nice staff. See full review

  • Jimmy James
  • Apr 23, 2014
Located on San Francisco's famous Lombard Street - home to the Golden Gate Bridge and The Crookedest Street in the World. The Francisco Bay Inn provides spacious, comfortable accommodation for thousands of travelers each year. Our recently renovated rooms coupled with our excellent service will help make the Francisco Bay a special part of your stay in San Francisco. Our amenities include FREE Parking, FREE continental breakfast FREE Hi-Speed Wireless Internet Access, in-room microwave and refrigerator, cable TV with HBO, and free tour pickup. All of our rooms are 100 percent non-smoking. The Francisco Bay is AAA approved and a member of the San Francisco Convention and Visitors Bureau.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Francisco Bay Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Francisco Bay Inn Rooms

Superior King Room
We welcome you to enjoy our newly remodeled rooms. This guest room includes one king bed, free continental breakfast, in-room microwave and refrigerator, free in-room coffee and tea, hairdryer and cable TV with HBO.
Superior Double Room
We welcome you to enjoy our newly remodeled rooms. This guest room includes two double beds, free continental breakfast, in-room microwave and refrigerator, free in-room coffee and tea, hairdryer and cable TV with HBO.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
General
Concierge
Dining
Free breakfast
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Lombard Street: 0 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 0.4 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 0.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.9 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1 mi
  • Lands End: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 0 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 0.4 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 0.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.9 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1 mi
  • Lands End: 1.1 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.1 mi
  • Palace of Fine Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Exploratorium: 1.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1.3 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.3 mi
  • Union Square: 1.4 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.6 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.6 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.7 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.8 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.8 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.8 mi
  • SoMa: 1.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (56)

Ratings and reviews for Francisco Bay Inn

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 56
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4
Value:
3.5

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
easygoing Eric
San Diego
Jul 15, 2012

Much better than expected!

We were actually a bit hesitant when booking this hotel: it seemed a good deal (cheap!), but the reviews were not particularly good... I must say that we were surprised: nice staff, clean rooms friendly cleaning lady, a daily (included) breakfast that was actually not so bad after all, and parking space on the hotel premises. We drive a (big!) Ford E350 passenger van, but also this turned out to be no problem. For people looking for the most bang for their buck, that do not need all the luxury (TV didn't work), I can only recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rowland Hts, CA
May 4, 2009

"The good, the bad, and the really ugly"

VERY Unfriendly Staff!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
London
May 8, 2011

Unhappy

Although I know on holiday's people tend not to stay in the room a lot, however, if you do plan to have any sleep at all, I would not stay here. This is most definately the noisiest motel I have ever stayed in. The room also stunk and the staff clearly were aware of this as the window had been left open when we arrived. Breakfast is virtually non-existant. Continental breakfast in my opinion is not chocolate doughnuts... I found the staff to be rude and parking is badly managed. On a plus side though, the motel is close to all main attractions. I am not always so negative and have never given feedback before, but felt on this occasion I had too on this particular motel. All in all our trip to America was very enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take ear plugs...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Jul 11, 2010

Avoid it !!!

We slept 2 nights at The Francisco Bay Inn. The room was cold, humid and smelt fuggy. We turned on the air heating to get warm but turned it off very shortly afterwards because the smell from it was even worse and disgusting. The people at the reception were not really polite and wouldn t answer at our "good morning", not smilly. At one a.m, a couple with one child checked in in the room on top of us and we could hear absolutely everything(steps, jumps, conversations, opening of drawers, shutting doors)and the room trembled at each step or jump from the little kid. I will not speak about the noise from the street due to cars (non-stop). On the next day, we asked for another room but they were quite unwilling to help and said there was not a single one available or that i would have to pay fees. Breakfast ok. (coffee disgusting, orange juice tasted chimical) chocolate ok, good muffins, bananas,apples. Free parking. We had paid 200 $ for 2 nights. On the 3rd night we moved to the hotel next door. Lombard Motor Inn. $ 98, super clean, beautiful furniture, private balcony, no smell air heater, nice staff, free parking, very large room. Delicious !!! but noisy because of the street but you couldn t hear your upstairs neighbours (we also had).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Roseville
Oct 18, 2008

a total dump...

This place is a total dump! Extremely cramped, peeling wallpaper, broken down furniture, tv remote held together with frayed electrician's tape, hanging rack for clothes squeezed in on top of the baby refridgerator ...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappycamper94941
Business
Marin
Sep 8, 2014

Loud, dirty and generally unpleasant.

Biggest complaint: the loudness from all the action, traffic, party animals reverberates along this stretch of Lombard St and echoes into your windows all night. Closing windows cuts out about 50% of the noise, save for when a loud truck barrels through. The hotel provided a pair of ear plugs on each nightstand - anticipating, er, knowing they are required to get any sleep at all - Since you have to close the windows to drown out the mayhem that is Lombard; your only choice for circulating air is AC: which only had two settings, essentially: arctic and tundra chill. I hated staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sweet VA Mom
Business
Virginia
Aug 4, 2012

Good Stay!

Convenient location for sightseeing and transportation around town. Needs repairs and upgrading. Staff helpful. Parking was terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Look at trolley and train schedules. They are both close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dcmac
Business
New Paltz NY
May 15, 2013

One day trip to San Fransisco

Room was average at best,tv did not work.Location good,staff helpful but both interior and exterior need an upgrade.Did like the free parking

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Volare is an excellent small Italian restaurant in North Beach on Columbus

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bluecliffs
Business
Palisades Park, NJ
Feb 8, 2014

Awful.

The room was too small about 12x8 foot for two people and not clean. There were no amenities at all besides a ice machine. Staying at this inn is just awful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Modesto, CA
Jun 21, 2010

Decent location

Decent location, but very noisy. Even though the parking is free the spots are not big at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ready4Fun
Business
California
Sep 27, 2011

Not what I expected

Free parking is boasted, but what they don't mention is that the spaces are stark, and they are intended for tiny cars. Also, good luck getting a taxi from this location! The room was okay. Reasonably clean given the circumstances that the place is older, but it is certainly nothing special for the price. I made the decision to choose a hotel based upon this site, but if I could do it all over again and I was able to see the hotel in person before deciding, I would definitely keep looking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top