$259 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 1, 2015 Check-out: Jul 2, 2015

Fairmont San Francisco

5 stars
View map of 950 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Fairmont San Francisco

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
181 out of 181
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KATS CROSSING
Business
MERCED,CA
May 20, 2009

TRUE FIRST CLASS HOTEL EXPERIENCE

THIS WAS AN UNSCHEDULED DIVERSION AS OUR DAUGHTER REQUIRED HOSPITALIZATION UNEXPECTEDLY IN THE CITY. ORBITZ HAD AN INCREDIBLE DEAL ON ONE OF SAN FRANSISCOS' PREMIER HOTELS. IT WAS A TRUE REFUGE FROM THE STRESS ENDURED THROUGHOUT THE WEEK. FROM THE VALET TO THE FRONT DESK ALL THE WAY THROUGH ROOM SERVICE IMPECABLE SERVICE AND GENUINE DESIRE FOR THE GUEST TO FEEL WELCOME AND RELAX. I CAN'T WAIT TO SNEAK AWAY WITH THE WIFE, AND RETURN TO OUR NEW SANCTUARY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

TONGA....DON'T MISS THE EXPERIENCE

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pastor of ABC
Business
Richmond, CA
Apr 22, 2009

Classic San Francisco Landmark

My wife and I celebrated our 35th Wedding Anniversary by staying at the Fairmont. We live in the East Bay, accross the bay from San Francisco, so we have visited "the city by the bay" many times and it has been our dream to stay at the historical Fairmont Hotel. We were not disappointed! The entire staff were so helpful. They made our anniversary getaway an event to remember.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Danci2
Business
Johnson City, NY
Mar 25, 2010

Old world classy hotel with charm

Staff recommended excellent eateries, took day trip to Napa Valley, Muir Woods, Fisherman's Warf, drove along the coastline to Carmel. The hotel accomodations were comparable to those to our hotel in Nice. The only thing lacking would be a longer stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit the Muir Woods, the unspoiled beauty of the park is worth the time taken to travel to the see the giant Redwoods.

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, TX
Aug 4, 2008

Terrific service

Our room was a little small. Our view was not very good. However, The Fairmont is one of the "grand hotels" in the USA and just to stay here at a relatively reasonable price was well worth it. I thought $55/night for valet parking was higher than other downtown hotels. I've never paid more than $35!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Huntington
Aug 21, 2008

Very elegant, historic hotel. Staff helpful and friendly, near attractions.

Very elegant and historic hotel (one of the few buildings to survive the 1906 earthquake). Staff was very friendly and helpful. We arrived early in the day and when this happens we usually have to wait until mid-afternoon to check in, and I hate this since you are usually tired from the trip. But upon our arrival they put us in a room immediately! The location of the hotel is great, it is across from Grace Cathedral (the offical cathedral of San Francisco, and is within walking distance to the Italian district, Chinatown and Fisherman's warf as well as Union Square. However, the hotel is on top of a hugh hill, and you will do alot of climbing! The restaurants in the hotel are expensive, but they have a great cocktail hour where you pay around 10 bucks for a buffet. The room was comfortable, not much of a view though, and although they said it was a Queen bed, I thought it was a little small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Instead of the expensive breakfast in the hotel, you can walk 2 blocks to a little spot called the Galleria which has good food. The hotel also has a small cafe on the corner for coffee if you want a lighter meal.

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nashville, TN
Jul 11, 2007

Very personable

The stay was first class from the moment I walked into the lobby to the moment I left. When in San Fran, I plan to stay at the Fairmont.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
kansas city
Jul 24, 2011

As good as it gets

everything was a good as i had hoped. relaxed, great, helpful, accommodating and friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Fillmore Street. the most interesting and original shopping street i've ever been on.

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Green Bay Mark
Business
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Nov 3, 2009

Very nice hotel

The Fairmont is a top rate business hotel with 24 hour room service, very reasonable rates, large well appointed rooms and a great location in San Francisco. I would highly recommend it to anyone traveling to the Bay Area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MoreSanFranPlease
Business
Sterling, VA
Nov 4, 2009

Just a few days but...

Our stay at the Fairmont in San Francisco was a completely excellent experience. The staff, wow! Courteous, knowledgeable, professional and absolutely friendly. Now, on the location, right and the junction of the California and Powell Cable car track. This made it easy to head out to any point of interest in any direction. Finally, let me add that the Fairmont has become our official family hotel for all future visits

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, TX
Jun 11, 2009

A Wonderful Choice

My wife and I have stayed at other hotels in San Francisco. Even though The Fairmont San Francisco is not in the center of the downtown area, where we had stayed previously, we didn't mind the extra walk to reach the Union Square area. The hotel made up for its slightly "out of the way" location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top