$211 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 16, 2014 Check-out: Nov 17, 2014

Fairmont San Francisco

5 stars
950 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94108
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
172 reviews
Perfect

Perfect in every way. Service was just amazing. We couldn't have been more pleased. See full review

  • AYD79
  • Sep 5, 2014
Great Couple Getaway

King room was fantastic. Super clean and the room service was great. See full review

  • Jim Tessa
  • Aug 12, 2014
Historic grandeur overlooking the Golden Gate City

This Nob Hill mainstay, dating back to 1907, blends contemporary and historic tastes. Decorative touches such as marble floors and Corinthian columns evoke turn-of-the-century grandeur, while modern conveniences such as high-speed Internet and a full-service fitness center and spa keep travelers grounded in the present. Three well-regarded restaurants offer options for every meal, and the city's oldest Tiki bar provides a break from the formality of the hotel.

Highlights
  • The hilltop location delivers panoramic and breathtaking views of San Francisco Bay
  • Hop on any one of the city's cable cars right out front
  • Union Square shopping is only a four-block walk from the hotel
  • Valet and self parking are available for an added fee.
Rooms

Accommodations -- 591 rooms, 62 of them suites -- span two buildings: the original, circa-1907 structure and a tower built in the 1960s. Rooms vary in size (325-425 square feet; up to 6,000 for suites), but all come with flat-screen televisions, Frette luxury linens, MP3 docking stations and Miller Harris toiletries. Many also offer stunning views of San Francisco Bay, while Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all (fees apply).

Features

The hotel has received numerous awards, including the AAA Four Diamond Award and ExxonMobil Four Star Award.

Marble floors and Corinthian columns trimmed in gold accentuate the ornate Main Lobby. This area, spruced up in 1999, transports guests back to 1907, when the hotel opened. It may also transport TV fans back to the 1980s: Aaron Spelling's "Hotel" series was shot here.

The United Nations Charter was drafted in the hotel, and even the concierge service is historic. Dating back to 1973, it's the first formal concierge desk in the U.S.

All guests have access (fees apply) to the on-site Club One at Nob Hill Health Club, a full-service facility with spa and fitness center.

Grab a Mai-Tai at the Tonga Room and Hurricane Bar, a kitschy-but-lovable Tiki lounge on site. On weekend nights, a band on a floating stage serenades patrons with Polynesian tunes .

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 miles)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 miles)
  • Cable car stops (1 block)
  • BART (6 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Fisherman's Wharf
  • AT&T Park
  • Golden Gate Park
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Choose from a variety of conference facilities on-site
  • The historic Penthouse Suite accommodates 100, and has an outdoor terrace.
Policies and fees
  • Parking fees are as follow:
  • Valet parking is $56 USD ($65 USD including tax) per night including unlimited access.
  • Self parking is $5 USD every 20 minutes or $15 USD per hour with a daily maximum of $56 USD.
  • Parking fees are subjected to 14% city tax & 1.5% Tourism Improvement District Assessment.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

37.7923 -122.41
Nearby airports
San Francisco Intl Airport, (SFO), 14.00, MI, N; Oakland Intl Airport, (OAK), 20.00, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Fairmont San Francisco also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Fairmont San Francisco Rooms

