$299 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Fairmont San Francisco

5 stars
View map of 950 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Fairmont San Francisco

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
177 out of 177
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Pittsburgh PA
Jul 19, 2011

Fairmont Hotel

A Lavish and beautiful hotel. Old world and well maintained. Reminded us of hotels in Rome. Pricey though but worth the splurge. Rooms expensive and a little on the small side. Only negative feedback is that the day we wanted to rent a car, the person at the onsite car rental desk called off sick, so we had to take a cab to the main location. Hotel is nicely situated on Nob hill. Excellent location is close to cable stop that can take you all the way down to Fishermans Wharf for about $6.00 which is also walking distance to pier 39. Expect a long wait for the cable cars but if you get it at off locations like here it is about 20 - 30 min, otherwise you are waiting a couple of hours. Best tour was the Alcatraz audio tour-a must see while in SFO.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Pleasanton ca
Jun 24, 2011

Great room!

Great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Atlanta
Jun 2, 2009

An Elegant Piece of History

Wonderful old hotel, nicely restored. Staff eager to please and well informed. Nob Hill is excellent location for vacation travelers, and doorman is quick to offer hotel limo to get to nearby restaurants, etc. But having to pay for web access is silly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Sacramento CA
Oct 6, 2009

Sept 09 Review

Overall, the hotel was very nice. However, we were able to hear noise in the hallway all night when people were walking down the hall and opening and closing their doors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Delray Beach, FL
Mar 21, 2010

Amazing location and hotel.

Awesome location on top of Nob Hill. Beds were so comfortable, we slept for 12 hours each on 2 nights of our trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Awesome breakfast at Roxannes. DO NOT bother eating at the hotel restaurant for breakfast. Way too expensive. Ate at E and O trading company too. Asian fusion. Good food. You MUST take a drive to the Marin Headlands for the MOST amazing views of the ocean and SF that you will ever find.

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
R&R mom
Business
mira loma, ca
Jul 20, 2009

fun city

Everything you need right at your feet. They only thing parking is so hard to find. The hotel offers parking for $50 a day, to much if you ask me. There is parking on the side of the hotel that they don't tell you about. You pay $10 and could stay until evening and by then you could park on the street without getting a ticket. The hotel is very nice. FYI the Tonga lounge does not open Monday and Tuesday. The other restaurant has ok dinner, you might want to go out to eat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Elleno
Family
San Francisco
Aug 28, 2014

Long Weekend

Great hotel and location for sightseeing San Francisco. Very attentive staff. Never a long wait to get a cab either . It would have been nice to be able to easily get a cup of coffee to go in the morning. Did not realize there was a cafe on the very bottom floor. Once I did, I then stood in 15 minutes . Also the workout facilities were good but very crowded and although there was a water cooler , there were no available cups, although there were Water bottles available to purchase.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vaca123
Couples
new york, ny
Sep 8, 2014

Beautiful Hotel

This a beautiful hotel with a lot of history. Please note, there are BIG hills all around, you will be exhausted if you are walking anywhere! Room was clean, lobby was gorgeous, and front desk staff is friendly. One big minus is the bellboys/ guys standing out front are rude and not helpful. No one came to get our bags when we came in ( which i dont normally care about because i would rather get them in the room myself faster ) BUT when we were leaving i asked the gentleman outside, if the shuttle in front was the one i had a voucher for, and he responded " why dont you go and ask". Ummm also.. my husband had 2 huge bags, that he carried down himself, no one offered to help, and the guy just stood there. In short, beautiful hotel, very hilly, unfriendly bell boys.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lagirl1964
Couples
mobile, al
Sep 9, 2014

Wonderful hotel

The hotel is beautiful and in a perfect location. The history of the hotel is amazing as well. With that said, the room the we got at first was tiny. My husband said something about it being way too small for 2 people to stay in for a week and not allowing even enough room to unpack or move around and we were promptly moved to a little larger room. This one made all the difference in the world. The beds are very comfortable and the room beautiful. I was surprised to find out that there was a charge for the Wi-Fi but if you join the President's Club then you get it for free along with access to the health club so make sure to join it. We ate at the Tonga Room the first night and it was delicious. I would definitely recommend it. All of the staff that we interacted with were very nice and very helpful. I would definitely stay here again. Like I said, it is an amazing hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The "F" is the street car that travels between Fisherman's Wharf and Castro and you can take it for $2.25 and get a pass that will let you take it again in the next 2 or 3 hours for no additional charge. It is a little walk to get to it but it is all downhill and you walk past beautiful old buildings that you can look at along the way.

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mayor1
Couples
Eureka
Feb 24, 2014

Fantastic hotel

We arrived st the Fairmont, were greeted and escorted into the lobby. The Fairmont is a grand Hotel of the 'old School' and the lobby is stunning. After quick check- in we were taken to our room ( exterior, king) on third floor. Because the price was so reasonable, for San Francisco, I did not expect the absolutely stunning bay view, facing Alcatraz and Coit Tower. Truly stunning! Third floor was entirely renovated and beautifully appointed. I travel with a service dog , well trained and the staff were very charming and accepting. The Fairmont, with its rich history, beautiful architecture, stunning views and location atop Nob Hill, is now our favorite hotel as long as they stay affordable !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top