$259 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

Fairmont San Francisco

5 stars
View map of 950 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Fairmont San Francisco

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
181 out of 181
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
G. Kevin
Business
Arizona
Sep 9, 2013

outstanding decor and service to match

helpful and friendly staff Very good meeting location. Excellent views from tower

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LA Man75
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 28, 2012

75th Celebratation

Nice Hotel, Well located, pleasant staff. Ran into the president of Turkey who was staying there. The week before President Obama was there. It's an older hotel with a nice charm with updated rooms. You won't be disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CJ2011
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
May 17, 2012

Very nice hotel, not the best location

We stayed in the tower to have the newer bathrooms with the separate shower. The bathroom toiletries were good quality, so they are worth trying! It was one of the most comfortable beds I have been in. We got a smoking room since it was much cheaper, and there was a strong smell when we got on the floor, but the room wasn't too bad. It would have been better if the windows opened and we could air it out, though. We did a LOT of walking up & down the hills, so if you are out of shape you will have to rely heavily on the cable cars to get around. The location was nice because it was centrally located, but it seemed a little far from everything. Overall a nice hotel and a very comfortable stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you want to walk to & from Market St, go to Powell instead of Mason since it is a lot less steep! Also, the cable car/muni pass is well worth it. We paid $27 for a 7 day pass (even though we were only there for 4 full days), and it definitely paid for itself.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TravelMC
Business
NC
Apr 23, 2012

My new #1 choice!

I won a trip through my company, Boresha. Prior to winning I looked at the Fairmont on-line due to expanding my trip and looking for a nice place to stay. Not only did my company choose the Fairmont, I was already sold based on reading the reviews. I consider myself to be very well traveled, and have stayed in some phenominal places. The Hotel is beautiful, the staff could not have been more gracious, and the view we had from our Tower Room was priceless. I joined the President's Club and plan on returning to this hotel as soon as possible!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Ask local residents, or return travelers for Dining suggestions. Many "top-rated" places in tourist magazines or advertisements are nothing more than paid-for ads.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Seven 07
Business
Fairfield, CA, USA
Apr 16, 2012

Family getaway

Had a great time in the city; the staff at the Faimont were friendly and provided excellent service. Looking forward to staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Parker24
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Apr 8, 2012

Yes To Any Request.. Including Kosher Pickles

Normally, I can find everything and everything wrong with a hotel because i have high expectations. I must say, even if i wanted to I could not find anything wrong with the hotel. The Fairmont has always gone out of their way for all of their guest. I switched hotels from the St. Regis and the hotel allowed me to check in at 9.am. On top of that the front desk must have read my profile because they brought over the Wall Street Journal. They would not have know that had they not read my profile. On top of that, I am not your average Joe and absolutely enjoy Kosher pickles. I was stunned to see kosher pickles in my room when i returned from shopping. In addition, throughout my stay the guest in the gift shop the front desk staff and bellman addressed me by name when they saw me in passing. I do no not think it get any better than that. I would also like to point out the service is consistent at all of the their properties. The Plaza New York is another great choice. Thank you Fairmont. I will be a committed guest for life!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
smczzzz
Business
Oregon, USA
Mar 23, 2012

Fabulous!

Fabulous, does not get any better. Nothing else need be said

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DebML
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Jan 17, 2012

mother - daughter trip

This was a fantastic trip! The hotel is beautiful and the beds heavenly! It was a quick weekend trip so my daughter could audition for a graduate school program for Opera performance. The location to the music studio was perfect. and we had a blast exploring S.F. The ONLY downside for me was NO coffee maker in the room. I had expected that complimentary coffee would be a no brainer at such a nice hotel. I felt nickel and dimed having to pay $8 for a cup of coffee in my room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

make a reservation at the Tonga Room!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ljpm2002
Business
Redding, CA, USA
Jan 17, 2012

Great Hotel

Beautiful location, and great staff. Everyone was very attentive and polite. The room was very good sized (two queens) and the bathroom and closet could have been rooms by themselves! The only drawback is that the hotel is on top of a steep hill so the walk to it is quite a workout. Taking the cable car is a great option b/c it stops right in front of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
UrbanDweller
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Jan 8, 2012

Queen of the San Francisco Hotels

Majestic hotel at the top of the Nob Hill makes you feel you've stepped onto the set of Vertigo. Grand entrance lobby that exudes history. Friendly respectful staff with ready smiles and get you just about anything (Organic 1%/2% milk chilled, skim warm), though you'll pay dearly for the privilege. Modern typical Fairmont rooms available in the tower though a bit farm from the lobby and classic rooms in the main building. Ask for an outside facing room in the main building. It's a bit of a vertical hike to anywhere in town, though 2 cable car lines run adjacent to the property. Great views just walking around the building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Don't the miss the Tonga room in the lower level of the hotel. Definitely nothing like it outside of Disneyland.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FlyboyMN
Business
Edina, MN, USA
Jan 7, 2012

Lovely Visit

We stayed the first week of the year and things were pretty quiet except for the disassembly of the ginger bread house. Beautiful hotel with excellent service. Visited the Tonga Room to discover I am not a Mai Tai fan however the happy hour food, servers and environment was great. Will definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top