$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 25, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

Francisco Bay Inn

2 stars
1501 Lombard St., San Francisco, CA 94123
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
56 reviews
small but comfortable

Our room was a bit small but it had everything we needed...the staff were very nice and helpful... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jul 14, 2014
Great room and location for the price

Our stay was a awsome experience. Great location.the price was a good deal. Clean and nice staff. See full review

  • Jimmy James
  • Apr 23, 2014
Located on San Francisco's famous Lombard Street - home to the Golden Gate Bridge and The Crookedest Street in the World. The Francisco Bay Inn provides spacious, comfortable accommodation for thousands of travelers each year. Our recently renovated rooms coupled with our excellent service will help make the Francisco Bay a special part of your stay in San Francisco. Our amenities include FREE Parking, FREE continental breakfast FREE Hi-Speed Wireless Internet Access, in-room microwave and refrigerator, cable TV with HBO, and free tour pickup. All of our rooms are 100 percent non-smoking. The Francisco Bay is AAA approved and a member of the San Francisco Convention and Visitors Bureau.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Francisco Bay Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Francisco Bay Inn Rooms

Superior King Room
We welcome you to enjoy our newly remodeled rooms. This guest room includes one king bed, free continental breakfast, in-room microwave and refrigerator, free in-room coffee and tea, hairdryer and cable TV with HBO.
Superior Double Room
We welcome you to enjoy our newly remodeled rooms. This guest room includes two double beds, free continental breakfast, in-room microwave and refrigerator, free in-room coffee and tea, hairdryer and cable TV with HBO.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
General
Concierge
Dining
Free breakfast
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Lombard Street: 0 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 0.4 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 0.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.9 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1 mi
  • Lands End: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 0 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 0.4 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 0.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.9 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1 mi
  • Lands End: 1.1 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.1 mi
  • Palace of Fine Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Exploratorium: 1.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1.3 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.3 mi
  • Union Square: 1.4 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.6 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.6 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.7 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.8 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.8 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.8 mi
  • SoMa: 1.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (56)

Ratings and reviews for Francisco Bay Inn

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 56
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4
Value:
3.5

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ready4Fun
Business
California
Sep 27, 2011

Not what I expected

Free parking is boasted, but what they don't mention is that the spaces are stark, and they are intended for tiny cars. Also, good luck getting a taxi from this location! The room was okay. Reasonably clean given the circumstances that the place is older, but it is certainly nothing special for the price. I made the decision to choose a hotel based upon this site, but if I could do it all over again and I was able to see the hotel in person before deciding, I would definitely keep looking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
May 31, 2011

Decent, good location.

We were traveling to San Francisco to attend a couple of wedding receptions, one north of SF and one south, so we needed a reasonably priced hotel with parking. The hotel was easy to find on Lombard, and fairly convenient to getting to the 101 to go South, and also to get to the Golden Gate. Parking lot was free, but really tight (we had trouble squeezing the rented Dodge Charger into spots). Bed was OK, a little hard. Breakfast is instant coffee, orange juice, pastries, fruit (bananas). On the plus side, the room was largish, the bathroom was big, everything was really clean, and the room was quiet. Good selection of channels on the TV if you want to unwind a bit. On our next to last day, we took a 20 minute walk to the wharf area, which was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
London
May 8, 2011

Unhappy

Although I know on holiday's people tend not to stay in the room a lot, however, if you do plan to have any sleep at all, I would not stay here. This is most definately the noisiest motel I have ever stayed in. The room also stunk and the staff clearly were aware of this as the window had been left open when we arrived. Breakfast is virtually non-existant. Continental breakfast in my opinion is not chocolate doughnuts... I found the staff to be rude and parking is badly managed. On a plus side though, the motel is close to all main attractions. I am not always so negative and have never given feedback before, but felt on this occasion I had too on this particular motel. All in all our trip to America was very enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take ear plugs...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San francisco
Feb 23, 2011

Good for the price.

1 Perfect location for tourims. 2 Good breakfast 3 The other thing is similiar with other same level hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Major attraction is walkable from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
justonenight
Business
san francisco, ca
Feb 21, 2011

One Night stay

We came to go out to fishermans warf, alcatraz, etc.. Located was good for us, hotel staff was not very friendly or helpful. Room was very clean, but freezing with the loudest heater invented! Price was reasonable, if booking through an outside agency! Failed to mention a one hundred dollar hold on the website, maybe thats normal though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Modesto, CA
Jan 4, 2011

Good location, cheap price...

The location was great. It was a couple blocks from many bars, restaurants, shopping. A mile or two away from fisherman's warf. The hotel room was clean, good size bathroom. Free parking and breakfast. I felt it was a good price for the hotel. I felt safe while being there. It has been the cheapest, best hotel in SF so far. I reccomend this hotel for people that want to go to the city and not have to spend so much on a hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

There were many restaurants, shopping stores, bars close to the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Singa Mom
Business
San Frans
Dec 23, 2010

Frisco Stay

Was a bit of disappointment when we check into the hotel. Recept smell of indian curry aroma not something that u expect from a hotel recept. It is rated as an Inn. Breakfast spread was ok muffins fruits coffee juice, but need to eat in your own room. However as we extended 1 more nite without prior booking, eas a shock to be told later that the rate was 35% more. Was not very happy about the way they informed of the room charges for the extemnsion, ended up paying 99 per nite instead of the 64 for my previous nite cost. Lift was small and cram only 1 servicing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

to walk to lombard bendy street, the distance is near but it is an uphill walk,so be prepared.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oakland, CA
Nov 28, 2010

Good Value

Clean, comfortable, and in a convenient location. I felt this motel was a good value for the money. Staff was courteous and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sam2022
Business
Los Anleges,CA
Aug 29, 2010

Wonderful Trip

Very Good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Good

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rebeljh
Business
San Diego, CA
Aug 23, 2010

Location Location

The hotel staff was not friendly, at times rude. The Location wasn't to bad. The hotel is about 4-5 blocks from Fishermen's Warf.It is a nice walk over, lovely sights of the Chocolate Factory and Bay. The hotel did have free parking which was very nice saves you that hassle and fees. This hotel was the cheapest I could find for its location. If your the type of person who just sleeps in the hotel and is out and about the whole day I would recommend this place. If you like to hangout in the hotel do not stay at this hotel. This hotel is on/down the street from the Famous Lombard St - one-block section that consists of tight hairpin turns.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top