$382 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 13, 2014 Check-out: Aug 14, 2014

Fairmont San Francisco

5 stars
950 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
256 reviews
Great value on the right dates

Walking into the Fairmont Nob Hill, your stresses seem to melt away. Staffing, ambience, room... See full review

  • Evor C
  • May 29, 2014
Nob Hill Perfection

From the moment we pulled up to the panoramic views of the bay area and city we were floored. The... See full review

  • Will Somm
  • May 5, 2014
Historic grandeur overlooking the Golden Gate City

This Nob Hill mainstay, dating back to 1907, blends contemporary and historic tastes. Decorative touches such as marble floors and Corinthian columns evoke turn-of-the-century grandeur, while modern conveniences such as high-speed Internet and a full-service fitness center and spa keep travelers grounded in the present. Three well-regarded restaurants offer options for every meal, and the city's oldest Tiki bar provides a break from the formality of the hotel.

Highlights
  • The hilltop location delivers panoramic and breathtaking views of San Francisco Bay
  • Hop on any one of the city's cable cars right out front
  • Union Square shopping is only a four-block walk from the hotel
  • Valet and self parking are available for an added fee.
Rooms

Accommodations -- 591 rooms, 62 of them suites -- span two buildings: the original, circa-1907 structure and a tower built in the 1960s. Rooms vary in size (325-425 square feet; up to 6,000 for suites), but all come with flat-screen televisions, Frette luxury linens, MP3 docking stations and Miller Harris toiletries. Many also offer stunning views of San Francisco Bay, while Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all (fees apply).

Features

The hotel has received numerous awards, including the AAA Four Diamond Award and ExxonMobil Four Star Award.

Marble floors and Corinthian columns trimmed in gold accentuate the ornate Main Lobby. This area, spruced up in 1999, transports guests back to 1907, when the hotel opened. It may also transport TV fans back to the 1980s: Aaron Spelling's "Hotel" series was shot here.

The United Nations Charter was drafted in the hotel, and even the concierge service is historic. Dating back to 1973, it's the first formal concierge desk in the U.S.

All guests have access (fees apply) to the on-site Club One at Nob Hill Health Club, a full-service facility with spa and fitness center.

Grab a Mai-Tai at the Tonga Room and Hurricane Bar, a kitschy-but-lovable Tiki lounge on site. On weekend nights, a band on a floating stage serenades patrons with Polynesian tunes .

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 miles)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 miles)
  • Cable car stops (1 block)
  • BART (6 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Fisherman's Wharf
  • AT&T Park
  • Golden Gate Park
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Choose from a variety of conference facilities on-site
  • The historic Penthouse Suite accommodates 100, and has an outdoor terrace.
Policies and fees
  • Parking fees are as follow:
  • Valet parking is $56 USD ($65 USD including tax) per night including unlimited access.
  • Self parking is $5 USD every 20 minutes or $15 USD per hour with a daily maximum of $56 USD.
  • Parking fees are subjected to 14% city tax & 1.5% Tourism Improvement District Assessment.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Fairmont San Francisco Rooms

