$220 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 12, 2015 Check-out: Apr 13, 2015

Fairmont San Francisco

5 stars
View map of 950 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Fairmont San Francisco

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
180 out of 180
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BillVermont
Business
Shelburne, Vermont
Oct 26, 2012

Great business location

At $240 per night, this was a good bargain. The hotel staff were very helpful. The room was quiet and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Elleno
Business
San Francisco
Aug 28, 2014

Long Weekend

Great hotel and location for sightseeing San Francisco. Very attentive staff. Never a long wait to get a cab either . It would have been nice to be able to easily get a cup of coffee to go in the morning. Did not realize there was a cafe on the very bottom floor. Once I did, I then stood in 15 minutes . Also the workout facilities were good but very crowded and although there was a water cooler , there were no available cups, although there were Water bottles available to purchase.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vaca123
Business
new york, ny
Sep 8, 2014

Beautiful Hotel

This a beautiful hotel with a lot of history. Please note, there are BIG hills all around, you will be exhausted if you are walking anywhere! Room was clean, lobby was gorgeous, and front desk staff is friendly. One big minus is the bellboys/ guys standing out front are rude and not helpful. No one came to get our bags when we came in ( which i dont normally care about because i would rather get them in the room myself faster ) BUT when we were leaving i asked the gentleman outside, if the shuttle in front was the one i had a voucher for, and he responded " why dont you go and ask". Ummm also.. my husband had 2 huge bags, that he carried down himself, no one offered to help, and the guy just stood there. In short, beautiful hotel, very hilly, unfriendly bell boys.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lagirl1964
Business
mobile, al
Sep 9, 2014

Wonderful hotel

The hotel is beautiful and in a perfect location. The history of the hotel is amazing as well. With that said, the room the we got at first was tiny. My husband said something about it being way too small for 2 people to stay in for a week and not allowing even enough room to unpack or move around and we were promptly moved to a little larger room. This one made all the difference in the world. The beds are very comfortable and the room beautiful. I was surprised to find out that there was a charge for the Wi-Fi but if you join the President's Club then you get it for free along with access to the health club so make sure to join it. We ate at the Tonga Room the first night and it was delicious. I would definitely recommend it. All of the staff that we interacted with were very nice and very helpful. I would definitely stay here again. Like I said, it is an amazing hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The "F" is the street car that travels between Fisherman's Wharf and Castro and you can take it for $2.25 and get a pass that will let you take it again in the next 2 or 3 hours for no additional charge. It is a little walk to get to it but it is all downhill and you walk past beautiful old buildings that you can look at along the way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BennyT
Business
Houston Texas
Oct 11, 2011

Great Servce!!

As always our stay was fantastic. The staff are always professional and are experts at customer service. Thank You, we will be back!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Miss Mollie Moo
Business
Santa Barbara, CA, USA
Dec 13, 2011

Absolutely beautiful!

The hotel is lovely, and the location perfect. I had one little glitch with one Concierge - he kept looking at the computer while I was trying to ask him questions .... he was not looking for answers for me, but was distracted by something more interesting! Everything else was great! Would love to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
007MD
Business
Santa Ana
Jan 2, 2012

Best New Years SF get away!!

Stayed to experience the best San Francisco has to offer. Best hotel experience! I highly recommend it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Tonga room happy hour is the best. Get there early because it gets full quickly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
UrbanDweller
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Jan 8, 2012

Queen of the San Francisco Hotels

Majestic hotel at the top of the Nob Hill makes you feel you've stepped onto the set of Vertigo. Grand entrance lobby that exudes history. Friendly respectful staff with ready smiles and get you just about anything (Organic 1%/2% milk chilled, skim warm), though you'll pay dearly for the privilege. Modern typical Fairmont rooms available in the tower though a bit farm from the lobby and classic rooms in the main building. Ask for an outside facing room in the main building. It's a bit of a vertical hike to anywhere in town, though 2 cable car lines run adjacent to the property. Great views just walking around the building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Don't the miss the Tonga room in the lower level of the hotel. Definitely nothing like it outside of Disneyland.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MissCP
Business
Manhattan Beach, CA, USA
Jan 5, 2012

Lovely Stay at the Fairmont

I don't want to stay in any other hotel in San Francisco moving forward . . . staying at the Fairmont was just so lovely. I went with my boyfriend over New Years weekend, and as soon as we walked in and saw the gorgeous Christmas tree in the awesome lobby, the mood was set. We were greeted by friendly staff who gave us a brief rundown of the property and history and we were upgraded to a King room (although it had an interior view, it didn't bother me). The room was spacious, clean and had a good vibe. The bathroom was clean and had a lot of space, and the mirrors and lighting were good (I get picky about this in a hotel!). One minor complaint was although the shower was great pressure-wise, it backed up a little so it didn't drain instantly. One thing to watch out for -- mini bar costs . . . I know that you should avoid them in general due to huge premium, but $8 for a small body of Evian (I was desperate!)? Also watch out for room service and parking costs (also to be expected in SF but just a heads up!). Great location. Everyone was friendly and accommodating . . . I don't know if I was in a really good mood enjoying the rare but beautiful SF weather or what, but I got a really good energy from the hotel and would definitely stay there again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
smczzzz
Business
Oregon, USA
Mar 23, 2012

Fabulous!

Fabulous, does not get any better. Nothing else need be said

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Parker24
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Apr 8, 2012

Yes To Any Request.. Including Kosher Pickles

Normally, I can find everything and everything wrong with a hotel because i have high expectations. I must say, even if i wanted to I could not find anything wrong with the hotel. The Fairmont has always gone out of their way for all of their guest. I switched hotels from the St. Regis and the hotel allowed me to check in at 9.am. On top of that the front desk must have read my profile because they brought over the Wall Street Journal. They would not have know that had they not read my profile. On top of that, I am not your average Joe and absolutely enjoy Kosher pickles. I was stunned to see kosher pickles in my room when i returned from shopping. In addition, throughout my stay the guest in the gift shop the front desk staff and bellman addressed me by name when they saw me in passing. I do no not think it get any better than that. I would also like to point out the service is consistent at all of the their properties. The Plaza New York is another great choice. Thank you Fairmont. I will be a committed guest for life!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top