$449 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 11, 2015 Check-out: Aug 12, 2015

Fairmont San Francisco

5 stars
View map of 950 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Fairmont San Francisco

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
176 out of 176
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tybo Sully
Denver, CO
Oct 22, 2012

Perfect Romantic Atmosphere

The service was fantastic, the enegery was amazing. One of the best places I have ever stayed. Great location to see and do everything in San Fran.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
smczzzz
Business
Oregon, USA
Mar 23, 2012

Fabulous!

Fabulous, does not get any better. Nothing else need be said

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DebML
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Jan 17, 2012

mother - daughter trip

This was a fantastic trip! The hotel is beautiful and the beds heavenly! It was a quick weekend trip so my daughter could audition for a graduate school program for Opera performance. The location to the music studio was perfect. and we had a blast exploring S.F. The ONLY downside for me was NO coffee maker in the room. I had expected that complimentary coffee would be a no brainer at such a nice hotel. I felt nickel and dimed having to pay $8 for a cup of coffee in my room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

make a reservation at the Tonga Room!

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ljpm2002
Business
Redding, CA, USA
Jan 17, 2012

Great Hotel

Beautiful location, and great staff. Everyone was very attentive and polite. The room was very good sized (two queens) and the bathroom and closet could have been rooms by themselves! The only drawback is that the hotel is on top of a steep hill so the walk to it is quite a workout. Taking the cable car is a great option b/c it stops right in front of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
UrbanDweller
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Jan 8, 2012

Queen of the San Francisco Hotels

Majestic hotel at the top of the Nob Hill makes you feel you've stepped onto the set of Vertigo. Grand entrance lobby that exudes history. Friendly respectful staff with ready smiles and get you just about anything (Organic 1%/2% milk chilled, skim warm), though you'll pay dearly for the privilege. Modern typical Fairmont rooms available in the tower though a bit farm from the lobby and classic rooms in the main building. Ask for an outside facing room in the main building. It's a bit of a vertical hike to anywhere in town, though 2 cable car lines run adjacent to the property. Great views just walking around the building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Don't the miss the Tonga room in the lower level of the hotel. Definitely nothing like it outside of Disneyland.

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FlyboyMN
Business
Edina, MN, USA
Jan 7, 2012

Lovely Visit

We stayed the first week of the year and things were pretty quiet except for the disassembly of the ginger bread house. Beautiful hotel with excellent service. Visited the Tonga Room to discover I am not a Mai Tai fan however the happy hour food, servers and environment was great. Will definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MissCP
Business
Manhattan Beach, CA, USA
Jan 5, 2012

Lovely Stay at the Fairmont

I don't want to stay in any other hotel in San Francisco moving forward . . . staying at the Fairmont was just so lovely. I went with my boyfriend over New Years weekend, and as soon as we walked in and saw the gorgeous Christmas tree in the awesome lobby, the mood was set. We were greeted by friendly staff who gave us a brief rundown of the property and history and we were upgraded to a King room (although it had an interior view, it didn't bother me). The room was spacious, clean and had a good vibe. The bathroom was clean and had a lot of space, and the mirrors and lighting were good (I get picky about this in a hotel!). One minor complaint was although the shower was great pressure-wise, it backed up a little so it didn't drain instantly. One thing to watch out for -- mini bar costs . . . I know that you should avoid them in general due to huge premium, but $8 for a small body of Evian (I was desperate!)? Also watch out for room service and parking costs (also to be expected in SF but just a heads up!). Great location. Everyone was friendly and accommodating . . . I don't know if I was in a really good mood enjoying the rare but beautiful SF weather or what, but I got a really good energy from the hotel and would definitely stay there again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lola99
Business
Berkeley, CA, USA
Jan 3, 2012

A new tradition for the holidays

I am from Berkeley and always wanted to stay at the Fairmont. It lived up to my expectations and then some, we had a great stay in our standard room which was very spacious, comfortable and lush. Valet was pricey ($54 for 24 hrs, slight discount for my hybrid to $48) but apart from that it was exactly what you would expect from a high quality hotel. The Fairmont gets very dressed up for the holidays--complete with humongous tree and a lifesize gingerbread house--very festive and stunning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The mission has some incredible dining experiences to offer. It is s decent cab ride, but well worth it. Try: Foreign Cinema, Delfina, Andalu, Range & Gracias Madre for dinner. Mission Beach Cafe, Bar Tartine for brunch; Tartine Bakery for pastries and grilled sandwiches. BiRite creamery for the best ice cream...

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
GatorCarl
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jan 3, 2012

Tiny room, thin walls, high price

I've stayed at the Fairmont a few times and this experience was quite unfortunate. The room was very, very small, and I had to listen to the guy next door snoring through the paper-thin walls for the entire evening. The lobby is gorgeous (but insanely crowded), but the noise really made for a less than pleasant stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
007MD
Business
Santa Ana
Jan 2, 2012

Best New Years SF get away!!

Stayed to experience the best San Francisco has to offer. Best hotel experience! I highly recommend it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Tonga room happy hour is the best. Get there early because it gets full quickly.

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ariangar
Business
Turlock, CA, USA
Jan 2, 2012

Holiday trip

Very nice hotel. Staff seemed frazzled and too busy to help without being asked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top