$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Francisco Bay Inn

2 stars
View map of 1501 Lombard St., San Francisco, CA 94123

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Francisco Bay Inn

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
68 out of 68
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
London
May 8, 2011

Unhappy

Although I know on holiday's people tend not to stay in the room a lot, however, if you do plan to have any sleep at all, I would not stay here. This is most definately the noisiest motel I have ever stayed in. The room also stunk and the staff clearly were aware of this as the window had been left open when we arrived. Breakfast is virtually non-existant. Continental breakfast in my opinion is not chocolate doughnuts... I found the staff to be rude and parking is badly managed. On a plus side though, the motel is close to all main attractions. I am not always so negative and have never given feedback before, but felt on this occasion I had too on this particular motel. All in all our trip to America was very enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take ear plugs...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San francisco
Feb 23, 2011

Good for the price.

1 Perfect location for tourims. 2 Good breakfast 3 The other thing is similiar with other same level hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Major attraction is walkable from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
justonenight
Business
san francisco, ca
Feb 21, 2011

One Night stay

We came to go out to fishermans warf, alcatraz, etc.. Located was good for us, hotel staff was not very friendly or helpful. Room was very clean, but freezing with the loudest heater invented! Price was reasonable, if booking through an outside agency! Failed to mention a one hundred dollar hold on the website, maybe thats normal though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Modesto, CA
Jan 4, 2011

Good location, cheap price...

The location was great. It was a couple blocks from many bars, restaurants, shopping. A mile or two away from fisherman's warf. The hotel room was clean, good size bathroom. Free parking and breakfast. I felt it was a good price for the hotel. I felt safe while being there. It has been the cheapest, best hotel in SF so far. I reccomend this hotel for people that want to go to the city and not have to spend so much on a hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

There were many restaurants, shopping stores, bars close to the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Singa Mom
Business
San Frans
Dec 23, 2010

Frisco Stay

Was a bit of disappointment when we check into the hotel. Recept smell of indian curry aroma not something that u expect from a hotel recept. It is rated as an Inn. Breakfast spread was ok muffins fruits coffee juice, but need to eat in your own room. However as we extended 1 more nite without prior booking, eas a shock to be told later that the rate was 35% more. Was not very happy about the way they informed of the room charges for the extemnsion, ended up paying 99 per nite instead of the 64 for my previous nite cost. Lift was small and cram only 1 servicing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

to walk to lombard bendy street, the distance is near but it is an uphill walk,so be prepared.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oakland, CA
Nov 28, 2010

Good Value

Clean, comfortable, and in a convenient location. I felt this motel was a good value for the money. Staff was courteous and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sam2022
Business
Los Anleges,CA
Aug 29, 2010

Wonderful Trip

Very Good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Good

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rebeljh
Business
San Diego, CA
Aug 23, 2010

Location Location

The hotel staff was not friendly, at times rude. The Location wasn't to bad. The hotel is about 4-5 blocks from Fishermen's Warf.It is a nice walk over, lovely sights of the Chocolate Factory and Bay. The hotel did have free parking which was very nice saves you that hassle and fees. This hotel was the cheapest I could find for its location. If your the type of person who just sleeps in the hotel and is out and about the whole day I would recommend this place. If you like to hangout in the hotel do not stay at this hotel. This hotel is on/down the street from the Famous Lombard St - one-block section that consists of tight hairpin turns.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Jul 11, 2010

Avoid it !!!

We slept 2 nights at The Francisco Bay Inn. The room was cold, humid and smelt fuggy. We turned on the air heating to get warm but turned it off very shortly afterwards because the smell from it was even worse and disgusting. The people at the reception were not really polite and wouldn t answer at our "good morning", not smilly. At one a.m, a couple with one child checked in in the room on top of us and we could hear absolutely everything(steps, jumps, conversations, opening of drawers, shutting doors)and the room trembled at each step or jump from the little kid. I will not speak about the noise from the street due to cars (non-stop). On the next day, we asked for another room but they were quite unwilling to help and said there was not a single one available or that i would have to pay fees. Breakfast ok. (coffee disgusting, orange juice tasted chimical) chocolate ok, good muffins, bananas,apples. Free parking. We had paid 200 $ for 2 nights. On the 3rd night we moved to the hotel next door. Lombard Motor Inn. $ 98, super clean, beautiful furniture, private balcony, no smell air heater, nice staff, free parking, very large room. Delicious !!! but noisy because of the street but you couldn t hear your upstairs neighbours (we also had).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boulder, CO
Jul 5, 2010

Great location reasonable price

After reading the other reviews I decided to go ahead and book this hotel. There were definite good and bad things about it It was a good location, walking distance to Fisherman's Warf, bus and cable car. Free parking was great, but the lot was small with small spaces. Continental breakfast was a joke. Choices included croissant, a couple of kinds of muffins, and apples. Worst of all INSTANT COFFEE. This was especially odd, since there were coffee pots in the room. We made a pot and drank that instead. Also, there was no place to eat it. You had to bring the tray down from your room and take it back there to eat. The bathroom was huge and appearantly newly renovated. However the room was extremely small. No place to put suitcases and no closet, just a rod above the fridge/microwave/coffee pot. Some areas of the hotel need renovation/modernization. Both elevators were very small, barely fit the 4 of us and our bags, and one was quite old. I never used that one again, too scary. The lobby was very small, and it appears the owner/manager lives in a room off the lobby. The lobby smelled of Indian cooking and it was easy to see into their living quarters. Finally, they did ask for a $100 security deposit against damage. Placed a hold on my credit card, but released the hold when I checked out. If you are a small family looking for a place near tourist attractions, where you won't be in the room much this is a good place. However if you are planning a longer stay or will be in your room a fair amount of time, look for something else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Fisherman's Warf and Ghiradelli Square were just a few blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top