$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 8, 2015 Check-out: Mar 9, 2015

Francisco Bay Inn

2 stars
View map of 1501 Lombard St., San Francisco, CA 94123

Hotel Overview

Francisco-Bay-Inn-Hotel-Exterior
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
59 reviews
1st trip to San Francisco

Very friendly staff. Good location to most tourist attractions, crooked street, fisherman's wharf... See full review

  • Janet B.
  • Jan 5, 2015
small but comfortable

Our room was a bit small but it had everything we needed...the staff were very nice and helpful... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jul 14, 2014
Located on San Francisco's famous Lombard Street - home to the Golden Gate Bridge and The Crookedest Street in the World. The Francisco Bay Inn provides spacious, comfortable accommodation for thousands of travelers each year. Our recently renovated rooms coupled with our excellent service will help make the Francisco Bay a special part of your stay in San Francisco. Our amenities include FREE Parking, FREE continental breakfast FREE Hi-Speed Wireless Internet Access, in-room microwave and refrigerator, cable TV with HBO, and free tour pickup. All of our rooms are 100 percent non-smoking. The Francisco Bay is AAA approved and a member of the San Francisco Convention and Visitors Bureau.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Francisco Bay Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Francisco Bay Inn Rooms

Superior King Room
We welcome you to enjoy our newly remodeled rooms. This guest room includes one king bed, free continental breakfast, in-room microwave and refrigerator, free in-room coffee and tea, hairdryer and cable TV with HBO.
Superior Double Room
We welcome you to enjoy our newly remodeled rooms. This guest room includes two double beds, free continental breakfast, in-room microwave and refrigerator, free in-room coffee and tea, hairdryer and cable TV with HBO.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
General
Concierge
Dining
Free breakfast
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Lombard Street: 0 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 0.4 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 0.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.9 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1 mi
  • Lands End: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 0 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 0.4 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 0.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.9 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1 mi
  • Lands End: 1.1 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.1 mi
  • Palace of Fine Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Exploratorium: 1.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1.3 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.3 mi
  • Union Square: 1.4 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.6 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.6 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.7 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.8 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.8 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.8 mi
  • SoMa: 1.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (59)

Ratings and reviews for Francisco Bay Inn

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
59 out of 59
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4
Value:
3.5

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MeliFrigy
Business
Arlington, TX
Jun 7, 2013

Decent for the price

This place was nothing really special, but it was decent. No real complaints. You can walk to fishermans wharf within about 15 minutes or so, so it's a pretty good location. Clean. Their "continental breakfast" is mostly just donuts and instant coffee which was a little disappointing but not a big deal. Overall it was good for what we needed, just a place to sleep and shower

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

There is a great Italian place in fishermans wharf. A little pricey but not too bad! My husband and I split a bowl of clam chowder and a pasta with shrimp and came out under $30. We were hesitant to try it since my husband is from Italy and doesn't usually like American Italian food much, but it was one of the cheaper restaurants besides fast food. He loved what we had!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dcmac
Business
New Paltz NY
May 15, 2013

One day trip to San Fransisco

Room was average at best,tv did not work.Location good,staff helpful but both interior and exterior need an upgrade.Did like the free parking

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Volare is an excellent small Italian restaurant in North Beach on Columbus

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yale
Business
Lakeport, CA 95453, USA
Apr 13, 2013

The Best place to stay.

This is a great value and an excelent place to stay when in San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PaulaS
Business
Vancouver, WA
Apr 6, 2013

Great Location

This hotel was in a great location within walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf with plenty of bus options as well. The room was clean and the staff was helpful. The breakfast was limited but adequate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Garcia
Business
Moorpark, Ca
Mar 28, 2013

Great family getaway

The staff were friendly and the room was clean. The only thing I didn't really likes is that our room was near the street and the room above us were a bit noisy. I like the fact that they have coffee at night and slight breakfast. It's a walking distance to the Fisherman's Wharf and the crooked street. I also like that parking is free. Overall, it was nice. I would stay there again if they give me room on the other side of the building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking distance to the nearby restaurants. Fisherman's Wharf is about 1.2 mile and crooked street is about 4 blocks. Prepare to walk on the uphill side of the Lombard street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
San Diego Mom
Business
San Diego
Jan 11, 2013

Good value and location, bad parking policy

I stayed here with my two little boys and we were lucky enough to be assigned one of the few rooms with bay windows that overlook Lombard Street. The boys had a blast playing in the window and having their breakfast there, overlooking the street. The breakfast was good for a Continental breakfast--fresh donuts and milk. Generally the staff was good, but the night we arrived, the registration computer was not working right, the credit card reader (a separate machine) was sticking and the key coder (another separate machine) was also not quite working. It didn't seem like the problem was the clerk--he was calling all kinds of help, but the downside is that it took us 30-40 minutes to get checked in after a 10-hour car ride and my kids were tired. The most annoying thing is that the hotel has a deal with the next door dental office to let those customers park AND double park against the cars parked in the parking port at the back of the hotel. Every morning, it added 10-15 minutes to my plans to ask the front desk to call the dental office to ask their clients to come move their cars from blocking me in. I can understand the hotel wanting the extra income but allowing those dental patients to double park us all in all day long was too much! Let them park in the car ports and leave it at that! Otherwise, this was a good economy hotel with refrigerator and microwaves in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
A Wayward Traveler
Business
Sacramento, CA
Nov 1, 2012

Good for what it's worth

If you're looking for a place to have a quick stay for a very reasonable price it's hard to beat this place. Parking can be a bit hit or miss but I felt it was a good deal. The room was clean and the staff was helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sweet VA Mom
Business
Virginia
Aug 4, 2012

Good Stay!

Convenient location for sightseeing and transportation around town. Needs repairs and upgrading. Staff helpful. Parking was terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Look at trolley and train schedules. They are both close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
easygoing Eric
Business
San Diego
Jul 15, 2012

Much better than expected!

We were actually a bit hesitant when booking this hotel: it seemed a good deal (cheap!), but the reviews were not particularly good... I must say that we were surprised: nice staff, clean rooms friendly cleaning lady, a daily (included) breakfast that was actually not so bad after all, and parking space on the hotel premises. We drive a (big!) Ford E350 passenger van, but also this turned out to be no problem. For people looking for the most bang for their buck, that do not need all the luxury (TV didn't work), I can only recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jules Plots et Armand
Business
Palo Alto
Jun 5, 2012

comfortable and nice

easy to find, very good reception and quality. Not expensive. best quality for best price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top