Deluxe
Deluxe Room - Exterior facing rooms located in the Tower Building. Rooms renovated 2014. Each room also has a spectacular marble bathroom with separate bath and shower. Rooms have been updated with HD flat panel TVs and Keurig coffee maker and tea kettle.
Deluxe Suite
Fairmont Suite - The Fairmont Suite at The Fairmont San Francicso is located on the top guest floor of the Tower Building - offering guests the grandest wrap-around views of the San Francisco City and Bay. It is like litterally sitting on top of the city.
Deluxe Suite
Buckingham Suite - This Main Building Balcony Specialty Suite welcomes you with parquet floored foyer. Leading into a wood - paneled parlor with decorative fireplace and dry bar. The glass-enclosed balcony offers spectacular views of Fairmont Roof Garden.
Deluxe Suite
Cambridge Suite - Residential in style this elegantly furnished suite has an authentic feel to the charming tradition San Francisco offers. Ideal for business meetings and gatherings comfortably accommodating up to 40 people for hospitality.Flat panel tvs
Economy
Moderate Room - cozy and quiet rooms located in the historic main building. Renovated 2014. Moderate Rooms are most appropriate for budget conscious single travellers.All rooms have also been updated with HD flat panel TVs - Keurig coffee maker tea kettle
Standard
Fairmont Room - Located in the historical 6-story Main Building. Rooms were renovated 2014. These are medium sized interior rooms that feature high ceilings - interior windows and large closets. Spectacular marble bathrooms - rooms have HD flat panel TVs.
Standard
Fairmont Qn Qn NS Sofabed - Spacious Main Building Room with 2 Queen beds and Double-size sofa sleeper. Windows that will open with views of the Nob Hill neighborhood. Renovated 2014. Ideal for families. HD flat panel TVs-Keurig coffee maker - tea kettle.
Standard
Fairmont King ADA Grab Bar - Renovated 2014. Room is wheelchair accessible - Accessible bathtub with grab bars - Entry door width 38 inches - Bathroom entrance is 36 inches wide. The Entry door peepholes are 43 inches - front door security latch 41 inches
Standard
Fairmont King ADA Hearing Impaired - Renovated 2014. Telephone vibrating device kit can be installed - Strobes built into the wall - Accessible Aid Kit available upon request - Kit includes vibrating alarm clock-bed shaker - door knocker and visual alarm.
Standard
Fairmont QN QN ADA Roll In Shower - Renovated in 2014. Room is wheelchair accessible with-roll in shower - Entry door width is 40 inches wide. Bathroom entrance 36 inches wide. Entry door peepholes are at 44 inches. Front door security latch at 40 inches
Standard
Fairmont QN QN ADA Hearing Impaired - Renovated 2014. Telephone vibrating device kit can be installed Strobes built into the wall - Accessible aid kit available upon request - Kit includes vibrating alarm clock - bed shaker - door knocker and visual alarm
Deluxe
Deluxe King ADA Grab Bar - Deluxe Rooms renovated 2014. Room is wheelchair accessible - bathtub with grab bars-Entry door width 34 inches-Bathroom entrance is 36 inches wide and Entry door peepholes are at 48 inches-Front door security latch is 48 inches.
Standard
Fairmont King NS Sofabed - Spacious Main Building Room with 1 King bed and Double-size sofa sleeper. Rooms have been updated with HD flat panel TVs-Keurig coffee maker-tea kettle. windows that open with views of the Nob Hill neighborhood.Renovated in 2014
Standard
Fairmont Exterior Room - Located in the historical 6-story Main Building. Renovated 2014. These are large exterior rooms that feature high ceilings - exterior windows. They have a spectacular marble bathroom. Rooms have been updated with HD flat panel TVs
Standard
Fairmont Exterior Room - Rooms located in the historical 6-story Main Building. Renovated 2014. These are large exterior rooms that feature high ceilings- exterior windows and large closets. They also have a spectacular marble bathroom. HD flat panel tvs.
Standard
Fairmont Queen ADA Roll In Shower - Renovated in 2014. Room is wheelchair accessible - Roll in shower - Entry door width is 40 inches - Bathroom entrance is 36 inches wide. The entry door peepholes are 44 inches - Front door security latch is at 42 inches
Standard
Fairmont Queen Rooms - non-smoking. Newly renovated 2014. These classic guest rooms are located in the historical 6-story Main Building. These rooms feature high ceilings-large closets. They also have a spectacular marble bathroom. All rooms feature HD fl
Standard
Fairmont QN QN ADA Grab Bar - Renovated 2014. Room is wheelchair accessible - Accessible bathtub with grab bars - Entry door width is 40 inches - Bathroom entrance 36 inches wide -Entry door peepholes are 45 inches - Front door security latch at 41 inches
Suite
Tower Suite ADA Grab Bar - Room was renovated 2014. King bed with sofa sleeper in living room. Room is wheelchair accessible. Bathtub with grab bars and entry door width is 34 inches. Bathroom entrance 36 inches wide.Entry door peepholes are at 57 inches
Suite
Tower Suite - One or Two Bedrooms Tower Building Suites afford the most breathtaking views of the San Francisco Bay and city. Renovated 2014. Contemporary in design Tower Suites have views from both bedroom and living room with door in between for privacy
Suite
Main Building Balcony Suite - Romantic balcony suite. Renovated 2014. Each suite is comprised of parlor with a double size sofa sleeper bedroom and one bathroom. The bedroom and living room are separated by door for privacy. Each suite is unique in decor.
Suite
Tower Building Two Bedroom Suites - The most breathtaking views of the San Francisco Bay and city. Tower 2-Bedroom Suites are contemporary in design- with 2 bedrooms-living room with sofabed in between. Bedrooms close off from the living room with a door.
Deluxe
Deluxe QN QN ADA Roll In Shower - Renovated 2014. Room is wheelchair accessible-Roll in shower-Entry door width 34 inches-Bathroom entrance 36 inches wide-Entry door peepholes are 44 inches-Front door security latch is at 41 inches-Door handles 38 inches.
Suite
