$189 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Francisco Bay Inn

2 stars
1501 Lombard St., San Francisco, CA 94123
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
73 reviews
small but comfortable

Our room was a bit small but it had everything we needed...the staff were very nice and helpful... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jul 14, 2014
Great room and location for the price

Our stay was a awsome experience. Great location.the price was a good deal. Clean and nice staff. See full review

  • Jimmy James
  • Apr 23, 2014
Located on San Francisco's famous Lombard Street - home to the Golden Gate Bridge and The Crookedest Street in the World. The Francisco Bay Inn provides spacious, comfortable accommodation for thousands of travelers each year. Our recently renovated rooms coupled with our excellent service will help make the Francisco Bay a special part of your stay in San Francisco. Our amenities include FREE Parking, FREE continental breakfast FREE Hi-Speed Wireless Internet Access, in-room microwave and refrigerator, cable TV with HBO, and free tour pickup. All of our rooms are 100 percent non-smoking. The Francisco Bay is AAA approved and a member of the San Francisco Convention and Visitors Bureau.

Hotel Map

37.8009 -122.4264
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport and Oakland Airport.
Area description
Located 1/5 mile from Marina Green, 1 mile from hiking and bicycle trails, 3 blocks from boutique shopping, designers and jewelry, 1/4 mile from movie theaters, 1/2 mile from Opera House and Herbst Theater and 1/4 mile walk to Golden Gate Bridge.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Francisco Bay Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Francisco Bay Inn Rooms

Superior King Room
We welcome you to enjoy our newly remodeled rooms. This guest room includes one king bed, free continental breakfast, in-room microwave and refrigerator, free in-room coffee and tea, hairdryer and cable TV with HBO.
Superior Double Room
We welcome you to enjoy our newly remodeled rooms. This guest room includes two double beds, free continental breakfast, in-room microwave and refrigerator, free in-room coffee and tea, hairdryer and cable TV with HBO.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
General
Concierge
Dining
Free breakfast
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Lombard Street: 0 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 0.4 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 0.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.9 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 0 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 0.4 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 0.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.9 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1 mi
  • Lands End: 1.1 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.1 mi
  • Palace of Fine Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Exploratorium: 1.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1.3 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.3 mi
  • Union Square: 1.4 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.6 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.6 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.7 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.8 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.8 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (73)

Ratings and reviews for Francisco Bay Inn

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
73 out of 73
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
australia
Jul 14, 2014

small but comfortable

Our room was a bit small but it had everything we needed...the staff were very nice and helpful about doing touristy things. The breakfast was basic but nice. The location was kind of in the middle of anywhere we wanted to go so we ended up catching a few taxis. It was pricey for what we got.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Catch a taxi its cheap.

Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TravelingCoupleDS
Fort Wright, KY
Jun 9, 2014

Good Location but...

We booked this hotel because of its free parking, location in San Fran and that it was a lower price hotel in that area. We did get the free parking- there are spaces out front that get filled fast and some in the back. If those are filled, you have to double park and give your spare key to management so they can move your vehicle if needed. The location is great. We walked about 30 minutes to Fisherman's Wharf (You can avoid the big hills if you walk East on Van Ness and then South on North Shore). Also, the crooked part of Lombard Street is just 3 blocks away (up a giant hill, so be prepared if you walk). We had a room on the third floor on the Lombard Street side. It was clean enough with a good TV, microwave, and fridge (and blow dryer and iron) but the satisfaction really ends there. The decor is outdated, the soap made my skin feel weird, the breakfast was only pastries, donuts, and coffee/Lipton tea (and some very questionable fruit), the mattress was springy, and the check-in process was waaaaay too long. We had to wait nearly a half hour with lots of questions, a surprise $25 deposit (to be refunded 3-5 days later), and he copied our license and credit card "for accounting purposes that will be shredded after your stay". And the wifi was questionable. I only could get it half the time. And worst of all is that Lombard Street is super busy and loud. We had to turn on the fan on the AC to drown out the noise. As for the staff, they were friendly and helped point out some highlights for touring. Basically, for a place to shower and put your head, it's not a bad place. But if you are a light sleeper, are weird about hotels, or want to spend some time at the hotel, book a more known hotel chain. We also want to mention that the guy in front of us (without a reservation from here) got a lower price than we did by booking online. His price per night was about $30 cheaper! Finally, you are just a short drive or city transportation ride from Golden Gate Bridge (drive through the Presidio) and Golden Gate Park (which had free parking in early June), both must sees for tourists. Oh, and bring a jacket with a hood because the coast brings in some cold wind especially on the bridge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

On Fisherman's Wharf (a 30 minute walk from this hotel), there is a series of fisherman stalls with fresh seafood and small restaurants behind. We ate at Nick's Lighthouse on Taylor St and it was so delicious! The seafood is deliciously fresh, well-prepared, and decently priced for the quality. We got a dish with fresh fish, mussels, crab, shrimp, scallops and calamari and my mouth watered. :) For wheelchair-bound customers: The restaurant is cramped so I doubt a wheelchair could get in there.

Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jimmy James
Redding ca
Apr 23, 2014

Great room and location for the price

Our stay was a awsome experience. Great location.the price was a good deal. Clean and nice staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paul from the UK
UK
Apr 7, 2014

Good

A good budget hotel which isn't too far from attractions

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the Voodoo lounge, a great 'no frills' bar. We loved it

Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Charles W
Poole England
Mar 31, 2014

Good location but nisy

The hotel is in walking distance of both the Golden gate park and Fishermans Wharf. The room was OK and it had a nice refurbished bathroom but it could do with double glazing as there is considerable traffic noise from the road.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Bus 73 which stops in Chestnut Avenue within 100 yds of the hotel goes to Fishermans Wharf, China Town and Union Square and is a good bus to take to/from these attractions when your legs get tired of walking up and down all the hills

Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Savy Explorer
Denver, CO
Mar 13, 2014

Basic hotel for your needs.

The hotel room was not very updated but this didn't bother us. Wifi was included as well as a small breakfast consisting of fruit, donuts, pastries, and croissants. The hotel staff were really nice and helpful and the location was great for walking to nearby attractions and was not far from the bay. Also, parking was fantastic and we were able to park our car there after we checked out which was a huge help and expense saver. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Find a cheap or no cost place to park your car for the day and walk or take the metro to get around. It's a lot more fun and less expensive.

Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JesseTraveler
Dallas, TX
Mar 5, 2014

Great Location and Even Better Staff!

Other than the bed being a little to sunken, the room was nice and located near major sites and bus lines great for exploring the city!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Big Bus Tour line runs right passed this hotel and there is a stop at the corner you can walk to and hop on to sitesee the city!

Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bluecliffs
Palisades Park, NJ
Feb 8, 2014

Awful.

The room was too small about 12x8 foot for two people and not clean. There were no amenities at all besides a ice machine. Staying at this inn is just awful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mazda Mike
Business
Phoenix, Arizona
Jan 18, 2014

Clean / Friendly Staff

Room was very clean, hotel staff very friendly compared to others on the strip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Celarenee
Fairfield, ca
Jan 9, 2014

One night stay

This is the second time I stay at this hotel and I would say it's fairly convenient. It has free parking and the location is pretty good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top