$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

Francisco Bay Inn

2 stars
View map of 1501 Lombard St., San Francisco, CA 94123

Hotel Overview

Francisco-Bay-Inn-Hotel-Exterior
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
62 reviews
Great Bang For Your Buck

I don't know what everyone was complaining about. It's a great little inn. If your looking for... See full review

  • Seattle Chris
  • Mar 23, 2015
Great Service

Very convenient. Parking is free, which is awesome! See full review

  • P. W.
  • Mar 12, 2015
Located on San Francisco's famous Lombard Street - home to the Golden Gate Bridge and The Crookedest Street in the World. The Francisco Bay Inn provides spacious, comfortable accommodation for thousands of travelers each year. Our recently renovated rooms coupled with our excellent service will help make the Francisco Bay a special part of your stay in San Francisco. Our amenities include FREE Parking, FREE continental breakfast FREE Hi-Speed Wireless Internet Access, in-room microwave and refrigerator, cable TV with HBO, and free tour pickup. All of our rooms are 100 percent non-smoking. The Francisco Bay is AAA approved and a member of the San Francisco Convention and Visitors Bureau.

Top hotels

Francisco Bay Inn Rooms

Superior King Room
We welcome you to enjoy our newly remodeled rooms. This guest room includes one king bed, free continental breakfast, in-room microwave and refrigerator, free in-room coffee and tea, hairdryer and cable TV with HBO.
Superior Double Room
We welcome you to enjoy our newly remodeled rooms. This guest room includes two double beds, free continental breakfast, in-room microwave and refrigerator, free in-room coffee and tea, hairdryer and cable TV with HBO.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
General
Concierge
Dining
Free breakfast
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Lombard Street: 0 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 0.4 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 0.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.9 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1 mi
  • Lands End: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 0 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 0.4 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 0.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.9 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1 mi
  • Lands End: 1.1 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.1 mi
  • Palace of Fine Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Exploratorium: 1.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1.3 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.3 mi
  • Union Square: 1.4 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.6 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.6 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.7 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.8 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.8 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.8 mi
  • SoMa: 1.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Francisco Bay Inn

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 62
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Seattle Chris
Business
N/A
Mar 23, 2015

Great Bang For Your Buck

I don't know what everyone was complaining about. It's a great little inn. If your looking for quality like you would get at the Hilton, then go there. Otherwise, this was a great little stay. Super close to all the attractions and sights, and if you get a room on the 4th floor facing the harbor you have a view of the Golden Gate Bridge. The room was super clean every time we came back for the day, and the staff has been nothing but friendly. TV, Microwave, Mini Fridge, Coffee machine in room and a community ice machine and vending machines.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
P. W.
Business
Lynnwood
Mar 12, 2015

Great Service

Very convenient. Parking is free, which is awesome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Janet B.
Business
N/A
Jan 5, 2015

1st trip to San Francisco

Very friendly staff. Good location to most tourist attractions, crooked street, fisherman's wharf and many delicious restaurants. Would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TMurphy
Business
Tacoma,wa
Nov 28, 2014

New Years

The room was small for four people. The bed was uncomfortable and the room was not real clean. The staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
australia
Jul 14, 2014

small but comfortable

Our room was a bit small but it had everything we needed...the staff were very nice and helpful about doing touristy things. The breakfast was basic but nice. The location was kind of in the middle of anywhere we wanted to go so we ended up catching a few taxis. It was pricey for what we got.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Catch a taxi its cheap.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jimmy James
Business
Redding ca
Apr 23, 2014

Great room and location for the price

Our stay was a awsome experience. Great location.the price was a good deal. Clean and nice staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PaulaS
Business
Vancouver, WA
Apr 6, 2013

Great Location

This hotel was in a great location within walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf with plenty of bus options as well. The room was clean and the staff was helpful. The breakfast was limited but adequate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Garcia
Business
Moorpark, Ca
Mar 28, 2013

Great family getaway

The staff were friendly and the room was clean. The only thing I didn't really likes is that our room was near the street and the room above us were a bit noisy. I like the fact that they have coffee at night and slight breakfast. It's a walking distance to the Fisherman's Wharf and the crooked street. I also like that parking is free. Overall, it was nice. I would stay there again if they give me room on the other side of the building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking distance to the nearby restaurants. Fisherman's Wharf is about 1.2 mile and crooked street is about 4 blocks. Prepare to walk on the uphill side of the Lombard street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
San Diego Mom
Business
San Diego
Jan 11, 2013

Good value and location, bad parking policy

I stayed here with my two little boys and we were lucky enough to be assigned one of the few rooms with bay windows that overlook Lombard Street. The boys had a blast playing in the window and having their breakfast there, overlooking the street. The breakfast was good for a Continental breakfast--fresh donuts and milk. Generally the staff was good, but the night we arrived, the registration computer was not working right, the credit card reader (a separate machine) was sticking and the key coder (another separate machine) was also not quite working. It didn't seem like the problem was the clerk--he was calling all kinds of help, but the downside is that it took us 30-40 minutes to get checked in after a 10-hour car ride and my kids were tired. The most annoying thing is that the hotel has a deal with the next door dental office to let those customers park AND double park against the cars parked in the parking port at the back of the hotel. Every morning, it added 10-15 minutes to my plans to ask the front desk to call the dental office to ask their clients to come move their cars from blocking me in. I can understand the hotel wanting the extra income but allowing those dental patients to double park us all in all day long was too much! Let them park in the car ports and leave it at that! Otherwise, this was a good economy hotel with refrigerator and microwaves in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sweet VA Mom
Business
Virginia
Aug 4, 2012

Good Stay!

Convenient location for sightseeing and transportation around town. Needs repairs and upgrading. Staff helpful. Parking was terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Look at trolley and train schedules. They are both close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top