Main Building Two Bedroom Suite - Two Bedroom Suites are particularly spacious - comprised of a parlor- a bedroom and bathroom - and a second connecting bedroom with another marble bathroom. The bedroom and living room are separated by a door for privacy.
Suite
Main Building Corner Suite - Largest Main Building suites featuring Nob Hill neighborhood views. Located on floors 2-6th - Corner suite with King bed. Separate parlor with Queen size sofa sleeper and two full bathrooms. Renovated 2014. Ideal for families.
Suite
Signature Golden Gate Suite - Spectacular panoramic views of the city and Bay and the iconic Golden Gate Bridge. On 12th floor and higher. Newly renovated corner suite with King bed separate parlor with sofa-sleeper marble bath walk-in shower and bathtub.
Suite
Main Building Balcony Two Bedroom Suite - Desirable because of the balcony-each Suite is comprised of parlor-bedroom and one bathroom. Bedroom and living room are separated by a privacy door. Each suite is unique in decor layout and size-updated amenities
Suite
Two Bedroom Signature Golden Gate Suite - Signature Golden Gate Suites offer spectacular panoramic views of the city and the Bay plus the Iconic Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz. Equipped with telescopes in living room which is separated from the bedroom.
Suite
Two Bedroom Main Building Corner Suite - Largest Main Building suites featuring Nob Hill neighborhood views. Located on floors 2-6th - Corner suite with King bed. Separate parlor with Queen size sofa sleeper and two full bathrooms. Renovated 2014. Ideal f
Suite
Main Building Suite - One and Two Bedroom Suites. Particularly spacious comprised of a parlor with a queen size sofa sleeper bedroom and one bathroom. Renovated 2014. The bedroom and living room are separated by door for privacy.Suites are unique in decor
Superior
Signature Room - located in the Tower Building with spectacular views of the San Francisco Bay. Renovated 2014. Room have a spectacular marble bathroom with separate bath and shower. All rooms have been updated with HD flat panel TVs- Keurig coffee maker.
Superior
Signature Room - located in the Tower Building with spectacular views of the San Francisco Bay. Renovated 2014. Each room has a spectacular marble bathroom with separate bath and shower. Rooms have also been updated with HD flat panel TVs -pillow top beds
Superior
Signature QN QN ADA Hearing Impaired - Renovated 2014. Telephone vibrating device kit can be installed. Strobes built into the wall Accessible aid kit available upon request. Kit includes vibrating alarm clock - bed shaker - door knocker and visual alarm.
Deluxe
Deluxe QN QN ADA Hearing Impaired - Renovated 2014. Telephone vibrating device Kit can be installed - Strobes built into the wall - Accessible Aid Kit available upon request- Kit includes vibrating alarm clock - bed shaker - door knocker and visual alarm.
Superior
Signature King ADA Roll In Shower - Renovated 2014. Room is wheelchair accessible with roll in shower - Entry door width 34 inches - Bathroom entrance is 36 inches wide and Entry door peepholes are at 44 inches - Front door security latch is at 41 inches.
Superior
Signature QN QN ADA Grab Bar - Room was renovated 2014. Room is wheelchair accessible -Bathtub with grab bars - Entry door width 34 inches - Bathroom entrance is 36 inches wide -Entry door peepholes is 44 inches - Front door security latch is at 40 inches
Deluxe
Deluxe Room - Exterior facing rooms located in Tower Building. Renovated 2014. Each room has a spectacular marble bathroom with separate bath and shower. Rooms have also been updated with HD flat panel TVs-luxury linens pillow top beds Keurig coffee maker
Deluxe
Deluxe Rooms - located in the tower building with views of the city. Each room has a spectacular marble bathroom with separate bath and shower. All rooms feature HD flat panel TVs- Luxury linen ensembles- pillow top beds- and Keurig coffee makers. Wired-w
Deluxe Suite
Diplomat Suite - The Diplomatic Suite at The Fairmont San Francisco is located on the 22nd floor of the Tower. Features a fashionable design that includes a spacious bedroom - wet bar - full stereo system - plasma flat screen tv and half bath for guests.
Deluxe Suite
Napoleon Suite - The Napoleon Suite is the perfect home away from home. This apartment style specialty suite has a spacious parlour offering a full kitchen with one bedroom and two bathrooms-contains a washer and dryer. Suite is popular for extended stays
Deluxe Suite
Penthouse Suite - Recently unveiled from a 1.8 million USD restoration the 6000 sq. ft. Extraordinary Penthouse features three large bedrooms - living room with a grand piano formal dining room seating for 60 people. Circular library crowned by a rotunda.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Night club
Children's activities
Golf
Jogging track
Play ground
Boating
Steam bath
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Copy service
Currency exchange
News stand
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
Blackboard
White board
Conference suite
Cellular telephone rental
Computer rental
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub
Trouser press
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Grace Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.7 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.8 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.7 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.8 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1 mi
  • SoMa: 1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.1 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.1 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.1 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.1 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.2 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.2 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.2 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.2 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.3 mi
  • Lands End: 1.6 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 1.8 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 2 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 2.1 mi