Deluxe
Deluxe Room - Exterior facing rooms located in the Tower Building. Rooms renovated 2014. Each room also has a spectacular marble bathroom with separate bath and shower. Rooms have been updated with HD flat panel TVs and Keurig coffee maker and tea kettle.
Deluxe Suite
Penthouse Suite - Recently unveiled from a 1.8 million USD restoration the 6000 sq. ft. Extraordinary Penthouse features three large bedrooms - living room with a grand piano formal dining room seating for 60 people. Circular library crowned by a rotunda.
Deluxe Suite
Fairmont Suite - The Fairmont Suite at The Fairmont San Francicso is located on the top guest floor of the Tower Building - offering guests the grandest wrap-around views of the San Francisco City and Bay. It is like litterally sitting on top of the city.
Deluxe Suite
Cambridge Suite - Residential in style this elegantly furnished suite has an authentic feel to the charming tradition San Francisco offers. Ideal for business meetings and gatherings comfortably accommodating up to 40 people for hospitality.Flat panel tvs
Economy
Moderate Room - cozy and quiet rooms located in the historic main building. Renovated 2014. Moderate Rooms are most appropriate for budget conscious single travellers.All rooms have also been updated with HD flat panel TVs - Keurig coffee maker tea kettle
Standard
Fairmont Qn Qn NS Sofabed - Spacious Main Building Room with 2 Queen beds and Double-size sofa sleeper. Windows that will open with views of the Nob Hill neighborhood. Renovated 2014. Ideal for families. HD flat panel TVs-Keurig coffee maker - tea kettle.
Standard
Fairmont Queen ADA Roll In Shower - Renovated in 2014. Room is wheelchair accessible - Roll in shower - Entry door width is 40 inches - Bathroom entrance is 36 inches wide. The entry door peepholes are 44 inches - Front door security latch is at 42 inches
Standard
Fairmont Exterior Room - Located in the historical 6-story Main Building. Renovated 2014. These are large exterior rooms that feature high ceilings - exterior windows. They have a spectacular marble bathroom. Rooms have been updated with HD flat panel TVs
Standard
Fairmont QN QN ADA Hearing Impaired - Renovated 2014. Telephone vibrating device kit can be installed Strobes built into the wall - Accessible aid kit available upon request - Kit includes vibrating alarm clock - bed shaker - door knocker and visual alarm
Standard
Fairmont King ADA Grab Bar - Renovated 2014. Room is wheelchair accessible - Accessible bathtub with grab bars - Entry door width 38 inches - Bathroom entrance is 36 inches wide. The Entry door peepholes are 43 inches - front door security latch 41 inches
Standard
Fairmont King ADA Hearing Impaired - Renovated 2014. Telephone vibrating device kit can be installed - Strobes built into the wall - Accessible Aid Kit available upon request - Kit includes vibrating alarm clock-bed shaker - door knocker and visual alarm.
Deluxe
Deluxe Rooms - located in the tower building with views of the city. Each room has a spectacular marble bathroom with separate bath and shower. All rooms feature HD flat panel TVs- Luxury linen ensembles- pillow top beds- and Keurig coffee makers. Wired-w
Standard
Fairmont QN QN ADA Roll In Shower - Renovated in 2014. Room is wheelchair accessible with-roll in shower - Entry door width is 40 inches wide. Bathroom entrance 36 inches wide. Entry door peepholes are at 44 inches. Front door security latch at 40 inches
Standard
Fairmont QN QN ADA Grab Bar - Renovated 2014. Room is wheelchair accessible - Accessible bathtub with grab bars - Entry door width is 40 inches - Bathroom entrance 36 inches wide -Entry door peepholes are 45 inches - Front door security latch at 41 inches
Standard
Fairmont Exterior Room - Rooms located in the historical 6-story Main Building. Renovated 2014. These are large exterior rooms that feature high ceilings- exterior windows and large closets. They also have a spectacular marble bathroom. HD flat panel tvs.
Standard
Fairmont Queen Rooms - non-smoking. Newly renovated 2014. These classic guest rooms are located in the historical 6-story Main Building. These rooms feature high ceilings-large closets. They also have a spectacular marble bathroom. All rooms feature HD fl
Standard
Fairmont Room - Located in the historical 6-story Main Building. Rooms were renovated 2014. These are medium sized interior rooms that feature high ceilings - interior windows and large closets. Spectacular marble bathrooms - rooms have HD flat panel TVs.
Standard
Fairmont King NS Sofabed - Spacious Main Building Room with 1 King bed and Double-size sofa sleeper. Rooms have been updated with HD flat panel TVs-Keurig coffee maker-tea kettle. windows that open with views of the Nob Hill neighborhood.Renovated in 2014
Suite
Main Building Suite - One and Two Bedroom Suites. Particularly spacious comprised of a parlor with a queen size sofa sleeper bedroom and one bathroom. Renovated 2014. The bedroom and living room are separated by door for privacy.Suites are unique in decor
Suite
Signature Golden Gate Suite - Spectacular panoramic views of the city and Bay and the iconic Golden Gate Bridge. On 12th floor and higher. Newly renovated corner suite with King bed separate parlor with sofa-sleeper marble bath walk-in shower and bathtub.
Suite
