$449 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 11, 2015 Check-out: Aug 12, 2015

Fairmont San Francisco

5 stars
View map of 950 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Fairmont San Francisco

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
176 out of 176
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
East Bay Getaway
Business
Concord, CA
Dec 17, 2012

Holiday visit...

The Fairmont is a great place to base a visit to San Francisco at any time of year. Lots of hustle and bustle particularly during Christmas/Holiday season. Surprisingly, you have to request coffee set up in your room in advance. When we ordered a pot of coffee, it did not arrive for over an hour and only after we called about the order to Room Service. They did comp us for the coffee, however. But it remains a beautiful hotel albeit a pricey option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Phoebe1
Business
Houston, TX
Jan 29, 2013

Great stay

Great place. If you want a view you will have to pay a bit more. Stay in the main building, not the tower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Have a drink or dinner at The Top of the Mark across the street. It is worth the view. Also, try Nob Hill Cafe, great Italian and even nicer staff.

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Harriet J
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 22, 2013

Great location & historic to boot

The Fairmont is the perfect location in San Francisco! 3 blocks from Union Square, 5 blocks from China Town, a bit longer to Lombard Street Fisherman's Wharf, but all downhill and totally worth the walk to explore the city. The main Trolley Lines (California street and the Powell Street) are right outside the door! The staff is friendly & helpful and the rooms are spacious!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Cross California Avenue to visit the Top of the Mark at the top of the Intercontinental for a cocktail & spectacular view!

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KayKay10
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 22, 2013

Historic Charmer

Great moderate sized hotel with a ton of old world charm and within walking distance to shopping, restaurants, sight seeing, cable cars and cable car musuem right outside property, etc. The restaurant in the hotel looked mighty pricey but other than that, a wonderful stay - we did do the tikki bar and that was really fun. We would highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to Alcatraz - really educational and informative.

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gracie Lou Freebush
Business
Mexico City, Mexico
May 16, 2013

Overall impression:very good hotel but...

My overall experience was pretty good. Great hotel, kind staff, amazing room... but the valet parking service was way, way far from good. It took ages for them to get our car; about half an hour seems way too long to get a car that's in their parking lot, in the same building as the hotel. The worst part is that waiting for our car was not a one time thing. It happened every time we needed to have it...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WhatWhat567
Business
Kansas City, MO
May 22, 2013

Nice, but a few kinks

Overall, a great hotel. Great location in the city, easy access to everything, pleasant staff. However, the monetization of some typically free services was displeasing. Our room was nice, but whenever the A/C kicked on there was a -very- loud "click!" that woke us right up. So some rough sleep those first few nights, but we got used to it. Also, five-star hotels need bigger TVs!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BayAreaGuy
Business
San Ramon, California
May 26, 2013

Meh. It's okay if you're into fancy hotels.

If you're someone who has never been to San Francisco, and you want a piece of old-world charm and history (and price really isn't an issue), then the Fairmont is a good hotel choice. If, however, you're not all that interested in the amenities of a hotel and would rather spend your money on fun, food, entertainment, this hotel will just suck up your budget and leave you feeling buyer's remorse. The Fairmont is in a great location (Nob Hill, aka Snob Hill) with beautiful millionaire SF-style houses, a LOT of great views of the bay, interesting sites (don't miss the Cathedral just one block up the street!), etc. But a tiny room with a queen bed will cost you $300 easy, and parking is about $59 per night (plus an automatic 14% tax that's never explained). The Fairmont's restaurant is insanely expensive ($18 for a tiny bowl of regular oatmeal) and nothing to write home about. The Tiki Bar downstairs is quite a nice surprise, and there's no other like it in SF, but you can come hang out there without staying in the hotel. Be prepared to stand in line for a while unless you get there about an hour before opening. My advice is, unless you make over $100,000 a year, stay in a less expensive hotel and save your money for a show, shopping at Pier 39, or a ferry ride out to Alcatraz.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss the Grace Cathedral, one block up at California St. and Taylor St., and opt for dinner or dessert ($$$$) at Top of the Mark atop the Intercontinental Mark Hopkins hotel, both within walking distance.

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CJ2011
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Jul 29, 2013

Charming Hotel

I liked the old world charm of the hotel and the location was near a few cable car lines that made it really easy to get around. We got a smoking room, and the whole floor stunk right off the elevator, but I guess that's what we get. We walked to the hotel from BART, and we grossly underestimate how steep Nob Hill is, so that was definitely a bad idea. The only negative I have is that the hours and availability of the tiki bar were really odd and we could never get in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy a cable car pass that's good for unlimited rides for X number of days since you will be using it a lot.

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Seasoned hotel guy
Business
San Fransisco, Ca
Sep 30, 2013

Fairmont

1st class hotel with beautiful lobby, cool tonga room, and spacious room. Great bedding, nice tv, but needed bathroom fan and bathroom was outdated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

R & G lounge is walking distance (grant st.) and has great Chinese food. Salt and pepper garlic crab!

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hillaryromy
Business
Los angeles
May 28, 2014

Great Weekend Getaway

This hotel is beautiful, the rooms are pretty and cozy and make for a wonderful weekend getaway. The only downside is that walking back to the hotel from Union Square is all uphill, so for people who are out of shape, it is quite the workout. My only complaint is that the cleaning lady threw out two bottles of water that we had in the room, so I was forced to purchase the water in the mini bar for $8.70 (rip off) because it was too late to go find a Walgreens and I was so thirsty after that long walk back to the hotel. Otherwise, it is was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top