Dining

Tonga Room Hurricane Bar
Serving Pacific Rim Comfort Cuisine, Tonga Room has a San Francisco tradition for more than 65 years. Reservations Recommended. For more information visit: www.TongaRoom.com
Afternoon Tea
Served in the Laurel Court Restaurant - afternoon tea has been a tradition for San Franciscans and the guests of our hotel since the opening of the Fairmont San Francisco in 1907. Sat-Sun 1:30PM - 3:30PM Weekday Offerings for parties of 25 ppl or more

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (172)

Ratings and reviews for Fairmont San Francisco

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
172 out of 172
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kenyth
falkirk
Jul 10, 2013

Epic

It really is steep butts the summit of nob hill, but this places you in perfect stead for the unbelievable view of the city from up there. The hotel itself is a thing of beauty and anyone interested in history and who get a bang out of a hotel with a bit of a story check out how this temple of a building came into being. The guest history too makes you feel a sense of prestige just loafing around in your luxury quarters with unbelievably comfortable bed. Close to union square and fisherman's wharf too but you might not want to leave your room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
2th mvr
Business
Vancouver, WA
Aug 22, 2012

Not what we expected from the Fairmont

We have stayed at the Fairmont in Seattle before andhad a wonderful experience. We can't say the same for this Fairmont. At check in, no one bothered to tell us thay had given away our reservation for a queen size bed. Instead they just sent us to our room and hoped we couldn't tell the difference. When we called down to the front desk they told us they were sold out for that night but the following night they would move us into a queen bed room. The front desk person told us to bring our luggage down with us the next morning and they would see that it was put in to our new room. When we returned to the hotel the next afternoon to get ready for our dinner reservations, we asked if our luggage was in our room and we were assured that it was. We got to our room and our luggage was not there. I went down to the desk to ask where it was and was informed that we should not have brought it down that morning and that they were not sure where it was. The man from the bell desk was very rude and it took about 25 minutes to finally locate our luggage, making us late for our dinner reservation. To top it all off, the heater in the new room would not turn off, making it almost unbearably hot in our room - it was a very hot weekeknd in San Francisco while we were there. As we were checking out, we informed the staff about everything that had happened and were offered no apology or anything. This was not what we expected from a hotel like the Fairmont.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado
Jun 30, 2010

DISAPPOINTED!!!!!!

