$259 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Fairmont San Francisco

5 stars
View map of 950 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Fairmont San Francisco

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
181 out of 181
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BillVermont
Business
Shelburne, Vermont
Oct 26, 2012

Great business location

At $240 per night, this was a good bargain. The hotel staff were very helpful. The room was quiet and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Elleno
Business
San Francisco
Aug 28, 2014

Long Weekend

Great hotel and location for sightseeing San Francisco. Very attentive staff. Never a long wait to get a cab either . It would have been nice to be able to easily get a cup of coffee to go in the morning. Did not realize there was a cafe on the very bottom floor. Once I did, I then stood in 15 minutes . Also the workout facilities were good but very crowded and although there was a water cooler , there were no available cups, although there were Water bottles available to purchase.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vaca123
Business
new york, ny
Sep 8, 2014

Beautiful Hotel

This a beautiful hotel with a lot of history. Please note, there are BIG hills all around, you will be exhausted if you are walking anywhere! Room was clean, lobby was gorgeous, and front desk staff is friendly. One big minus is the bellboys/ guys standing out front are rude and not helpful. No one came to get our bags when we came in ( which i dont normally care about because i would rather get them in the room myself faster ) BUT when we were leaving i asked the gentleman outside, if the shuttle in front was the one i had a voucher for, and he responded " why dont you go and ask". Ummm also.. my husband had 2 huge bags, that he carried down himself, no one offered to help, and the guy just stood there. In short, beautiful hotel, very hilly, unfriendly bell boys.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lagirl1964
Business
mobile, al
Sep 9, 2014

Wonderful hotel

The hotel is beautiful and in a perfect location. The history of the hotel is amazing as well. With that said, the room the we got at first was tiny. My husband said something about it being way too small for 2 people to stay in for a week and not allowing even enough room to unpack or move around and we were promptly moved to a little larger room. This one made all the difference in the world. The beds are very comfortable and the room beautiful. I was surprised to find out that there was a charge for the Wi-Fi but if you join the President's Club then you get it for free along with access to the health club so make sure to join it. We ate at the Tonga Room the first night and it was delicious. I would definitely recommend it. All of the staff that we interacted with were very nice and very helpful. I would definitely stay here again. Like I said, it is an amazing hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The "F" is the street car that travels between Fisherman's Wharf and Castro and you can take it for $2.25 and get a pass that will let you take it again in the next 2 or 3 hours for no additional charge. It is a little walk to get to it but it is all downhill and you walk past beautiful old buildings that you can look at along the way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mayor1
Business
Eureka
Feb 24, 2014

Fantastic hotel

We arrived st the Fairmont, were greeted and escorted into the lobby. The Fairmont is a grand Hotel of the 'old School' and the lobby is stunning. After quick check- in we were taken to our room ( exterior, king) on third floor. Because the price was so reasonable, for San Francisco, I did not expect the absolutely stunning bay view, facing Alcatraz and Coit Tower. Truly stunning! Third floor was entirely renovated and beautifully appointed. I travel with a service dog , well trained and the staff were very charming and accepting. The Fairmont, with its rich history, beautiful architecture, stunning views and location atop Nob Hill, is now our favorite hotel as long as they stay affordable !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TFJ4
Business
Santa Barbara, CA
Mar 31, 2014

Was perfect!

everything was great. service, food, decor, convenience. can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Donnie Big
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Apr 28, 2014

great escape

from check in to check out, staff was attentive, friendly, and knowledgeable. this is the benchmark for 5 star htoels in San Francisco

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Will Somm
Business
Washington D.C.
May 5, 2014

Nob Hill Perfection

From the moment we pulled up to the panoramic views of the bay area and city we were floored. The concierge was incredibly helpful and aside from the lack of free WiFi access everything else was perfect. As far as the hotel food goes...avoid the Tonga room. Its a total tourist trip where the prices don't even come close to the quality of the food or service. Total waste of money unless you are with kids. Also it books up quickly so make a reservation. Next time I stay in San Francisco on business I will definitely be staying back at the fairmont as it is the best hotel dollar for dollar if you prefer the finer things in life. My girlfriend and I overall loved it. Thanks again for a great night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are celebrating or looking for a great meal or wine list check out The Boulevard or RN74. Both are a 5 minute cab ride from the hotel and were incredibly unpretentious for the quality of service and food we received.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BennyT
Business
Houston Texas
Oct 11, 2011

Great Servce!!

As always our stay was fantastic. The staff are always professional and are experts at customer service. Thank You, we will be back!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Miss Mollie Moo
Business
Santa Barbara, CA, USA
Dec 13, 2011

Absolutely beautiful!

The hotel is lovely, and the location perfect. I had one little glitch with one Concierge - he kept looking at the computer while I was trying to ask him questions .... he was not looking for answers for me, but was distracted by something more interesting! Everything else was great! Would love to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
007MD
Business
Santa Ana
Jan 2, 2012

Best New Years SF get away!!

Stayed to experience the best San Francisco has to offer. Best hotel experience! I highly recommend it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Tonga room happy hour is the best. Get there early because it gets full quickly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top