Main Building Two Bedroom Suite - Two Bedroom Suites are particularly spacious - comprised of a parlor- a bedroom and bathroom - and a second connecting bedroom with another marble bathroom. The bedroom and living room are separated by a door for privacy.
Suite
Two Bedroom Main Building Corner Suite - Largest Main Building suites featuring Nob Hill neighborhood views. Located on floors 2-6th - Corner suite with King bed. Separate parlor with Queen size sofa sleeper and two full bathrooms. Renovated 2014. Ideal f
Deluxe
Deluxe QN QN ADA Roll In Shower - Renovated 2014. Room is wheelchair accessible-Roll in shower-Entry door width 34 inches-Bathroom entrance 36 inches wide-Entry door peepholes are 44 inches-Front door security latch is at 41 inches-Door handles 38 inches.
Suite
Tower Suite ADA Grab Bar - Room was renovated 2014. King bed with sofa sleeper in living room. Room is wheelchair accessible. Bathtub with grab bars and entry door width is 34 inches. Bathroom entrance 36 inches wide.Entry door peepholes are at 57 inches
Suite
Main Building Corner Suite - Largest Main Building suites featuring Nob Hill neighborhood views. Located on floors 2-6th - Corner suite with King bed. Separate parlor with Queen size sofa sleeper and two full bathrooms. Renovated 2014. Ideal for families.
Suite
Two Bedroom Signature Golden Gate Suite - Signature Golden Gate Suites offer spectacular panoramic views of the city and the Bay plus the Iconic Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz. Equipped with telescopes in living room which is separated from the bedroom.
Suite
Tower Building Two Bedroom Suites - The most breathtaking views of the San Francisco Bay and city. Tower 2-Bedroom Suites are contemporary in design- with 2 bedrooms-living room with sofabed in between. Bedrooms close off from the living room with a door.
Suite
Main Building Balcony Suite - Romantic balcony suite. Renovated 2014. Each suite is comprised of parlor with a double size sofa sleeper bedroom and one bathroom. The bedroom and living room are separated by door for privacy. Each suite is unique in decor.
Suite
Tower Suite - One or Two Bedrooms Tower Building Suites afford the most breathtaking views of the San Francisco Bay and city. Renovated 2014. Contemporary in design Tower Suites have views from both bedroom and living room with door in between for privacy
Suite
Main Building Balcony Two Bedroom Suite - Desirable because of the balcony-each Suite is comprised of parlor-bedroom and one bathroom. Bedroom and living room are separated by a privacy door. Each suite is unique in decor layout and size-updated amenities
Superior
Signature Room - located in the Tower Building with spectacular views of the San Francisco Bay. Renovated 2014. Each room has a spectacular marble bathroom with separate bath and shower. Rooms have also been updated with HD flat panel TVs -pillow top beds
Superior
Signature Room - located in the Tower Building with spectacular views of the San Francisco Bay. Renovated 2014. Room have a spectacular marble bathroom with separate bath and shower. All rooms have been updated with HD flat panel TVs- Keurig coffee maker.
Superior
Signature QN QN ADA Grab Bar - Room was renovated 2014. Room is wheelchair accessible -Bathtub with grab bars - Entry door width 34 inches - Bathroom entrance is 36 inches wide -Entry door peepholes is 44 inches - Front door security latch is at 40 inches
Deluxe
Deluxe Room - Exterior facing rooms located in Tower Building. Renovated 2014. Each room has a spectacular marble bathroom with separate bath and shower. Rooms have also been updated with HD flat panel TVs-luxury linens pillow top beds Keurig coffee maker
Superior
Signature King ADA Roll In Shower - Renovated 2014. Room is wheelchair accessible with roll in shower - Entry door width 34 inches - Bathroom entrance is 36 inches wide and Entry door peepholes are at 44 inches - Front door security latch is at 41 inches.
Superior
Signature QN QN ADA Hearing Impaired - Renovated 2014. Telephone vibrating device kit can be installed. Strobes built into the wall Accessible aid kit available upon request. Kit includes vibrating alarm clock - bed shaker - door knocker and visual alarm.
Deluxe
Deluxe QN QN ADA Hearing Impaired - Renovated 2014. Telephone vibrating device Kit can be installed - Strobes built into the wall - Accessible Aid Kit available upon request- Kit includes vibrating alarm clock - bed shaker - door knocker and visual alarm.
Deluxe
Deluxe King ADA Grab Bar - Deluxe Rooms renovated 2014. Room is wheelchair accessible - bathtub with grab bars-Entry door width 34 inches-Bathroom entrance is 36 inches wide and Entry door peepholes are at 48 inches-Front door security latch is 48 inches.
Deluxe Suite
Buckingham Suite - This Main Building Balcony Specialty Suite welcomes you with parquet floored foyer. Leading into a wood - paneled parlor with decorative fireplace and dry bar. The glass-enclosed balcony offers spectacular views of Fairmont Roof Garden.
Deluxe Suite
Diplomat Suite - The Diplomatic Suite at The Fairmont San Francisco is located on the 22nd floor of the Tower. Features a fashionable design that includes a spacious bedroom - wet bar - full stereo system - plasma flat screen tv and half bath for guests.
Deluxe Suite
Napoleon Suite - The Napoleon Suite is the perfect home away from home. This apartment style specialty suite has a spacious parlour offering a full kitchen with one bedroom and two bathrooms-contains a washer and dryer. Suite is popular for extended stays