I was quoted on the phone that parking would be $27.00 per night, but it was actually $57.00 per night.There was NO soap in the bathroom at all, at the sink or in the shower. I called for service and a man delivered ONE small bar. Had to go into shower to get soap, or out of shower. One phone did not work.No coffee in room.[...] I will never pay for a stay with Fairmont again. I had heard such positive comments about it so I thought putting out the extra money would be justified, my mistake. I am SURE regular customers that book with regular agencies get much better service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
capn hawk
Business
las vegas
Oct 18, 2011

fairmont sf

No in-room coffee. Bed was very soft. Room was small, but typical for older hotel. Internet was $14 extra per day!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Java House near Pier 40.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
GatorCarl
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jan 3, 2012

Tiny room, thin walls, high price

I've stayed at the Fairmont a few times and this experience was quite unfortunate. The room was very, very small, and I had to listen to the guy next door snoring through the paper-thin walls for the entire evening. The lobby is gorgeous (but insanely crowded), but the noise really made for a less than pleasant stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Perry Lite
Business
NY NY
Feb 20, 2013

Lovely on the outside..................

I was looking forward to staying at the Fairmount in SF after having been a guest at another Fairmount and having a wonderful experience. When I was unpacking, it was disappointing to find the stacked shelves in the closet for storing clothes was caked with dirt. I had to use a hot towel to wash down the shelving before putting my clothes on them. The housekeeping leaves much to be desired. There were dirty tissues left on the floor from a previous guest and other dirt on the carpet surface which meant the room had not been vaccuumed before my arrival. I did speak to the manager and after checking the room he agreed with my findings and apologized. After coming back to the room one night Icould not find the remote control for the tv. After searching the room unsuccessfully, I called and asked for another remote. When I was getting ready for bed that evening i found the remote which had been made in the bed by housekeeping. It also confirmed that my sheets were not changed. The glasses in the room were not replaced nor were the dirty ones taken away for 2 days! I also ran out of soap and needed to call for more because fresh bars were never put into my room after my initial check in. The room was spacious but very tired looking. However is was not as tired as the staff when it came to doing there job. Sadly I would never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Let down by Fairmont
Business
West Hartford, CT
Jul 29, 2013

Disappointed

Our room was lovely, but smelled of smoke. Called to report that we wanted a non smoking room, was told they were all non smoking rooms. I said clearly someone had been smoking here. Instead of giving us a different room, they sent up an air purifier. Didn't help. Upon checkout we realized that we had left a phone charger in our room. We were told that it shouldn't be a problem to retrieve it because no one wanted to stay in that room because of the smoke smell! They said they had received many complaints about the smoke smell (they didn't help me with my complaint). Also told us that a celebrity had been staying on the floor and that they think they don't have to adhere to the rules of no smoking. By the way, the phone charger was gone. After dinner we went back to the room and it looked as if someone had vomited in our bathroom sink. We called housekeeping and they quickly came and cleaned it up. They believe the sink backed up..... The beds were really comfortable though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 7, 2008

Not worth the money

The hotel is just so so. Sone hotel staffs were neither patient nor polite. I was disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is close to SF cable car.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Boglady
Business
Maine
Jul 19, 2012

First time in San Francisco

Room was very comfortable. Bed very comfortable with many pillows. Didn't think the room needed 3 telephones (one in bathroom), but would have loved a coffeemaker!! A fridge would have been nice, too. Telephone and garage charges seemed exorbitant. Used a nearby garage for half the price, but did not have the convenience of coming/going throughout the day. Enjoyed being close to Chinatown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nob Hill Restaurant within walking distance. Very pleasant eating. Not many restaurants close by for dining. Nothing really close for breakfast except hotel dining room which was costly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
stokie101
Business
NYC
Sep 5, 2012

You get what you pay for

Be prepared to get the "undesired" rooms in the hotel (i.e. no city views) If you keep your expectations low you will be happy with room itself large bathroom small queen size bed and overall very clean. Dont expect any free amenities like in-room coffee or complimentary water bottles. Do expect to pay over 50 bucks for valet parking and long lines for the Tonga room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Head to "new" chinatown instead for better food and bargains!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
phoenix, az
May 31, 2010

dated, more for history buffs

Nice room, but since the door is about a 100 years old, there is no effective noise reduction and it felt like I was trying to sleep in the hallway while housekeeping and all the guests were slamming all the other doors around me. This issue really needs to be addressed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top