$175 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 1, 2015 Check-out: May 4, 2015

Francisco Bay Inn

2 stars
View map of 1501 Lombard St., San Francisco, CA 94123

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Francisco Bay Inn

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
62 out of 62
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4
Value:
3.5

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sweet VA Mom
Business
Virginia
Aug 4, 2012

Good Stay!

Convenient location for sightseeing and transportation around town. Needs repairs and upgrading. Staff helpful. Parking was terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Look at trolley and train schedules. They are both close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
easygoing Eric
Business
San Diego
Jul 15, 2012

Much better than expected!

We were actually a bit hesitant when booking this hotel: it seemed a good deal (cheap!), but the reviews were not particularly good... I must say that we were surprised: nice staff, clean rooms friendly cleaning lady, a daily (included) breakfast that was actually not so bad after all, and parking space on the hotel premises. We drive a (big!) Ford E350 passenger van, but also this turned out to be no problem. For people looking for the most bang for their buck, that do not need all the luxury (TV didn't work), I can only recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jules Plots et Armand
Business
Palo Alto
Jun 5, 2012

comfortable and nice

easy to find, very good reception and quality. Not expensive. best quality for best price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mendodiver
Business
Willits, CA 95490, USA
Apr 2, 2012

Nice Room, Nice Staff

The bed was huge, the room was adequate, very clean, nice breakfast, excellent locations for our needs, tight parking but it worked out just fine. Very happy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Emilio60
Business
Mesa, AZ, USA
Mar 24, 2012

In the heart of San Francisco

The location was good, close to transportation and within walking distance to most of the local attractions. Room was clean and basic. Suggestions for improvement would include the continental breakfast: mainly junk food but not much nutritious. Instant coffee was a huge disappointment in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tbag
Business
ABQ, NM
Oct 7, 2011

Painful parking situation and rude Owner

A family runs the business there. The husband was rude and kept making inappropriate jokes. The wife was "normal". The Hotel charged too much for a 2 bedroom for my friend and 1 bedroom for me and my wife. The location is odd, because the parking is real a pain with the "Franklin" street as the one-way street. I need to make couple rounds of circling before I figure out how to get back to hotel. I hate SF, so the hotel was not something different. It is all about money. Too shame, SF did had good views, but that's it. People there were mean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ready4Fun
Business
California
Sep 27, 2011

Not what I expected

Free parking is boasted, but what they don't mention is that the spaces are stark, and they are intended for tiny cars. Also, good luck getting a taxi from this location! The room was okay. Reasonably clean given the circumstances that the place is older, but it is certainly nothing special for the price. I made the decision to choose a hotel based upon this site, but if I could do it all over again and I was able to see the hotel in person before deciding, I would definitely keep looking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
May 31, 2011

Decent, good location.

We were traveling to San Francisco to attend a couple of wedding receptions, one north of SF and one south, so we needed a reasonably priced hotel with parking. The hotel was easy to find on Lombard, and fairly convenient to getting to the 101 to go South, and also to get to the Golden Gate. Parking lot was free, but really tight (we had trouble squeezing the rented Dodge Charger into spots). Bed was OK, a little hard. Breakfast is instant coffee, orange juice, pastries, fruit (bananas). On the plus side, the room was largish, the bathroom was big, everything was really clean, and the room was quiet. Good selection of channels on the TV if you want to unwind a bit. On our next to last day, we took a 20 minute walk to the wharf area, which was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
London
May 8, 2011

Unhappy

Although I know on holiday's people tend not to stay in the room a lot, however, if you do plan to have any sleep at all, I would not stay here. This is most definately the noisiest motel I have ever stayed in. The room also stunk and the staff clearly were aware of this as the window had been left open when we arrived. Breakfast is virtually non-existant. Continental breakfast in my opinion is not chocolate doughnuts... I found the staff to be rude and parking is badly managed. On a plus side though, the motel is close to all main attractions. I am not always so negative and have never given feedback before, but felt on this occasion I had too on this particular motel. All in all our trip to America was very enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take ear plugs...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San francisco
Feb 23, 2011

Good for the price.

1 Perfect location for tourims. 2 Good breakfast 3 The other thing is similiar with other same level hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Major attraction is walkable from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top