$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 8, 2014 Check-out: Oct 9, 2014

Francisco Bay Inn

2 stars
1501 Lombard St., San Francisco, CA 94123
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
53 reviews
small but comfortable

Our room was a bit small but it had everything we needed...the staff were very nice and helpful... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jul 14, 2014
Great room and location for the price

Our stay was a awsome experience. Great location.the price was a good deal. Clean and nice staff. See full review

  • Jimmy James
  • Apr 23, 2014
Located on San Francisco's famous Lombard Street - home to the Golden Gate Bridge and The Crookedest Street in the World. The Francisco Bay Inn provides spacious, comfortable accommodation for thousands of travelers each year. Our recently renovated rooms coupled with our excellent service will help make the Francisco Bay a special part of your stay in San Francisco. Our amenities include FREE Parking, FREE continental breakfast FREE Hi-Speed Wireless Internet Access, in-room microwave and refrigerator, cable TV with HBO, and free tour pickup. All of our rooms are 100 percent non-smoking. The Francisco Bay is AAA approved and a member of the San Francisco Convention and Visitors Bureau.

Hotel Map

37.8009 -122.4264
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport and Oakland Airport.
Area description
Located 1/5 mile from Marina Green, 1 mile from hiking and bicycle trails, 3 blocks from boutique shopping, designers and jewelry, 1/4 mile from movie theaters, 1/2 mile from Opera House and Herbst Theater and 1/4 mile walk to Golden Gate Bridge.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Francisco Bay Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Francisco Bay Inn Rooms

Superior King Room
We welcome you to enjoy our newly remodeled rooms. This guest room includes one king bed, free continental breakfast, in-room microwave and refrigerator, free in-room coffee and tea, hairdryer and cable TV with HBO.
Superior Double Room
We welcome you to enjoy our newly remodeled rooms. This guest room includes two double beds, free continental breakfast, in-room microwave and refrigerator, free in-room coffee and tea, hairdryer and cable TV with HBO.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
General
Concierge
Dining
Free breakfast
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Lombard Street: 0 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 0.4 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 0.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.9 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 0 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 0.4 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 0.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.9 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1 mi
  • Lands End: 1.1 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.1 mi
  • Palace of Fine Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Exploratorium: 1.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1.3 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.3 mi
  • Union Square: 1.4 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.6 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.6 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.7 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.8 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.8 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (53)

Ratings and reviews for Francisco Bay Inn

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
53 out of 53
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.4

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
San francisco
Feb 23, 2011

Good for the price.

1 Perfect location for tourims. 2 Good breakfast 3 The other thing is similiar with other same level hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Major attraction is walkable from the hotel.

Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
justonenight
san francisco, ca
Feb 21, 2011

One Night stay

We came to go out to fishermans warf, alcatraz, etc.. Located was good for us, hotel staff was not very friendly or helpful. Room was very clean, but freezing with the loudest heater invented! Price was reasonable, if booking through an outside agency! Failed to mention a one hundred dollar hold on the website, maybe thats normal though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Modesto, CA
Jan 4, 2011

Good location, cheap price...

The location was great. It was a couple blocks from many bars, restaurants, shopping. A mile or two away from fisherman's warf. The hotel room was clean, good size bathroom. Free parking and breakfast. I felt it was a good price for the hotel. I felt safe while being there. It has been the cheapest, best hotel in SF so far. I reccomend this hotel for people that want to go to the city and not have to spend so much on a hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

There were many restaurants, shopping stores, bars close to the hotel.

Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Singa Mom
San Frans
Dec 23, 2010

Frisco Stay

Was a bit of disappointment when we check into the hotel. Recept smell of indian curry aroma not something that u expect from a hotel recept. It is rated as an Inn. Breakfast spread was ok muffins fruits coffee juice, but need to eat in your own room. However as we extended 1 more nite without prior booking, eas a shock to be told later that the rate was 35% more. Was not very happy about the way they informed of the room charges for the extemnsion, ended up paying 99 per nite instead of the 64 for my previous nite cost. Lift was small and cram only 1 servicing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

to walk to lombard bendy street, the distance is near but it is an uphill walk,so be prepared.

Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oakland, CA
Nov 28, 2010

Good Value

Clean, comfortable, and in a convenient location. I felt this motel was a good value for the money. Staff was courteous and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sam2022
Los Anleges,CA
Aug 29, 2010

Wonderful Trip

Very Good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Good

Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rebeljh
San Diego, CA
Aug 23, 2010

Location Location

The hotel staff was not friendly, at times rude. The Location wasn't to bad. The hotel is about 4-5 blocks from Fishermen's Warf.It is a nice walk over, lovely sights of the Chocolate Factory and Bay. The hotel did have free parking which was very nice saves you that hassle and fees. This hotel was the cheapest I could find for its location. If your the type of person who just sleeps in the hotel and is out and about the whole day I would recommend this place. If you like to hangout in the hotel do not stay at this hotel. This hotel is on/down the street from the Famous Lombard St - one-block section that consists of tight hairpin turns.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles
Jul 11, 2010

Avoid it !!!

We slept 2 nights at The Francisco Bay Inn. The room was cold, humid and smelt fuggy. We turned on the air heating to get warm but turned it off very shortly afterwards because the smell from it was even worse and disgusting. The people at the reception were not really polite and wouldn t answer at our "good morning", not smilly. At one a.m, a couple with one child checked in in the room on top of us and we could hear absolutely everything(steps, jumps, conversations, opening of drawers, shutting doors)and the room trembled at each step or jump from the little kid. I will not speak about the noise from the street due to cars (non-stop). On the next day, we asked for another room but they were quite unwilling to help and said there was not a single one available or that i would have to pay fees. Breakfast ok. (coffee disgusting, orange juice tasted chimical) chocolate ok, good muffins, bananas,apples. Free parking. We had paid 200 $ for 2 nights. On the 3rd night we moved to the hotel next door. Lombard Motor Inn. $ 98, super clean, beautiful furniture, private balcony, no smell air heater, nice staff, free parking, very large room. Delicious !!! but noisy because of the street but you couldn t hear your upstairs neighbours (we also had).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boulder, CO
Jul 5, 2010

Great location reasonable price

After reading the other reviews I decided to go ahead and book this hotel. There were definite good and bad things about it It was a good location, walking distance to Fisherman's Warf, bus and cable car. Free parking was great, but the lot was small with small spaces. Continental breakfast was a joke. Choices included croissant, a couple of kinds of muffins, and apples. Worst of all INSTANT COFFEE. This was especially odd, since there were coffee pots in the room. We made a pot and drank that instead. Also, there was no place to eat it. You had to bring the tray down from your room and take it back there to eat. The bathroom was huge and appearantly newly renovated. However the room was extremely small. No place to put suitcases and no closet, just a rod above the fridge/microwave/coffee pot. Some areas of the hotel need renovation/modernization. Both elevators were very small, barely fit the 4 of us and our bags, and one was quite old. I never used that one again, too scary. The lobby was very small, and it appears the owner/manager lives in a room off the lobby. The lobby smelled of Indian cooking and it was easy to see into their living quarters. Finally, they did ask for a $100 security deposit against damage. Placed a hold on my credit card, but released the hold when I checked out. If you are a small family looking for a place near tourist attractions, where you won't be in the room much this is a good place. However if you are planning a longer stay or will be in your room a fair amount of time, look for something else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Fisherman's Warf and Ghiradelli Square were just a few blocks away.

Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Modesto, CA
Jun 21, 2010

Decent location

Decent location, but very noisy. Even though the parking is free the spots are not big at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search