$449 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 11, 2015 Check-out: Aug 12, 2015

Fairmont San Francisco

5 stars
View map of 950 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Fairmont San Francisco

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
176 out of 176
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Boglady
Business
Maine
Jul 19, 2012

First time in San Francisco

Room was very comfortable. Bed very comfortable with many pillows. Didn't think the room needed 3 telephones (one in bathroom), but would have loved a coffeemaker!! A fridge would have been nice, too. Telephone and garage charges seemed exorbitant. Used a nearby garage for half the price, but did not have the convenience of coming/going throughout the day. Enjoyed being close to Chinatown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nob Hill Restaurant within walking distance. Very pleasant eating. Not many restaurants close by for dining. Nothing really close for breakfast except hotel dining room which was costly.

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jamie W
Business
Toronto, Candada
Jul 9, 2012

Weekend in San Fran

We spent 3 nights at The Fairmont in San Fran. We had heard lots of great reviews from our family and friends. I had seen pics of the hotel, but they don't compare to how beautiful it actually was! Wow! The staff were great - very knowledgeable, very friendly, and helpful. We loved when we called the front desk they answered the phone saying "good evening (afternoon/morning) Ms. _____." Very classy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
schwanki
Business
fiddletown ca.
Jun 28, 2012

granddaughters in the city

the hotel was great. we enjoyed it greatly! we will do it again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SFSU MOM
Business
Atlanta, Georgia
May 31, 2012

Wonderful hotel but.........

Beautiful hotel, I reserved 3 rooms via an internet site, 2 rooms w/2 queen size beds were amazing, however, one room w/king size bed was disappointing. Curtain was ripped, crown moldings were chipped/damaged, didn't seem as clean as the other 2 rooms. Ran out of kleenex with no back up in the room. There aren't any resturants close by, which forces you to eat at their expensive resturants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

If you want a varitey of resturants and entertainment stay close to Union Square. This hotel is far from anything walking distance.

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler from Sacramento
Business
Sacramento
May 29, 2012

Very nice facilities, but problem with reservation

While the fairmont itself is a wonderful hotel, be warned that the room you purchase may not be the room you are given when you check in. I purchased an exterior view with two queen beds but was given an interior view with double beds. They eventually found an exterior view room (while acting like they were doing me a favor) but they never found a room with the beds that were on my reservation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LA Man75
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 28, 2012

75th Celebratation

Nice Hotel, Well located, pleasant staff. Ran into the president of Turkey who was staying there. The week before President Obama was there. It's an older hotel with a nice charm with updated rooms. You won't be disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CJ2011
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
May 17, 2012

Very nice hotel, not the best location

We stayed in the tower to have the newer bathrooms with the separate shower. The bathroom toiletries were good quality, so they are worth trying! It was one of the most comfortable beds I have been in. We got a smoking room since it was much cheaper, and there was a strong smell when we got on the floor, but the room wasn't too bad. It would have been better if the windows opened and we could air it out, though. We did a LOT of walking up & down the hills, so if you are out of shape you will have to rely heavily on the cable cars to get around. The location was nice because it was centrally located, but it seemed a little far from everything. Overall a nice hotel and a very comfortable stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you want to walk to & from Market St, go to Powell instead of Mason since it is a lot less steep! Also, the cable car/muni pass is well worth it. We paid $27 for a 7 day pass (even though we were only there for 4 full days), and it definitely paid for itself.

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TravelMC
Business
NC
Apr 23, 2012

My new #1 choice!

I won a trip through my company, Boresha. Prior to winning I looked at the Fairmont on-line due to expanding my trip and looking for a nice place to stay. Not only did my company choose the Fairmont, I was already sold based on reading the reviews. I consider myself to be very well traveled, and have stayed in some phenominal places. The Hotel is beautiful, the staff could not have been more gracious, and the view we had from our Tower Room was priceless. I joined the President's Club and plan on returning to this hotel as soon as possible!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Ask local residents, or return travelers for Dining suggestions. Many "top-rated" places in tourist magazines or advertisements are nothing more than paid-for ads.

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Seven 07
Business
Fairfield, CA, USA
Apr 16, 2012

Family getaway

Had a great time in the city; the staff at the Faimont were friendly and provided excellent service. Looking forward to staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Parker24
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Apr 8, 2012

Yes To Any Request.. Including Kosher Pickles

Normally, I can find everything and everything wrong with a hotel because i have high expectations. I must say, even if i wanted to I could not find anything wrong with the hotel. The Fairmont has always gone out of their way for all of their guest. I switched hotels from the St. Regis and the hotel allowed me to check in at 9.am. On top of that the front desk must have read my profile because they brought over the Wall Street Journal. They would not have know that had they not read my profile. On top of that, I am not your average Joe and absolutely enjoy Kosher pickles. I was stunned to see kosher pickles in my room when i returned from shopping. In addition, throughout my stay the guest in the gift shop the front desk staff and bellman addressed me by name when they saw me in passing. I do no not think it get any better than that. I would also like to point out the service is consistent at all of the their properties. The Plaza New York is another great choice. Thank you Fairmont. I will be a committed guest for life!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top