$259 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Fairmont San Francisco

5 stars
View map of 950 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Fairmont San Francisco

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
181 out of 181
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ted's Trip Experience
Saratoga, California
May 29, 2013

Loved Hotel & Location

The hotel had eligant decor, variety of restaurants, & all the amenities. It is located at the top of the hill with beautiful views, where the Cable cars meet from E/W & N/S. The only things not perfect were the voices we could hear from the room next door, and the mistake on the check out bill that they had to clear.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MissCP
Business
Manhattan Beach, CA, USA
Jan 5, 2012

Lovely Stay at the Fairmont

I don't want to stay in any other hotel in San Francisco moving forward . . . staying at the Fairmont was just so lovely. I went with my boyfriend over New Years weekend, and as soon as we walked in and saw the gorgeous Christmas tree in the awesome lobby, the mood was set. We were greeted by friendly staff who gave us a brief rundown of the property and history and we were upgraded to a King room (although it had an interior view, it didn't bother me). The room was spacious, clean and had a good vibe. The bathroom was clean and had a lot of space, and the mirrors and lighting were good (I get picky about this in a hotel!). One minor complaint was although the shower was great pressure-wise, it backed up a little so it didn't drain instantly. One thing to watch out for -- mini bar costs . . . I know that you should avoid them in general due to huge premium, but $8 for a small body of Evian (I was desperate!)? Also watch out for room service and parking costs (also to be expected in SF but just a heads up!). Great location. Everyone was friendly and accommodating . . . I don't know if I was in a really good mood enjoying the rare but beautiful SF weather or what, but I got a really good energy from the hotel and would definitely stay there again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lola99
Business
Berkeley, CA, USA
Jan 3, 2012

A new tradition for the holidays

I am from Berkeley and always wanted to stay at the Fairmont. It lived up to my expectations and then some, we had a great stay in our standard room which was very spacious, comfortable and lush. Valet was pricey ($54 for 24 hrs, slight discount for my hybrid to $48) but apart from that it was exactly what you would expect from a high quality hotel. The Fairmont gets very dressed up for the holidays--complete with humongous tree and a lifesize gingerbread house--very festive and stunning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The mission has some incredible dining experiences to offer. It is s decent cab ride, but well worth it. Try: Foreign Cinema, Delfina, Andalu, Range & Gracias Madre for dinner. Mission Beach Cafe, Bar Tartine for brunch; Tartine Bakery for pastries and grilled sandwiches. BiRite creamery for the best ice cream...

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
GatorCarl
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jan 3, 2012

Tiny room, thin walls, high price

I've stayed at the Fairmont a few times and this experience was quite unfortunate. The room was very, very small, and I had to listen to the guy next door snoring through the paper-thin walls for the entire evening. The lobby is gorgeous (but insanely crowded), but the noise really made for a less than pleasant stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
007MD
Business
Santa Ana
Jan 2, 2012

Best New Years SF get away!!

Stayed to experience the best San Francisco has to offer. Best hotel experience! I highly recommend it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Tonga room happy hour is the best. Get there early because it gets full quickly.

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ariangar
Business
Turlock, CA, USA
Jan 2, 2012

Holiday trip

Very nice hotel. Staff seemed frazzled and too busy to help without being asked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marisela
Business
Fairfield ca
Jan 2, 2012

fantastic

would stay here anytime and recomment it to all my friends. the view and location where outstanding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Annual Xmas City Stay
Business
San Francisco
Dec 19, 2011

Great hotel for the holidays

The 2-story gingerbread house was a hit with our 2 kids. Like the close proximity to Union Sq. If you are walking, the uphill hike to get back to the hotel is the price you pay for its views. Surprised there was no pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Holiday Ice Rink at Union Sq. books up early, so be sure to go online.

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Miss Mollie Moo
Business
Santa Barbara, CA, USA
Dec 13, 2011

Absolutely beautiful!

The hotel is lovely, and the location perfect. I had one little glitch with one Concierge - he kept looking at the computer while I was trying to ask him questions .... he was not looking for answers for me, but was distracted by something more interesting! Everything else was great! Would love to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chris77
Business
Portland, OR, USA
Nov 9, 2011

Fairmont Getaway

Already needing to be in SF, we added a few days at the front end to stay at one of the most relaxing, centrally located and beautiful hotels in the city. The bay views are phenomenal and the breakfast buffet was worth every penny!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Gary Danko- an amazing meal that's a $10 cab ride away.

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
capn hawk
Business
las vegas
Oct 18, 2011

fairmont sf

No in-room coffee. Bed was very soft. Room was small, but typical for older hotel. Internet was $14 extra per day!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Java House near Pier 40.

Back to menu Return to top