$449 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 11, 2015 Check-out: Aug 12, 2015

Fairmont San Francisco

5 stars
View map of 950 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Fairmont San Francisco

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
176 out of 176
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wellington, New Zealand
Jul 12, 2010

Fabulous Hotel, even better service

We were treated so well by the staff at the Fairmont, especially [...] at the front desk. She bent over backwards to extend our stay, made suggestions that really saved us some fund and was able to facilitat our late checkout...a real superstar! The hotel is grandious and lives up to it's first impresssion. The breakfast buffet is wonderful, you must try it at least once.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Join the Fairmont President's Club before or when you arrive. You will you not be charged for in-room internet access and phone calls as a result.

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
colorado
Jul 20, 2010

European luxury in San Francisco

Complete relaxation - the linens were superb. The Laurel Room and lobby are exquisite and of course the location cannot be topped. We had coffee at the garage level where we picked up the cable car. One of the best trips we have had. Loved reading the history of the Fairmont and seeing all the photographs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy a day or multiple day pass for the cable cars - you will save a bundle. Golden Gate Park is a must see. The museums are great as well as the Japanese Garden and Tea House.

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Saratoga, Ca.
Jun 15, 2009

Very nice hotel!

We enjoyed Fairmont very much, very elegant. The hall ways were wide and lighted, ( a plus) and the room were very classic and beautiful. The furnishings were very up dated and classy! Very comfortable bed and lovely linens. The T.V.. was large and the room was large enough for the 2 of us. We will come here again. Also let us have a late check out of 1:00. The restaurant, Tonga Room was excellent! food and service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Can walk to downtown and Chinatown. You can park elsewhere in the city if you do not want to pay the high fee for hotel/Valet parking.

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bay Area Local
Business
Concord, CA
Oct 6, 2009

First stay at the Fairmont

I was there for a short visit but recieved first class treatment from the staff. The rooms and the furniture is a little old and somewhat worn but it adds to the charm of the hotel. You really can't get a better view of the bay and the downtown area than this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester NY
May 5, 2010

GREAT LOCATION, Great service!

The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. They gave us great ideas for dining options (although hotel would have been a great option too). Gave good recommendations for activities (tour company, bike company for riding over the bridge). The bellman and concierge service was really great. Even printed our boarding passes on our last day!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Make time to see Beach Blanket Babylon. Great show - we laughed through the whole show!! Short cable car ride with a couple of block walk.

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ldy Di
Business
carson city, nv
Jun 2, 2009

An Elegant Getaway

I had no idea when I booked this hotel just what I was in for. Not only was the hotel fantastic it was in a perfect location for all the activities we were looking forward to. It far exceeded any expectations I had. The staff was very helpful and personable. The hotel was the most beautiful place that I've ever stayed in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We were very excited to find that the cable cars were a short walk from the hotel. Also the shopping was in the same location.

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newburyport, MA
Apr 22, 2009

Grand Old Hotel

A gorgeous, old world style lobby set the tone for a wonderful stay. When we asked that the mattress be flipped over because we found the new 'pillow top' type made for a too warm, uncomfortable night's sleep the matress was quickly changed and a note left wishing us a good night's sleep. There was coffee and tea in the lobby for early risers, 5 to 7 a.m. The Fairmont's location was absolutely perfect - with all three cable car lines passing by the hotel and many neighborhoods within easy walking distance and mostly downhill!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get a Muni pass and ride the cable cars and trolleys when going from one part of the city to another. A three day pass costs $18, whereas a one-way cable car ride now costs $5. There is a booth selling the Muni Pass at the Powell and Market Street cable car turnaround point.

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Busy Housewife of Three
Business
Redding, CA
May 16, 2009

Friendly and lovely placeto be

There is a nice park one block from the hotel for kids to play. The cable car is out the front door to ride on down the long steep hills. There is a couple of restrants in walking distances and down hill (walking shoes required) with great pizza! The room service was great with hot food and in a timely manner. We enjoyed it like other S.F. hotel (5 star ones), relaxing and the staff was good with kids. The rooms a very large compare to other S.F. hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

The GPS in your car might not take take you to the hotel but to the Presideo, so check with MapQuest or get others for directions to find the hotel before leaving your home.

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
oatleyr
Business
Miami
Jun 19, 2009

Gorgeous hotel, fantastic value

Orbitz offered an unbelievable rate ($129!) for this world-class, historic yet updated, beautiful, prestigious hotel. The room was gorgeous and exquisitely appointed, the service warm and solicitous, and the on-site amenities unique (try the historic Laurel Court afternoon tea) and top-notch. At the Orbitz-offered rate, this has to have been the greatest hotel value of all times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Try afternoon tea in the Laurel Court -- delicious, gracious, relaxing and ample enough to substitute for either lunch or supper

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sawyer mom
Business
Chicago
Aug 20, 2009

San francisco fairmont

Good place and great value

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top