$259 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

Fairmont San Francisco

5 stars
View map of 950 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Fairmont San Francisco

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
180 out of 180
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lagirl1964
Business
mobile, al
Sep 9, 2014

Wonderful hotel

The hotel is beautiful and in a perfect location. The history of the hotel is amazing as well. With that said, the room the we got at first was tiny. My husband said something about it being way too small for 2 people to stay in for a week and not allowing even enough room to unpack or move around and we were promptly moved to a little larger room. This one made all the difference in the world. The beds are very comfortable and the room beautiful. I was surprised to find out that there was a charge for the Wi-Fi but if you join the President's Club then you get it for free along with access to the health club so make sure to join it. We ate at the Tonga Room the first night and it was delicious. I would definitely recommend it. All of the staff that we interacted with were very nice and very helpful. I would definitely stay here again. Like I said, it is an amazing hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The "F" is the street car that travels between Fisherman's Wharf and Castro and you can take it for $2.25 and get a pass that will let you take it again in the next 2 or 3 hours for no additional charge. It is a little walk to get to it but it is all downhill and you walk past beautiful old buildings that you can look at along the way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Boglady
Business
Maine
Jul 19, 2012

First time in San Francisco

Room was very comfortable. Bed very comfortable with many pillows. Didn't think the room needed 3 telephones (one in bathroom), but would have loved a coffeemaker!! A fridge would have been nice, too. Telephone and garage charges seemed exorbitant. Used a nearby garage for half the price, but did not have the convenience of coming/going throughout the day. Enjoyed being close to Chinatown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nob Hill Restaurant within walking distance. Very pleasant eating. Not many restaurants close by for dining. Nothing really close for breakfast except hotel dining room which was costly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
stokie101
Business
NYC
Sep 5, 2012

You get what you pay for

Be prepared to get the "undesired" rooms in the hotel (i.e. no city views) If you keep your expectations low you will be happy with room itself large bathroom small queen size bed and overall very clean. Dont expect any free amenities like in-room coffee or complimentary water bottles. Do expect to pay over 50 bucks for valet parking and long lines for the Tonga room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Head to "new" chinatown instead for better food and bargains!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
phoenix, az
May 31, 2010

dated, more for history buffs

Nice room, but since the door is about a 100 years old, there is no effective noise reduction and it felt like I was trying to sleep in the hallway while housekeeping and all the guests were slamming all the other doors around me. This issue really needs to be addressed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Jun 29, 2009

Nice, but fading

Service wasn't what we expected (forgot to leave new towels when old ones removed; one tiny soap bar for entire visit, despite a request; maid removed newspapers we wanted to take with us); Contrary to the Orbitz billing, wifi wasn't included in our rate (although it was free to any member of the Fairmont Presidents Club). And think twice about the Nob Hill location -- nice views, but it's a long trip down a very steep hill to go anywhere else in San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Palio d'Asti at Sacramento and Montgomery was wonderful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chingon
Business
San Diego
Sep 27, 2011

Fantastic family getaway NAH!!!!

I can't find any word to describe my experience. There is funky smell to the hallway heading to my room and straggled to enter my room I guess the key slot or the key itself are worn out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Expect the unexpected and bring more cash.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Omaha, NE
Jul 27, 2009

A little overpriced

good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas
Jul 11, 2010

San Francisco Trip

Hotel is centrally located at the top of the hill and at the intersection of cable car stops. It is a beautiful hotel with lots of history and very large rooms. We got a good rate, which is why we decided to stay here. But, in retrospect I probably would have chosen the Hyatt near Fisherman's Wharf or for a downtown hotel one closer to Union Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

3 to 4 blocks down Powell street to Union Square - not bad going down, but it is a great big hill coming back!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
slo, ca
Jul 12, 2010

Fairmont, SF

Beatiful hotel. If walking be ready for a stiff hill, huge. Asked if early check in (noon) was a problem. Told it was not. Luckily my wife said lets not wait for the room. They called my cell at 3pm to let me know room was ready. Bad form I thought. Great bed, very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Oct 16, 2009

San Fran Fairmont

This is a classic place to stay in San Fran as the hotel is filled with much history, but the staff is unfriendly and the hotel is so big that you can easily just become another number.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Skip the lobby bar at the Fairmont and head across the street to the top of the Marc for drinks instead.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top