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Night club
Children's activities
Golf
Jogging track
Play ground
Boating
Steam bath
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Copy service
Currency exchange
News stand
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
Blackboard
White board
Conference suite
Cellular telephone rental
Computer rental
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub
Trouser press
Wet bar

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Fairmont San Francisco also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7923 -122.41
Nearby airports
San Francisco Intl Airport, (SFO), 14.00, MI, N; Oakland Intl Airport, (OAK), 20.00, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Grace Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.7 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.7 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.8 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1 mi
  • SoMa: 1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.1 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.1 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.1 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.1 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.2 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.2 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.2 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.2 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.3 mi
  • Lands End: 1.6 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 1.8 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 2 mi

Dining

Tonga Room Hurricane Bar
Serving Pacific Rim Comfort Cuisine, Tonga Room has a San Francisco tradition for more than 65 years. Reservations Recommended. For more information visit: www.TongaRoom.com
Afternoon Tea
Served in the Laurel Court Restaurant - afternoon tea has been a tradition for San Franciscans and the guests of our hotel since the opening of the Fairmont San Francisco in 1907. Sat-Sun 1:30PM - 3:30PM Weekday Offerings for parties of 25 ppl or more

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (256)

Ratings and reviews for Fairmont San Francisco

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
135 out of 256
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
2th mvr
Vancouver, WA
Aug 22, 2012

Not what we expected from the Fairmont

We have stayed at the Fairmont in Seattle before andhad a wonderful experience. We can't say the same for this Fairmont. At check in, no one bothered to tell us thay had given away our reservation for a queen size bed. Instead they just sent us to our room and hoped we couldn't tell the difference. When we called down to the front desk they told us they were sold out for that night but the following night they would move us into a queen bed room. The front desk person told us to bring our luggage down with us the next morning and they would see that it was put in to our new room. When we returned to the hotel the next afternoon to get ready for our dinner reservations, we asked if our luggage was in our room and we were assured that it was. We got to our room and our luggage was not there. I went down to the desk to ask where it was and was informed that we should not have brought it down that morning and that they were not sure where it was. The man from the bell desk was very rude and it took about 25 minutes to finally locate our luggage, making us late for our dinner reservation. To top it all off, the heater in the new room would not turn off, making it almost unbearably hot in our room - it was a very hot weekeknd in San Francisco while we were there. As we were checking out, we informed the staff about everything that had happened and were offered no apology or anything. This was not what we expected from a hotel like the Fairmont.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
slo, ca
Jul 12, 2010

Fairmont, SF

Beatiful hotel. If walking be ready for a stiff hill, huge. Asked if early check in (noon) was a problem. Told it was not. Luckily my wife said lets not wait for the room. They called my cell at 3pm to let me know room was ready. Bad form I thought. Great bed, very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LVCouple
Las Vegas, NV
May 8, 2009

Fairmont--only fair

The hotel is beautiful and historic; public areas are elegant, and the view from our room was spectacular. Efficiency and friendliness of staff was hit or miss...Check-in was smooth and easy, and housekeepers were diligent and accommodating. However, several times the concierges on duty were doing paperwork or on the phone and couldn't be bothered making eye contact as we stood at the desk waiting for some sign that they'd attend to us. The hosts at the restaurants and the staff in the shops were standoffish. Our room was spotless; the bed was luxurious; the shower was fantastic. But there were a few small things about the room that detracted from our stay--nothing we'd even mention at a lesser property, but this is is the San Francisco Fairmont, so expectations run high. Among the little annoyances: 1) No coffeemaker in the room. And the coffee bar in the lobby closes ridiculously early. The front desk clerk explained that the hotel thought it would be "better" for guests if the hotel provided coffee or tea to the room. Translation: Without coffee-makers in the room, exorbitant room service is the only option. 2) The in-room safe didn't work. We called to report this as soon as we noticed it and were promised someone was on the way up to fix it. Two more phone calls and an hour later we finally left the room without being able to lock away our laptops. The safe was fixed when we returned later, but still... 3) The TV took too long to warm up and as long as ten seconds to change from one channel to the next. Antiquated and irritating satellite system. Our most annoying experience: The concierge directed us to a computer for printing out boarding passes. The computer is in a hallway--one must stand at a kiosk while using it; nowhere to rest purse or packages or pen and paper. You must swipe a credit card to use the computer; for $3, you get 5 minutes. Sounds like enough time, but the computer and printer are so slow and cranky that if you hesitate at all, you'll run out of time. In our case, the boarding passes that printed out were illegible--no toner in the printer!!--and we had to have someone at the front desk reprint them for us; the person who did this told us that we could have just asked the concierge to print the passes, as lots of guests do. If that's the case, we asked, why did the concierge send us to the rickety computer at the kiosk??? In general, the staff we encountered were too often indifferent--not gracious or smiling or friendly enough. As elegant as the hotel looks, we found the overall experience a little disappointing. The Fairmont is lovely to look at, but world class? Hardly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Grace Cathedral, a block from the hotel, is a wonder!

