$259 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

Fairmont San Francisco

5 stars
View map of 950 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Fairmont San Francisco

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
180 out of 180
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
Aug 14, 2009

A beautiful hotel with not so attractive

We were surpised upon arrival that the hotel was beautiful and we were upgraded to a tower room without even asking. We heard the Tonga restaurant was good so we checked that out. Service there was poor and the food was cold and not very good. We then awoke to a bill slid under the room door informing us that parking was $60 per night! There is no sign or anything posted to inform you of this outrageous charge outside (or inside) the hotel. The staff merely said "there was nothing they could do."

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Nov 29, 2009

Fairmont San Francisco

The Fairmont is a beautiful, historic hotel. I had read complaints about the caliber of the staff's service, but there were absolutely no issues during our stay. Terrific hotel and solid staff service made for a great stay. The only concern with the hotel is that the walls between rooms in the main building are thin (this is likely a factor of the hotel's age). That being said, we slept fine all 5 nights we were there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh PA
Jul 19, 2011

Fairmont Hotel

A Lavish and beautiful hotel. Old world and well maintained. Reminded us of hotels in Rome. Pricey though but worth the splurge. Rooms expensive and a little on the small side. Only negative feedback is that the day we wanted to rent a car, the person at the onsite car rental desk called off sick, so we had to take a cab to the main location. Hotel is nicely situated on Nob hill. Excellent location is close to cable stop that can take you all the way down to Fishermans Wharf for about $6.00 which is also walking distance to pier 39. Expect a long wait for the cable cars but if you get it at off locations like here it is about 20 - 30 min, otherwise you are waiting a couple of hours. Best tour was the Alcatraz audio tour-a must see while in SFO.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pleasanton ca
Jun 24, 2011

Great room!

Great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta
Jun 2, 2009

An Elegant Piece of History

Wonderful old hotel, nicely restored. Staff eager to please and well informed. Nob Hill is excellent location for vacation travelers, and doorman is quick to offer hotel limo to get to nearby restaurants, etc. But having to pay for web access is silly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento CA
Oct 6, 2009

Sept 09 Review

Overall, the hotel was very nice. However, we were able to hear noise in the hallway all night when people were walking down the hall and opening and closing their doors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Delray Beach, FL
Mar 21, 2010

Amazing location and hotel.

Awesome location on top of Nob Hill. Beds were so comfortable, we slept for 12 hours each on 2 nights of our trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Awesome breakfast at Roxannes. DO NOT bother eating at the hotel restaurant for breakfast. Way too expensive. Ate at E and O trading company too. Asian fusion. Good food. You MUST take a drive to the Marin Headlands for the MOST amazing views of the ocean and SF that you will ever find.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
R&R mom
Business
mira loma, ca
Jul 20, 2009

fun city

Everything you need right at your feet. They only thing parking is so hard to find. The hotel offers parking for $50 a day, to much if you ask me. There is parking on the side of the hotel that they don't tell you about. You pay $10 and could stay until evening and by then you could park on the street without getting a ticket. The hotel is very nice. FYI the Tonga lounge does not open Monday and Tuesday. The other restaurant has ok dinner, you might want to go out to eat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Elleno
Business
San Francisco
Aug 28, 2014

Long Weekend

Great hotel and location for sightseeing San Francisco. Very attentive staff. Never a long wait to get a cab either . It would have been nice to be able to easily get a cup of coffee to go in the morning. Did not realize there was a cafe on the very bottom floor. Once I did, I then stood in 15 minutes . Also the workout facilities were good but very crowded and although there was a water cooler , there were no available cups, although there were Water bottles available to purchase.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vaca123
Business
new york, ny
Sep 8, 2014

Beautiful Hotel

This a beautiful hotel with a lot of history. Please note, there are BIG hills all around, you will be exhausted if you are walking anywhere! Room was clean, lobby was gorgeous, and front desk staff is friendly. One big minus is the bellboys/ guys standing out front are rude and not helpful. No one came to get our bags when we came in ( which i dont normally care about because i would rather get them in the room myself faster ) BUT when we were leaving i asked the gentleman outside, if the shuttle in front was the one i had a voucher for, and he responded " why dont you go and ask". Ummm also.. my husband had 2 huge bags, that he carried down himself, no one offered to help, and the guy just stood there. In short, beautiful hotel, very hilly, unfriendly bell boys.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top