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
slo, ca
Jul 12, 2010

Fairmont, SF

Beatiful hotel. If walking be ready for a stiff hill, huge. Asked if early check in (noon) was a problem. Told it was not. Luckily my wife said lets not wait for the room. They called my cell at 3pm to let me know room was ready. Bad form I thought. Great bed, very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Oct 16, 2009

San Fran Fairmont

This is a classic place to stay in San Fran as the hotel is filled with much history, but the staff is unfriendly and the hotel is so big that you can easily just become another number.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Skip the lobby bar at the Fairmont and head across the street to the top of the Marc for drinks instead.

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, DC
Jun 29, 2009

Nice, but fading

Service wasn't what we expected (forgot to leave new towels when old ones removed; one tiny soap bar for entire visit, despite a request; maid removed newspapers we wanted to take with us); Contrary to the Orbitz billing, wifi wasn't included in our rate (although it was free to any member of the Fairmont Presidents Club). And think twice about the Nob Hill location -- nice views, but it's a long trip down a very steep hill to go anywhere else in San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Palio d'Asti at Sacramento and Montgomery was wonderful.

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LVCouple
Las Vegas, NV
May 8, 2009

Fairmont--only fair

The hotel is beautiful and historic; public areas are elegant, and the view from our room was spectacular. Efficiency and friendliness of staff was hit or miss...Check-in was smooth and easy, and housekeepers were diligent and accommodating. However, several times the concierges on duty were doing paperwork or on the phone and couldn't be bothered making eye contact as we stood at the desk waiting for some sign that they'd attend to us. The hosts at the restaurants and the staff in the shops were standoffish. Our room was spotless; the bed was luxurious; the shower was fantastic. But there were a few small things about the room that detracted from our stay--nothing we'd even mention at a lesser property, but this is is the San Francisco Fairmont, so expectations run high. Among the little annoyances: 1) No coffeemaker in the room. And the coffee bar in the lobby closes ridiculously early. The front desk clerk explained that the hotel thought it would be "better" for guests if the hotel provided coffee or tea to the room. Translation: Without coffee-makers in the room, exorbitant room service is the only option. 2) The in-room safe didn't work. We called to report this as soon as we noticed it and were promised someone was on the way up to fix it. Two more phone calls and an hour later we finally left the room without being able to lock away our laptops. The safe was fixed when we returned later, but still... 3) The TV took too long to warm up and as long as ten seconds to change from one channel to the next. Antiquated and irritating satellite system. Our most annoying experience: The concierge directed us to a computer for printing out boarding passes. The computer is in a hallway--one must stand at a kiosk while using it; nowhere to rest purse or packages or pen and paper. You must swipe a credit card to use the computer; for $3, you get 5 minutes. Sounds like enough time, but the computer and printer are so slow and cranky that if you hesitate at all, you'll run out of time. In our case, the boarding passes that printed out were illegible--no toner in the printer!!--and we had to have someone at the front desk reprint them for us; the person who did this told us that we could have just asked the concierge to print the passes, as lots of guests do. If that's the case, we asked, why did the concierge send us to the rickety computer at the kiosk??? In general, the staff we encountered were too often indifferent--not gracious or smiling or friendly enough. As elegant as the hotel looks, we found the overall experience a little disappointing. The Fairmont is lovely to look at, but world class? Hardly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Grace Cathedral, a block from the hotel, is a wonder!

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Omaha, NE
Jul 27, 2009

A little overpriced

good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, DC
Jun 29, 2009

Nice, but fading

Service wasn't what we expected (forgot to leave new towels when old ones removed; one tiny soap bar for entire visit, despite a request; maid removed newspapers we wanted to take with us); Contrary to the Orbitz billing, wifi wasn't included in our rate (although it was free to any member of the Fairmont Presidents Club). And think twice about the Nob Hill location -- nice views, but it's a long trip down a very steep hill to go anywhere else in San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Palio d'Asti at Sacramento and Montgomery was wonderful.

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
stokie101
NYC
Sep 5, 2012

You get what you pay for

Be prepared to get the "undesired" rooms in the hotel (i.e. no city views) If you keep your expectations low you will be happy with room itself large bathroom small queen size bed and overall very clean. Dont expect any free amenities like in-room coffee or complimentary water bottles. Do expect to pay over 50 bucks for valet parking and long lines for the Tonga room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Head to "new" chinatown instead for better food and bargains!

Back to menu Return to top